We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Horrible Experience”
Review of Rosemount B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosemount B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most Horrible Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2007

When I booked a day at the Rosemount Inn and Spa, I was really excited. The lady on the phone and I spoke for awhile, and I booked a
full body spa treatment, full body waxing treatment and a facial. She
quotes me 3 hours and 200 dollars. Well... on the day of, it was mistake after mistake. First of all, the full body spa treatment was over in 20 minutes- a task that should take 85. I questioned this and
the esthetician informed me the services were recorded wrong. She began again (with the right exfoliation treatment) but cut 20 minutes
out. Then, while waxing, she ran out of wax strips and I had to wait there for half an hour.. lying on the bed doing nothing. Finally, she
suggested going on to the facial, and I agreed. The facial was dissapointing as well. There were 2 interruptions and I was way too cold under the blankets to enjoy it. This was probably due to the fact the spa was in the basement of the inn. The facial should have been 45 minutes long, but she cut it by 15 minutes. Even with all that, she still went over TWO hours. The entire time, I attempted to be understanding and kind. After all, she had only been working for 3
weeks. However, I had HAD it when I went upstairs and the charge came
out to almost FOUR HUNDRED dollars. Had they inititially told me this, I would never have booked there. The only consolation was I got
a free body moisturizing treatment after the waxing. I could not believe it. if this spa is any indication of the way the Inn is run, then I strongly recommend against going near the place!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank shortie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
92
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We overnighted at the Rosemount, I am a fan of the Ontario Finest Inns having stayed at others. This inn in my opinion is by far the worst of the inns, and does not warrant it's designation as one of the top three country inns. I found the decor to be dated and not in keeping with the era to which the home belongs. Compared to other Inns and top end B & B's that we have stayed at we found the rooms to be lacking in decor. Further to this the inn was extremely overpriced and the value for money was not there. The breakfast was skimpy and lacking in choice and variety and the portions were small. It definetly was not a gourmet breakfast by the standards of Ontario's Finest Inns.

I think that the owner should rethink her business strategy and incorporate items that would warrant the price that she is charging.

  • Liked — The owner recommended places to visit in town
  • Disliked — the breakfast and the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cakmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We stayed at the Rosemount B&B in May 2007. We found it to be a comfortable, relaxed, calm location with excellent breakfasts. General comments first, followed by a suggestion of "Top 5 things to do in Kingston".

The building itself is stone and very attractive. Bathrooms were updated, with lots of hot water and kept clean. The decor is Victorian-ish-- think antiques, old framed photos combined with cozy pillows and wooden furnishings. Location is within walking distance to everything you want to visit in Kingston. Would suit couples and singles, families with older children, great for girl’s weekend away. Atmosphere would not best suit a family with small children.

Suggested improvements:
Service was very efficient. could be a bit more warm/ friendly, especially at breakfast time when more staff could assist with the extra coffees and OJs that are invariably requested.

Top 5 things to do in Kingston:
1 EAT! Woodenheads on Ontario Street, Chien Noir and Casa Domenico are favourites for dinner; Chez Piggy patio and Pan Chancho offer great lunch options.
2 Princess street shopping, great shoes at “Heel Boy”, several nice spas
3 Walk along the water front, then up into the Queen's University Campus. Make sure you see Kingston City Hall-- the site of Canada's original Parliament when Canada was only Upper Canada (Ontario-- with Kingston as the nation's capital every other year) and Lower Canada (Quebec-- with Montreal as the capital every other year-- how Canadian!)
4 Take a boat cruise of the 1,000 islands
5 Visit Fort Henry

  • Liked — Location, charm, comfort
  • Disliked — a bit pricey for Kingston
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank oxon-ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

The Rosemount is simply the most fabulous and delightful B&B in Kingston. My husband and I have stayed at the Inn several times over the last 5 years. The Inn and the rooms are gorgeous (try to get one with a soaker/jacuzzi tub - one of our favourite rooms is The Loft - not the biggest, but certainly the most charming and the tub is to die for!). Holly, the Innkeeper, offers impeccable customer service; the afternoon "tea time" snacks and the breakfasts are beyond fabulous; and Kingston itself is a lovely "walkable" town. You simply can't go wrong.
We have never had a bad experience, whereas we have occasionally (when the Rosemount has been full) had to stay elsewhere and it has been hit and miss.
I should have written this review years ago, but better late than never.... :)

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CAA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We found the Rosemount Bed & Breakfast to be everything we were looking for our weekend getaway. It is a historic inn, only minutes away from downtown Kingston. The room were fine, the breakfasts were great and the people running the inn very nice. It is a liitle bit expensive, however, in my opinion well worth the extra money for such a historic sight.

  • Liked — Historic value
  • Disliked — A lot of stairs
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank IndyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

The Rosemount is a delightful B&B in a beautiful and historic little city. Innkeeper Holly offers impeccable service and good conversation; the inn's mascot, Katie, is a sweetheart; and the food is fabulous!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Thea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

The Rosemount is a lovely heritage inn, a ten-minute walk from downtown Kingston. Warmly welcomed by host Holly, who was also knowledgeable about area to-do's and was helpful in suggesting some things to see/do. Katie the dog beautiful and friendly. Found breakfast quite tasty, not blatantly vegetarian! Would definitely recommend to others who enjoy the B&B experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kunda Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount B&B Inn

Property: Rosemount B&B Inn
Address: 46 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosemount B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable luxury, authentic period antiques, sharing table style dining - you get to meet great people. Relaxation at its best in the on site Spa. Walk to all the wonderful dining, patios and pubs, waterfront cruises,Workout Facilities, museums, fort and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosemount B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount B&B Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing