We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!”
Review of Rosemount B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosemount B&B Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Kingston with antique hunting in mind and booked a stay at the Rosemount B&B. We had a beautiful time exploring Kingston (I want to move here!) and found lots of great antique stores and met a lot of nice people. The highlight of the trip was seeing our beautiful snow covered accommodations all lit up the night we arrived. What a sight! This house is a historical and architectural marvel and was even more spectacular to see in the daylight. We watched the most amazing sunrise from the bed in our room and had an incredible breakfast which consisted of the freshest croissants ever with two perfectly poached eggs with wilted spinach and a side of delicious berries paired with a hot cup of coffee and a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. Holly was a delight to meet and told us many great stories and made our first and certainly not last trip to the Rosemount perfect. Eleven out of ten stars. Thanks again! P&S.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paulwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Paul,
Thank you for your wonderful comments!
It has been our intention from the beginning to provide our guests with the most comfortable stay possible.
Kingston is a wonderful city and I am so happy that you were able to enjoy the attractions as well as our Inn.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Rosemount B&B Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I requested reservations at the Rosemount Inn Fri/Sat 15&16 Nov 2013. I booked approximately a week in advance.

I spent several hours researching Inns and Spas along the 401 corridor from Cornwall to Kingston. I chose the Rosemount due to it's reviews, and especially it's Spa. The reservations went through. I received an e-mail the following day that the system should not have put through our reservation. Therefore, the room of our choice was now not available (disappointing to say the least.

The main reason for our visit to Kingston was a day of shopping, topped off with a relaxing massage at the Rosemount Spa. However, the spa was also not available. We were informed of this upon our arrival. Now that was entirely (disappointing).

This Inn should not advertise itself as a Inn and Spa, if it's commitment to its advertising as a Spa cannot be met. Both myself and my Spouse were utterly disappointed.

I would also like to add a positive. The Inn itself was wonderful and rich with history. The staff were very polite, kind, and courteous. Gary the Inn manager was there upon our arrival to meet and greet us. He is the feather in the cap of the Inn. It would have been a great to meet the owners.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 189James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Manager at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear James,
Thank you for your forthright review...they are always welcome.
I apologize for the unfortunate glitches in the system. As you know we do not have Spa staff on hand at all times and the arrangements made for you were foiled at the last minute. Not an excuse...simply an explanation. Spa treatments at a nearby Spa were understandably not to your liking. I am happy that you did enjoy the other aspects of your stay and I truly hope that we have another opportunity to show you what we do well.
Best regards,
Gary Rowsell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed one night in Kingston on route to Quebec city and were very lucky to find this stunning B&B, we even had a fire place in our room.
The next day at breakfast we were seated around a big table that we had to share with other visitors and that was huge fun for all of us, everybody started introducing themselves and sharing holiday experiences, it's such a great way to start your day and we all absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

So glad you found us! Kingston is so well situated that we are a really popular place between Ottawa, Montreal ,Toronto and to and from the U.S. Hope you will have a chance to make Kingston your destination soon and get to explore the city and the many parks and lakes that surround us. Thank you for taking time to post a notice. Great info for new travellers. Best regards, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at the Rosemount Inn where both Holly and Robert were perfect hosts. The Studio room was absolutely fabulous and the breakfast ambiance was great. Holly had the guests sit together at one table which allow us to meet people from different parts of the world. The Inn is a short walk to downtown and the lovely lakefront area.
We have recommended this to a number of our friends and hope that they will stay there in the future

Room Tip: Ask for the Studio but all the rooms are great, We did a tour
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Ron! Thank you for such a great review. We love to get feedback from guests and find out more of what you liked.Our sharing breakfast experience is a great hit .... even though for some people it is a surprise. Not all places sit people together but we get such great feedback about it that it is a feature for our returning guests. I do hope your friends will give us a call.... a guest experience is the best recommendation we could have! For a friends or family gathering ..... the Studio with the adjoining room, the Edwards Suite, is great for a reunion. All the best in 2014, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My first visit to Kingston was made even more enjoyable thanks to my stay at the Rosemount Inn. Breakfasts were delicious and unique each day, and afternoon tea was a lovely experience in the gracious lounge of the Inn. Staff were professional, courteous and very friendly, providing helpful advice to this first-time visitor. My room (The Studio) was fantastic, with a super comfortable bed and charming ambience. Holly is clearly a very thoughtful innkeeper, providing many personal touches and quality items that stood out from the average hotel experience. The location was perfect - within walking distance to the business district (great shops and restaurants) and Queens University nearby. This trip definitely exceeded my expectations and I would gladly return to the Rosemount Inn for another visit.

Room Tip: Each room has unique character. If the main house is full, two extra rooms at the side are fantastic...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyMdines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you KathyMdines for taking time to share your Rosemount Inn experience. For over 20 years, our guests have always been our greatest promoters..Breakfast is a great time to meet new people and share experiences ....and every day is different. We love to make special breakfast dishes and afternoon treats for our guests and pleased to know they are enjoyed. Empty plates say it all! Check in with us on Facebook or on our website for upcoming events and shows or when you just need that relaxing getaway .... we would love to hear from you again. All the best, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Absolutely fabulous personnel, accommodation, breakfast and afternoon tea . Holly is an exceptional Inn owner, and her staff are absolutely lovely. Our room arrangements were perfect for three or four people...clean, comfortable, and very spacious. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and afternoon tea with superb cookies and cake...absolutely delicious, and beautifully presented. It was so nice to meet other guests during our breakfast experience, while enjoying a tremendous meal. Kingston has so much to offer; fine dining, lovely market, great shopping, historic landmarks, and a stunning waterfront...all within walking distance of the Rosemount Inn.
Holly and her staff make every effort to make your stay wonderful. I would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsh915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

It is a delight to hear from guests .... thank you for such a wonderful review! My chefs are very proud of their breakfasts and love the afternoon tea and cookies they get to create too. I have been fortunate to have great staff and I will be sure to pass along all your comments. Thank you, hope we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked at the Rosemount B&B Inn for a night in August and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was very spacious and well decorated with antique furniture. The bed was very comfortable and we never heard the other guests so we had a good night of sleep.

It was a bit of a surprise to share a table with the other guests at breakfast in the morning, but in the end we exchanged travel stories and it was all good. Food was great and I even managed to get foam milk for a cafe latte.

A delicious banana and caramel cake was offered in the afternoon. Our stay there was perfect and we would not hesitate to book there again if we were to go back to Kingston.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosemount room and it was very spacious with plenty of windows.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JalanJalanSaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Some guests tell us that they thought they were the only ones in the inn until breakfast time! They were surprised that so many people were in the inn and it was soooooo quiet! We worked very hard to provide privacy and a relaxing atmosphere in all the rooms. Our shared breakfast table seating has surprised a few people .... happy to know that you enjoyed the experience. It is a great way to share travel stories and ask questions about places you might be visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#12 of 37 in Kingston
152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount B&B Inn

Address: 46 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $179 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosemount B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable luxury, authentic period antiques, sharing table style dining - you get to meet great people. Relaxation at its best in the on site Spa. Walk to all the wonderful dining, patios and pubs, waterfront cruises,Workout Facilities, museums, fort and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount B&B Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing