We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hochelaga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hochelaga Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Inn”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here recently while visiting Kingston for the Blues Festival.
Great location, nice rooms, accommodating staff. (The festival was fun too).
We enjoyed the breakfasts because one can choose how much you want too eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    65
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
32
114
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hochelaga Inn Kingston Ontario

I had stayed at this spot many years ago when they first opened up and the experience then, as it is now was a wonderful experience. Centrally located close to the downtown area of the city and within walking distance the Hochelaga offers many advantages to other Inns of this type in this area.

A beautiful ornate building in an old established neighbourhood with a unique 3 level tower (available for a small premium) would be worth the treat for a longer stay at the Inn.

The rooms were clean and tidy and the air conditioners were working overtime to keep my wife and I cool during the recent heat wave which was about 34C (or 98F for our American friends). Breakfast was plentiful and the coffee pot was full and the hosts and staff were very attentive to our needs. The lovely gardens and landscaping added to the feel of the Inn and the front porch was welcoming in spite of the heat.

The only downside was in the condition of some of the exterior features of the building… I can only imagine how difficult it must be to find a tradesman capable of repairing some of the ornate trim and woodwork but it is needed and will only get worse unless attended and detracts from the beauty of the building.
small... small thing that drove me nuts was the small Canadian flag displayed beside the US... spend the extra couple of bucks and get the right size (same size)... but then I am fussy about that sort of thing.

Room Tip: on site parking is safe and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37EJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's, On
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just got home today from spending 2 nights in Kingston, Ontario and we stayed at this wonderful historic Inn. I decided that we would try something a little different for us as we had no kids with us and it was sure worth it!! The location was great! A 5 minute walk to the downtown and many beautiful, old, historic homes to see on the way. The Inn itself is a beautiful place but with modern conveniences included in the price, such as WIFI, parking and a wonderful breakfast with a lovely assortment of cold items. We even had homemade warm bread pudding one morning! The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying at this lovely Inn when making a trip to this beautiful historical city! (we also did the hop on hop off trolley and an evening cruise on the St. Lawrence and would also definitely recommend this to anyone!!)

Room Tip: We had a carriage house room...little small, but didn't matter as we didn't spend much time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night at Hochelaga Inn, in Kingston, Ontario July 16/17, 2013. We had booked a few months earlier online. We wanted a fairly central location to the downtown core of historic Kingston!

Check-in was a breeze. The front staff were very nice and no problems at all here. We stayed in the 'Carriage House' It's basically an addition to the main Inn. We had to go up a fairly steep stairs to get to our room (and carry our suitcases) but it was fine as we are both fairly fit.

The Inn was built in 1869 and it has kept it's beautiful character. It is very well maintained and our room was clean and everything worked fine. Very soft comfortable bed and it was warmer during our stay but the room A/C unit worked just fine to cool things down.

There is free Wi-Fi onsite and TV in the room etc..(but we never turned the TV on.) phone and hairdryer etc...all the usual amenities.

There is breakfast served in the morning downstairs in the large main dining area. This is very well done and furnished nicely. You feel like you step back in time....(as with much of Kingston's downtown core). Breakfast was an assortment of fruit, cakes, yogurt, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, coffee, juice. It was good...

The location is nice as you can easily walk around the historic downtown area and get to the harbour front and restaurants/pubs. The outside of the Inns is very cozy with a nice outside patio and garden. Very well kept indeed.

Apparently this Inn is 'haunted' but the ghosts are 'nice'. We did not have any ghostly encounters during our stay and we felt fine while we slept!

I recommend this place. We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: For those with mobility issues, make sure to ask for a room on the main floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had the most pleasant stay at Hochelaga Inn. The ladies at the front desk were very sweet, and willing to help with whatever questions I had. The room was small but well kept with all the necessities for a solo traveler. I would describe the room as quaint. The location is extremely convenient. It is about 10 min to downtown, 5 min to the water and 10 min to Queen's University. I would recommend this B&B to any traveler looking for a peaceful, satisfying stay in Kingston!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to Kingston for one night with two of my best friend,as we call it a girls on wild ghost adventure get away. We all wanted to stay at this beautiful Hochelaga inn as soon as we saw it. I am so glad we did, as well as the tour of the ghost walk of fort henry. At the Hochelaga Inn Our room was just gorgeous not to mention the whole place was just breath taking that i wish i live there all year round. Thank you for such a wonderful hospitality and anytime we decide to head back to Kingston, i will make it a priority to book another room at your fabulous Hochelaga inn. till next time cindy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have enjoyed our stay each time. This last stay we were fortunate to get a nice upgrade. All the rooms we have stayed in are tastefully decorated and the morning breakfast is wonderful. There is a cold buffet bar served on an old fashion work table (very charming) and a wonderful hot entry as well. The inn is on a quiet street in the city of Kingston, but very close to shops and great restaurants. Will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner085, Owner at Hochelaga Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
HI:
Thank you so much. I love surprising past guests with an upgrade whenever able.. Just a way to say thanks !
Hope to see you again soon.
Happy you enjoy the breakfasts and our beautiful gardens
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.1 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hochelaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hochelaga Inn

Property: Hochelaga Inn
Address: 24 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hochelaga Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hochelaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hochelaga Hotel Kingston
Hochelaga Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing