We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Rosemount B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosemount B&B Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We found the Rosemount Bed & Breakfast to be everything we were looking for our weekend getaway. It is a historic inn, only minutes away from downtown Kingston. The room were fine, the breakfasts were great and the people running the inn very nice. It is a liitle bit expensive, however, in my opinion well worth the extra money for such a historic sight.

  • Liked — Historic value
  • Disliked — A lot of stairs
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank IndyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    41
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
97
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

The Rosemount is a delightful B&B in a beautiful and historic little city. Innkeeper Holly offers impeccable service and good conversation; the inn's mascot, Katie, is a sweetheart; and the food is fabulous!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Thea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

The Rosemount is a lovely heritage inn, a ten-minute walk from downtown Kingston. Warmly welcomed by host Holly, who was also knowledgeable about area to-do's and was helpful in suggesting some things to see/do. Katie the dog beautiful and friendly. Found breakfast quite tasty, not blatantly vegetarian! Would definitely recommend to others who enjoy the B&B experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kunda Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

The Rosemount tries hard, but the owners are insufferably smug, the prices are outrageous (US$300? I have paid less for better in New York!). Oh, and breakfasts are vegetarian whether you like it or not. Oh, and the place is chintzy beyond the point this man could bear, and the rooms range from grand to small, unairconditioned, and uncomfortable.

While I think the management need a good shaking up, this place is not unredeemable, and if you like chintz/frills/ruffles and feel like wasting a few hundred bucks then the Rosemount is for you.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lazy_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2005

What a gem!! I wish I could keep Rosemount all to myself to ensure we always get a room. All the rooms look just lovely.... I only wish I could stay in them all. The management has done an excellent job of preserving 1850's heritage with 21stC luxury.

The tranquility of the house and calming atmosphere was highlighted by the daily newspaper and tea in the main living room beside the fireplace. I had the chance to soak in my giant tub before we headed off to dinner - because the restaurant knew the owner we were offered a special innkeepers menu at Tango (on King).

Was a delight to be treated so nicely from the moment we walked up the front steps at Rosemount, straight through the dinner, and then topping it all off with a filling, yet very interesting breakfast. Neither breakfast was the same, nor were the plates "expected, typical fare".

First class all the way for those that want a romantic getaway, or for someone looking for a business location outside of a shoebox. I think they have internet access also if travelling on business...there was another person surfing while I was there.

I am planning a weekend with my friends this winter. Can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2005

The previous poster obviously doesn't "get" the point of Rosemount B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our escape to Rosemount, it's like a step back in time. The rooms are decorated in period style, and the beds are to-die-for. If I had wanted to keep up with the latest news while away on vacation I would have stayed at a hotel.
Breakfast is unlike any we had ever experienced, it was a culinary delight. A great way to start our day.
We finished our day with a relaxing aroma-therapy massage, something we highly recommend.
Kingston has much to offer, and Rosemount comes high on our list of "must do" places.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gwydionjhr2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#27 of 37 in Kingston
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount B&B Inn

Property: Rosemount B&B Inn
Address: 46 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosemount B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable luxury, authentic period antiques, sharing table style dining - you get to meet great people. Relaxation at its best in the on site Spa. Walk to all the wonderful dining, patios and pubs, waterfront cruises,Workout Facilities, museums, fort and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount B&B Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing