We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...what a beautiful home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2009

This B&B was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint!!! It is within a short walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beautiful Lake Ontario. Restaurants and sight seeing recommended by the owners were great. I loved the history of this city. My room was the Turret Room...very cosy and inviting. Breakfast from Gary was delicious....I want to adopt him and bring him home to Australia. Thankyou Gary and Warren for your hospitality. While there, ask Warren to show you their other property, The Abbey Manor. Very nice also. I am looking forward to my next trip to Kingston....loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2009

I wonderful retreat for those looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday but still have those travelling bugs sorted out with shopping and tourist areas in close proximity.
Wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed at Secret Garden a few years ago, and enjoyed it so much that we never considered going anywhere else! We had planned to attend the Queens Homecoming (we found out afterwards that the university adminstration has made the stupid and short-sighted decision to suspend future homecoming celebrations; Queens will never be any different than any other Canadian university now!) so we immediately rebooked at Secret Garden! Gary's breakfasts are to die for, and the rooms and common areas are georgeous! Our daughter, who lives in the student ghetto and attends at Queens couldn't wait to join us!
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gunnersrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My wife and I took a long-overdue break while our kids were with their grandparents on a grand adventure in Holland, doing the 4-day walk in Nijmegen, Holland (45,000 participants, 120 km - look it up, it's quite an experience). We'd never been to Kingston, so picked what looked like a restful place to relax and use as a base for some exploring.

The Secret Garden was just the right choice, a very welcoming, classy and relaxing Bed and Breakfast with wonderful period furniture, gracious hosts and delicious breakfasts that will sustain you for hours. The heritage house is set in an interesting neighbourhood close to the waterfront, making for relaxing walks that allowed us to explore this area of Kingston without having to drive every time. The city hall, parks, shops, a market, several museums and many restaurants are all within short walking distances - bring comfortable shoes.

The routine of the house was explained by our host, Gary, with the request that we indicate our preference for one of two starting times for breakfasts. Choosing a time was not a rigid afair, as long as he knew the evening before which time was preferred. Newspapers were available in the lounge, as well as morning and noon tea and coffee with sweets. Breakfasts were very tasty and filling, with a range of foods varied over the three days that we spent there. Kudos to the chef, and to Gary for presenting the various foods so well.

There is a small, colourful and very well-maintained garden to the front and right of the property that is a little oasis of tranquility, with flowing water and some really beautiful flowers, depending on the time of the year. Across the street is a church with a red door that makes for great photos, and there are several other photogenic locations in the neighbourhood, so remember to bring your camera.

Our room (the last one, so the Secret Garden certainly seems popular) was small but comfortable, with a good bed, two chairs (we mentioned to Gary that one needed to be replaced or repaired, as the seat cushion was rather lumpy) and a table, a small television, a dresser and a clean, comfortable washroom and shower. Overall, the owners seems to do a good job of keeping the house well-maintained, given that the age of the house and the restrictions imposed by its classification as a historical home must palce some challenging demands on them.

All in all, a lovely bed and breakfast with most gracious hosts, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoompixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Although there were some minor problems, they were not enough to not recommend this B & B. It was a very beautiful place, full of antiques and wonderfully decorated for Christmas. The hosts were very friendly and most accommodating. It was like walking into a turn of the century (109 years ago) postcard. Our room we booked was great and visually lived up to our expectations.

The food was excellent and our host made it clear of the rules and schedules of the house and breakfast time.

Unfortunately, the room we booked had an "equipment malfunction" through no fault of the owner or us and we had to change rooms.
The owner/host was very apologetic about the situation. Although the 2nd room we were moved to was nice, it was not the one I would have picked when we initially booked our romantic getaway, as each room has it's own special character. Plus, where our original room had a bath & shower, the 2nd room only had a stand up shower.

Although I could have, I did not want to spoil the atmosphere of hospitality and be crass by suggesting to the host that we should be financially compensated for this inconvenience and perhaps not charged the full price for this alternate room.

And I was actually waiting for the owner/host to offer compensation first, or at least be told we were not being charged the full rate as we checked out the next day.

I was somewhat disappointed about not being comped. I know if I were the owner, I would have shaved about $50 off the price. But, as I said, it was not worth arguing about, so I let it go.

Also, I cannot speak for every room, but the 2nd room we were moved to, all the pillows on our bed were flat and hard as sandbags and my wife and I did not get much sleep at all because of this. That night I did look in the closet to see if there were any extra pillows, as it's been my travel experience that that's where any extra blankets and pillows are stored, but there were none in the closet. Could I have asked the owner? I suppose, but it was about 11:30 PM when we got in and I did not want to bug them at that time of night, plus, I had changed into my sleeping attire and did not feel like getting dressed just to go downstairs and intercom the owner, which was more like 12:30 AM by that time.

It wasn't until the next morning, before checkout, that we did find a fluffy pillow, but only one in a dresser drawer. Could I have been more assertive about these things? I suppose, but I figured we will be there only one night. And as I said at the beginning of my review, I would still recommend this B & B. Just make sure you bring your own pillows,

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rashka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

My husband and I travelled to Kingston for Thanksgiving to visit our daughter and stayed at the Secret Garden. We had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. We had previously stayed at the Abbey Manor Inn which is also owned by Gary and Warren and we had such a pleasant stay that we were inclined to book there again but decided to give the Secret Garden a try. I can say that it is equally lovely and offers every comfort a traveller could wish for.

We stayed in Theresa's Room and the king size bed was supremely comfortable., The room is large and beautifully decorated with a sitting area by the windows and a gas fireplace. Two of my favourite things were the large closet which could hold our suitcases out of the way and the skeleton keys to the rooms.

Breakfasts were served in the main dining room and most days we had a choice of 8:30 or 9:30 a.m. The food is wonderful and so plentiful that I couldn't possibly have eaten it all. In five days we never had the same dish twice. There were always fresh- from-the-oven muffins to accompany the daily entree such as shrimp quiche or apple stuffed pancake, as well as sausage and fruit, croissants and orange juice and coffee.

Every morning before breakfast I would help myself to a cup of coffee from the sideboard in the parlour and take it outside to sit in the garden by the pond. It was so peaceful and tranquil to sit there listening to the sound of the waterfall and watching the world go by.

Gary is the consummate host, welcoming but not intrusive, and always available to answer any queries or willing to do anything to help make the stay more enjoyable.

Now we have a dilemma. Where do we stay next time? Abbey Manor Inn or Secret Garden Inn? Both have wonderful hosts, delicious food, beautiful rooms. Hmmm....... what a choice!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lillybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

This is a wonderful B&B. Location is great in the Kingston area in that you are close to the downtown activities, within walking distance, but you don't hear the hustle and bustle when you sleep.
As for the food, to die for! Our only complaint would be that breakfast is served late for us; 8:30 am. By 8:00 am all 12 guests were downstairs waiting for food, it's too bad it couldn't be earlier. But aside from that, it was the best breakfast that I've ever had. Each morning was different and delicious.
Upon waiting for breakfast, coffee was available and lucky for us, the weather was good for sitting out on the front porch while we waited, it was great. Lots of places to sit and swing/rock if you so desired.
Rooms were beautifully furnished. We took the room where the bathroom wasn't attached and though you may think this was inconvenient it was not. Robes were provided and we had a huge bathroom all to ourselves.
Our hosts were wonderful. They greet you upon arrival and even are there to say good-bye when you leave.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Especially if you're not sure about staying at a B&B, this would be a wonderful one to start at although others may pale in comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marrcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
4.2 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
322 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Suites Whitney Manor
All Suites Whitney Manor
#1 of 22 in Kingston
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 73 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $154 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Inn is fully restored and historically designated, was built in 1888 in the Queen Anne Victorian style, and is located in the heart of Kingston's historic district within walking distance of downtown, Queens University and the waterfront. Features gorgeous principal rooms, 7 exquisite guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, queen or king beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, onsite parking, and award winning gardens. Enjoy afternoon refreshments in the lovely parlour or library, a hot or cold drink on the covered front porch or sit near the serenity of the koi pond. Savour creative breakfasts served by candlelight in our oak paneled dining room with guests from around the world! Your host is delighted to share her house, Kingston and all the history they have to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Bed And Breakfast Inn
Secret Garden Hotel Kingston
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing