We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not good.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a tournament. Rooms were clean but run down. Time for an update.

Musty and smoky odor in the hallways but the room was okay.

There were several teams staying here and it was a constant slam of the doors until 2am. Very thin walls.

The hotel had no extra pillows or towels.

Breakfast was too busy and there was very little room so we opted for Tim Hortons instead. Cannot tell you what they had as we didn't get close enough to see.

Staff were friendly.

Location was right off the 401 and close to lots of shopping and restaurants which was a positive.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless they did an upgrade





  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    39
    22
    12
See reviews for
54
58
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Once upon a time this was a decent place to stay. It has been busy for years due to its great location for travellers. Apparently who ever owns it has not seen fit to maintain it or upgrade it over time. The place is generally run down. Linens, beds, towels etc at the end of their life. Furniture looks to be original from hotel opening 20 years ago. New flat screen tv is the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My granddaughters and I were in Kingston for a concert. The Comfort Inn is very easy to get to off the 401. Although we had to sign a form upon arriving that we'd not have hockey sticks in the room, no running in the halls and no consuming of alcohol in the halls, etc. - I don't think the hockey tournament families had to sign the same form. The front desk said they had security on until midnight .... well they need to keep them on staff much, much later when there is still lots of running from room to room and slamming of doors. Therefor ...if you want to stay somewhere convenient - great - just check with the front desk when you are pre-booking that there isn't a hockey tournament in town sharing your dates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnd272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is one of those 1970s-1980s built mid-level hotels that smell like old cigarettes. The HVAC units are kind of terrible and you can't get just the fan on. The desk is very wobbly. The TV sits pretty low. Bed is creaky. There's a smoke smell coming from somewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stopped here on a March break Saturday night, without a reservation, and got a nice room, very clean, and everything you would expect in this price bracket ($100.00 Cdn.). Hotel was conveniently close to a 401 exit, but not close enough to hear traffic. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Beds were a little hard, but we had a good sleep due to quiet, safe building. Parking was close to our room. An included, free, "run-of'the-mill" breakfast provided a few fruits, breads and muffins, cereals, and waffles, as well as pre-manufactured egg omellettes. Sausage? was a bit peculiar- don't even try it. Otherwise, a nice hotel to pull over to in Kingston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401. I was pleased to read that you found our property quiet, clean and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep. The majority of our guests arrive by vehicle and so we appreciate you noting the we are conveniently located off of Hwy 401.
Please do come back and enjoy the hotel again - and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is an excellent mid priced one. Clean,comfortable ,friendly staff . Close to 401 and Division st.The heater worked both quickly and quietly and thermostat worked flawlessly . There were many shops and restaurants nearby. The pillows were so comfortable that we tried to take them up on their offer and buy 4 (unfortunately none were available ). The only things we would have liked in the room were a frig and a coffee table. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us. We are fortunate to have a great location just off Highway 401 and are happy you found the service and amenities of our hotel to be to your liking.
I sincerely hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had to stay in this hotel because of the snow storm. The room give had an heating system that makes loud noise. Loud is so lound that I measured the sound using an app in Android and it was between 70 and 80 db. Since that is thermostat operated, all of a sudden in the night it starts with loud nose. Boy, I will never want to stay in the hotel. Also while checking in the lady at the front desk seemed to be very impatient and rude.

I have taken a video of the room with the loud noise. I wish i could post that video here.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay and we are sorry that this stay did not meet your expectations.
I would like to apologize that the heating system did not operate correctly and ruined your stay with us. We have investigated the unit and believe we have solved the issue. I am also sorry to hear that service at our hotel was not up to expectations. We have taken your feedback into account and have addressed this with the team as a matter of urgency.
Although you have mentioned that you would not return to the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401, I do hope you reconsider and allow us the opportunity to show you our normally high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
896 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 37 in Kingston
104 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Property: Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Address: 55 Warne Cres, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing