We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the Future”
Review of Five Guys - CLOSED

Five Guys
Cuisines: Canadian
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Back to the Future”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Five Guys does a decent hamburger in a fun atmosphere.

It takes awhile to get the burger , but if you are looking for a homemade quality burger , it is worth it.

The fries are old school classic; heavy , greasy and lost of them.

Free refills on drinks is a nice touch.

The employees are enthusiastic and well trained.

I could not eat there more than once every couple of months , but if you are looking for fresh meat and garnishings , greasy fries and a funky vibe , this is the chain burger restaurant for you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PierreHGrosLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food but too expensive.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love their fries and their burgers are good too, however you pay upscale prices for better than average fast food. I guess I am spoiled since I come from Montreal and you can very similar food for half the money. But I do go there when my Montreal style fry fix.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LorneCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine but overpriced”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Decent burgers with a great range of toppings good fries and loved the monkey nuts.Definately a step up from golden arches but thats it,and at more than twice the price .Shocking really.

No family with three young children expect to pay over fifty pounds for burgers and fries.

honestly a burger king would have been just as good with more choice and sooooooooooooo much cheaper.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinte West, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing burger and Fresh Fries”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is the burger you have been waiting for!! If you are a burger lover, don't scorn Five Guys because it is a chain - the burgers are beyond compare.
The atmosphere is completely relaxed, simple table and bags of potatoes. The chalk board by the ordering station will tell you with tongue in cheek which farm supplied the fries today. This gives you the first clue that this is the Cadillac of burgers. I am a burger person and splurged while in Las Vegas on a $60.00 burger at Hubert Keller's "Burger Bar". Five Guys still has my heart.
Toppings are all free - so load them up or keep it plain - your choice. I love the Cajun seasoning on the fries and if there are two of you - the small is tons. Also, just buy the regular drink, refills are free. It truly is a burger joint with the food to back it up.
I am going to quote the 9 year old who loves the place as much as I do "if these fries were any better I would lose my mind". That goes double for the burgers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 20Sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was looking for a quick bite and thats exactly what I got... Its a little expensive for what it is, and nothing out of the ordinary for a fast food place. Its great for a quick lunch on the go, and their fries are good, but I wouldnt go out of my way to eat there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing