We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek Meal and Good Service”

The Greek Islands Mediterranean Grill and Bar
Ranked #38 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hillendale
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Greek Meal and Good Service”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We went to the Greek Islands last night - I have only ever gone for lunch before (always excellent) but this was my first evening meal. It was great...we shared the marinated octopus, which was delicate and tender. Then we each had the lamb shanks, which were very well done - fall off the bone and tasty. Served with a litre of house red and the bill was a reasonable $75 with tip. I'd definitely return - and will do often.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloCanadianGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    49
    15
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Taste of Grease”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

below average fare and poorly operated
Kingston has way too much to offer to bother with this place

Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have been going to Greek Islands regularly for the past three years, with never a bad experience, in fact, quite the opposite. There is plenty of room in this spaciously outfitted clean colourful restaurant. The over-sized booths will accommodate six persons comfortably, the separate tables are not too close together they way they are in many other restaurants. I do not understand why some reviewers have said this restaurant is nothing special. It is a family restaurant, and as such, there is no place better in Kingston. Besides an extensive wine menu, for beer drinkers several varieties are available on tap. Unlike eating in downtown Kingston there is ample free parking. You will be greeted like an old friend as you enter, and thanked as you leave, with the feeling they are sorry to see you go, just the way real family does. In between you will feast on a wonderful variety of freshly prepared, and this is important, not overly salted food, all at very economical prices. And for those of you that will admit to enjoying liver and onions, the best in town! On our most recent visit, Valentine’s Day, my wife and I were served by Stefie, whose enthusiasm and attention to detail made our already pleasant dining experience ever more delightful. Opa Indeed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elvisprezley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nothing new”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

It's such a typical Greek restaurant....nothing there is original nor exemplary....boringgg

Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very tasy food, very friendly serbvcie, nice atmosphere and music!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great for a very nice dinner for a special occaison, the staff are all very charming and gracious and the food is well worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Islands Mediterranean Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Greek Islands Mediterranean Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing