We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful curb appeal”
Review of Rosemount B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosemount B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bermuda
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful curb appeal”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We really loved the look of this place--loads of charm and history. The big covered front porch is lovely and the gardens attractive. It's got a lot going for it but they could do better.
The manager was very pleasant, though he seemed run off his feet. The owner takes over when he goes home on break. She was pleasant enough though they just seem like they're over it already.
We felt let down in some important ways: The room was minimally cleaned--freshly made bed and clean sink but no vacuuming as the floor was edged with a variety of human hair, the tub was not clean and horizontal surfaces were dusty. Also, the staff interact as little as possible with guests--they simply vanish. We got information about the Canada Day events from another guest who had picked the material up in town.
I think the owner should spend more time with the guests at least pretending that she likes us, rather than spending so much time in front of the computer sending notes after the fact.
Next time we're in Kingston, we will likely go back to the Frontenac Club B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marliepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I do wish that you had brought the deficiencies in your room to us while you were here. Rooms are thoroughly vacuumed and cleaned before every check in. If you had told us we would have rectified the situation right away.
Gary and I love to help guests with info on what is happening around the town. Our restaurant menu guide book is really popular with guests to help them choose a dining venue and we of course are always making reservations for them. If you needed help we would have been happy to assist.
I believe you run a B&B as well and you know there is a fine line between being with guests and staying out of the way. Guests are not here to visit with us and we see our part as 'guide' and help them whenever possible to have a great time. My sincere apologies If we did not respond to your needs.I do wish you had asked for help while you were here or spoken with us at check out. Kingston is a lovely city and I wish you many more return visits , alas to another inn. Best regards, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
93
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely old house, which was full of character. We loved everything about it - the warm welcome, the fabulous breakfasts, afternoon tea on the porch, the beautiful big room, the quiet location (but still within easy walking distance of the town centre and lake). It was an amazing experience and we have never been in a B&B like it. We are so glad the Tourist Information Office recommended it. Having got a cheap bus ticket to Kingston we then felt we could splash out a bit on accommodation. This was certainly good value. We can thoroughly recommend 'The Rosemount' and Kingston for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I have always said that I have the best guests in the world! You are the ones that make breakfast such a special fun time. I love to hear the laughter coming from the dining room as guests get to share adventures and make new friends at the breakfast table. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for posting your comments. All the best, Holly and the friendly Golden Retriever Katie/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

May 20, 2012 This was our first time in Kingston but not our first stay in a B&B. I have to say that Rosemount B&B was fabulous. The staff were great it felt like home away from home. They were very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. I have dietary issues and they met them with no question. The breakfast was wonderful as was the banana bread at afternoon tea. We look forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
mmmm... today we have decadent chocolate mint cupcakes with a creamy icing! Michelle loves to bake and make treats for afternoon tea. Of course she promises no calories! Glad you enjoyed your stay and than you for the wonderful review. Best regards, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place was amazing! It stunned us from the first look. An ancient and gorgeous big old house. The room was very impressive as well. Well-decorated as well as cozy. The host, Gary, was such a nice guy, and made us feel very warm-welcomed. The breakfast was something you shouldn't miss it! And compared to other inns and hotels in Kingston, this one definitely has the best price and best quality. This is going to be the place for me to stay everytime I visit Kingston in the future. I have to say, I LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Come back and visit again soon! Gary is wonderful with guests. I get great comments about him all the time! So glad you enjoyed and we will look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We wanted to stay overnight in Kingston on our way to Ottawa. It was our 10th wedding anniversary so we looked for something original with some character. The Rosemount was lovely! We stayed in the Tower Room. It was a perfect spot to walk about a have a nice supper and check out some of the history of Kingston. The Inn is super quiet and relaxing and just perfect for getting away from it all. The gardens are gorgeous and we would've like to have stayed longer than the one night. We had a private breakfast on our balcony and it was delicious! Thank you Holly and staff.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystentoreti... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The Tower balcony is such a great spot. Breakfast on a warm summer morning, or sitting out in the cool of the evening with a favourite beverage and listening to the stories of the Ghost Walk! In the winter months the little sitting room at the top of the Tower is a great place to take a favourite book.
Thank you for offering your comments for other guests.Trip Advisor is a great place for guests to 'review' comments and be sure they are choosing a place that will suit them. Thanks again for posting. Best regards, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Amazing B & B. We have been going to Kingston for 25 years for our family reunion and this year at the Rosemount was the best. With having the Coach House and Studio, we were able to have have such a good visit with the family. We don't see each other very much so visiting is a very important part of our weekend and shopping of course....
Holly was the most gracious host along with her side kick Katie.....
Gary was fantastic in how he accommodated us with breakfast in the Coach House. It worked out great. The next morning we had breakfast in the dining room - amazing amazing breakfast both mornings.
The B & B is very clean and decorated in the period to match the house but very comfortable with all the modern amenities. Location was great.... Walking distance to Princess Street.
Would definitely recommend this B & B
We are booked in for next year.......
Pat

Room Tip: If you have a group of 6, the Coach House and Studio is the way to go...... I told Gary I was moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearMooseMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I love to read guest reports like this! Thank you for taking time to post a review. It was a pleasure having your family at the inn . The Coach House is so perfect for a reunion of family or friends, glad you enjoyed. We look forward to your return! See you next year! Warmest regards, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Rosemount Inn 4 times for business purposes. Holly and staff are always welcoming and eager to provide any little "extra" that makes a stay especially memorable. The Edwards Suite is cozy and welcoming. Breakfasts are indescribable!!! No need to eat again until dinner! The Rosemount is a short walk from downtown (great shopping and great dining).

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family, the Edwards Suite is perfect-it's like your own little cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemount B&B Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
The Edwards Suite in the Coach House is a great hideaway. This weekend we have a family reunion happening and they are so excited about the Pyjama Party rooms and gathering in the living room in the Edwards Suite . Great way to re connect with friends and family. We love it when guests return.... and I know we will see you again soon. Have a great summer. Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount B&B Inn

Property: Rosemount B&B Inn
Address: 46 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosemount B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable luxury, authentic period antiques, sharing table style dining - you get to meet great people. Relaxation at its best in the on site Spa. Walk to all the wonderful dining, patios and pubs, waterfront cruises,Workout Facilities, museums, fort and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount B&B Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing