We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still beautiful inn, wonderful innkeeper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still beautiful inn, wonderful innkeeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had stayed at the Secret Garden B&B in the past (our favorite Inn in Kingston), but it was our first stay since it was taken over by Kathy Davidson (new owner). No need to worry ! The Inn is still as beautiful as ever and Kathy was simply wonderful ! We had a great time and my mom and I enjoyed our stay (we are planning to go back next year ! ) Thank you Kathy for making us feel like we were at home !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for returning and so glad you enjoyed your stay! I look forward to welcoming you back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
105
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Secret Garden B&B has so much character and old world charm. We stayed here for a mini-honeymoon and we are so glad we did. It's walking distance from Kingston's downtown core so you can enjoy shopping and restaurants just around the corner, and other Kingston attractions (dinner cruises, museums, etc.) are not too far either. The service was perfect: Booking was easy and the gourmet breakfasts were to die for! We loved eating in the beautiful dining room and took advantage of the board games in the parlor. My husband and I will have to go back for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I'm glad you chose the Inn for your special occasion. I hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only had one night at the Secret Garden Inn in Kingston, but we should have stayed there longer! It is a very wonderful Vicotian House with really nice and spatious rooms! If you go to Kingston, you should stay there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knuelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This B & B is in a landmark older home, with nice gardens outside, and two sitting rooms inside. Our room was good-sized, although since bathrooms are retrofitted in old houses, the shower stall was very small. The décor is a flowery Victorian style. It is very well located; you can walk to Princess Street and downtown restaurants, as well as to the Queen’s campus. Kathy the owner, was friendly and efficient but not overly chatty, which may suit you depending if you are with a companion or alone.

I don’t often stay in bed and breakfasts, so I’m not sure if this is the norm, but what would prevent me from returning here was all the rules. You had to say exactly when you were checking in, within a one-hour window, so we ended up rushing our drive there. You had to choose a breakfast time, either 8:00am or 9:00am, and there was no choice for breakfast. (Kathy does ask several times before you arrive if you have any food allergies, however allergies and preferences are not the same thing.) In addition, for the price of this B & B (downtown hotels with a CAA discount were comparable) I would have expected a little more luxury in the details, like high-grade toiletries, more abundant food or extra services. I like to relax when I go away, but I felt like I had to fit into the Secret Garden’s schedule rather than vice versa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am sorry that you felt rushed as opposed to relaxed; I can generally accomodate checkins at different times than posted, whether early or late. You just need to ask. I appreciate your other comments and try to incorporate all feedback into the ongoing running of the Secret Garden. We are always evolving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are visiting Kingston, Ontario, Canada and want to enjoy a peacefaul and relaxing time in the city, I suggest you stay at the Secret Garden B&B Inn! This B&B is historic, friendly and clean, with spacious rooms and large well designed bathrooms for a B&B. Also includes lovely, quiet seating areas from the gardens and large porch to the patio. A nice healthy breakfast is a great start to the day!

It is in the heart of the city of Kingston so you can walk to fine restuarants or the historic waterfront during the day, even better on a nice evening. I would recommend this property, it is especially close to Queens University, and other historic sites.

A great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSWTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am happy you enjoyed the Inn, gardens and neighborhood. I hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the Theresa room which had a king size 4 poster bed and a fireplace and was quite spacious. Overall the room was exquisite - beautifully appointed, wonderful antique furniture and a really comfortable mattress. The room, and overall B & B was extremely clean and well kept and situated in an ideal location. The owner was very welcoming and made wonderful breakfasts.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back - highly recommend!!

P and L from Ottawa

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice - we loved the Theresa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. Theresa's is a very lovely room! I hope you can stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our third stay at this lovely inn and we enjoyed it every bit as much as the previous two visits. Our first visit was a weekend stay. Our second visit was a family vacation for three nights during March break and this last time we stayed for 5 nights. We stayed in the "Retreat" room which is the only room in the inn with no bathroom attached. The size of the room and the beautifully appointed bathroom more than make up for the minor inconvenience of having to walk a few steps down the hall to go to the loo. Breakfasts prepared in this place are a work of art and more than ample food to keep you going to dinner time without needing to eat again. The side garden has now been opened up by the new owner and provides a quiet and gentle place to perform morning T'ai Chi. Coffee and hot water are provided from 7 a.m. along with two papers. We spent a fair bit of time just enjoying the front porch and prize winning gardens along with the very thoughtful offering of homemade cookies and lemonade at 4 p.m. every day. Kathy, the gentle woman who owns the place and her darling helper (chamber maid, housekeeper, cook) Shirley, could not have been more welcoming or kind. After only two visits, we felt like we were going to visit dear, old friends and they made us feel very special and happy to be there. We have made so many nice memories on our last few holidays to Kingston and it is due in no small amount to the pleasantness of this beautiful house and its lovely people. The location allows us to park the car and walk to just about everything we want to see and do in Kingston. The beds are comfy and smell so very good. Everything is lovely and clean. Nothing is too much trouble. I am sticking with my goal of returning to this lovely place until I have slept in every room and look forward very much to our next visit. I highly, highly recommend it. Our sincere thanks to Kathy and Shirley for making such a lovely stay for us.

Room Tip: "Theresa's room" is our favourite room so far. "The Turret" room has a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixwatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
It was wonderful to see you both again and have you enjoy all that Kingston has to offer. We look forward to your next stay. Have a lovely rest of summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 73 Sydenham Street South, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Inn is fully restored and historically designated, was built in 1888 in the Queen Anne Victorian style, and is located in the heart of Kingston's historic district next to downtown. Features gorgeous principal rooms, 7 exquisite guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, queen or king beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, onsite parking, and award winning gardens. Enjoy our complimentary gourmet style breakfast that has made us famous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Bed And Breakfast Inn
Secret Garden Hotel Kingston
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing