We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted it to be special. We had never stayed in a Bed &Breakfast before so we were a little apprehensive about trying one for our special weekend. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the inn.The home is beautiful and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Victorian room and slept like babies. I will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonaf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Secret Garden for your special occasion. We love to help celebrate by providing a welcoming, comfy and calm venue close to everything you need... I hope you do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
105
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would like to begin by thanking Kathy and Shirley for being so welcoming and friendly. The house was absolutely beautiful, cozy and clean. The breakfasts were superb with the choice of 8:00 or 9:00 am sittings and afternoon tea was such a nice touch after sight seeing all day. I was actually more relaxed after two nights at Secret Garden then I was when I returned from Cuba in April. Everything was also in walking distance, downtown, Queens University and both hospitals.

You don't have to leave Ontario to have a wonderful holiday. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaC716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We all appreciate it. It was great to see you enjoying the porch swing... definitely a relaxing spot. I look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just spent one night at this lovely B&B this past weekend and it was definitely not long enough. It is ideally located for walking into Kingston's downtown, which we did, but I would have been happy to remain on the large front porch, swinging on the porch swing for the entire stay. The rooms were delightful, we stayed in Angel's Watch and had absolutely no complaints. The beds and the pillows were the kind that make you want to stay in bed. Breakfast was wonderful. Compliments to Cathy for her baked fresh peach pancakes and her willingness to hand over the recipe. Cathy is a delightful hostess, who was open to all questions and requests. We were thrilled to hear some of the stories about the inn and it's past and present intermingling. We will definitely return!!! Thank you Cathy!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a delight I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
You are so welcome and thank you for your comments. It's always nice to be appreciated! Do come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We came to Kingston at the most inconvenient time ( summer, lots of events going on in town... hotels were busy) We did not have a reservation anywhere, so we drove around and checked 6 places. Each had one room left at a price from 150 to 275 dollars per night.

Place #7 was the Secret Garden B&B. There was one last room left. We were completely charmed by interior, exterior and the hostess ( Cathy) . Price was $149, breakfast included.

Our room ( Angel's watch ) was small, but we only came there to sleep. It was clean, nice, there were magazines to read, all necessities in the bathroom.

The house inside was so nicely decorated, and outside you could sit a read a book by the running water by the a pond.

Breakfast was tasty, nice, almost fancy, a bit small, but coffee was never-ending and we were fine. Good company of other travelers made it very interesting. In the afternoon, tea, coffee and cookies were waiting for us,

We will definitely come back. This is an experience; and for the price less than that of chain hotel with cookie-cutter interiors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeSimcoeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I'm glad the 7th stop was the one! As I recall it was a beautiful evening, perfect for our porch and koi pond sitting. There are many reasons to return to Kingston... hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This review is a bit late in coming, however our stay here was amazing! We stayed in the Retreat room on the third floor which was just beautiful and even though our bathroom was down the hall it was completely worth it for the tub! Everything about our stay was fantastic, the room, the food and the hosts were out of this world and I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deidre-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again... we love return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our third visit to Kingston this year and our fourth stay at the Secret Garden. We took advantage of a special run at the Inn for New Year's Eve and took our adult daughters for a small holiday. We were not disappointed. As with our previous visits, the rooms were warm and very clean, the bedding was beautiful and smelled so nice, the breakfasts were beautifully made and filling. Afternoon homemade chocolate chip cookies and warm drinks were a very welcome addition to the day. The special included a bottle of bubbly and fantastic cheese tray with an amazing array of food, as well as party hats and favours. Kathy even took time out of her evening to take photos of our family. At this point I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting the Kingston area. Our dinner reservations were arranged by Kathy and she even helped us find out where the movie we wanted to see was playing. This is a lovely experience for anyone seeking a short break from reality in a beautiful place. Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much Kathy!

Room Tip: We stayed in Theresa's Room which has a beautiful and very comfortable king-sized bed. The girl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixwatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
So nice to have you here again and for such a happy holiday! Always great to see guests enjoy the house at New Years. All the best and hope to see you all again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife & other family members were visiting Kingston for my daughters' grad. I chose "Secret Garden off their website which was easy to navigate & very informative with good pictures of the property. When we arrived we were greeted promptly & pleasantly by Kathy, the proprietor & given the tour & instructions.
Parking was on the property & very convenient.
The rooms were just as described & extremely comfortable & picturesque.
The common sitting rooms were large & inviting & there was always fresh coffee or tea & delicious cookies or biscuits available.
Breakfast was a treat with lots of fruit & drinks to accomodate the main course of eggs etc.
The location was perfect for us as it was a short walk to Queens Campus & down town Kingston, & the arcitecture of the homes in the neigborhood was very impressive.
All in all a pleasant experience from arrival to departure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad you all had a good time and I hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 73 Sydenham Street South, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Inn is fully restored and historically designated, was built in 1888 in the Queen Anne Victorian style, and is located in the heart of Kingston's historic district next to downtown. Features gorgeous principal rooms, 7 exquisite guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, queen or king beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, onsite parking, and award winning gardens. Enjoy our complimentary gourmet style breakfast that has made us famous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Bed And Breakfast Inn
Secret Garden Hotel Kingston
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing