We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok- will not return”
Review of Hochelaga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hochelaga Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights over Canada Day weekend. My husband surprised me with a stay here-- so I did not pick this one myself!

The outside of the Inn is very charming and pretty as is the lobby. Lots of pretty flowers and nice architecture. But our room (on the second floor) was a bit too... quaint for me. It is an old building, so I guess I had unreasonable expectations. For instance, the shower to the room was not even in the bathroom... it was stuck in what I guess used to be a clothing closet. To access the shower, you opened a closet door, and then stepped right into the shower. The bathroom was clean enough, but the tile floor and walls were cracked and the sink was very small and low to the ground. The toilet was about a foot and a half off from the ground. Another thing I did not understand was why the door knobs were only 2 feet off from the ground. They were excessively low. I had to bend my knees every time to open the door. Again, I undestand this is an old place but this seemed a bit odd to me.

The breakfast was just ok but nothing satisfying... little boxes of cereal and some kind of big pastries. One positive is that coffee was available all day long, so we took advantage of that while we sat and read novels on the front porch for several hours each day. While sitting on the porch we saw the Kingston Walking Ghost Tour stop in front of the Inn and describe how the Hochelaga is haunted... they described how guests have seen a blond haired boy ghost. This is not something we wanted to hear, since we were guests there and had one night left! Perhaps the Ghost Tour could move across the street to tell this tale so guests do not hear it.

The architecture around the Inn is pretty impressive, so we enjoyed taking walks in the neighborhood. But each night I was disappointed to return to the Inn. I guess it was just too rustic for me. Everything was just OLD but not in a good way.... it was OLD in an outdated kind of way. And for $200/night... it was overpriced.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank syrurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 243 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2006

As a Queen's grad, I always knew that when I returned to Kingston to visit that I would want to stay at one of the many Inns. While you pay a bit more for these places usually, it's definatley all about the atmosphere.

Staff were friendly.

Breakfast was adequate in terms of food, but really lovely to be able to sit out on the veranda.

Mostly an older crowd, which made us felt like we stuck out a bit.

What else....oh, close to everything-easy to walk downtown or the university.

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, which meant it was small, but clean, quiet, & air conditionned.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hkjfalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfibjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank J_I_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YvesetGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sébastien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hochelaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hochelaga Inn

Address: 24 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hochelaga Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful three story French-Victorian mansion built in 1879 for Kingston lawyer John MacIntyre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hochelaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hochelaga Hotel Kingston
Hochelaga Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing