We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel for Travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel has very easy access from the 401 for travellers and is surrounded by good basic restaurants that you can walk to. I went to Kingston for my daughter's convocation and found this a great stop-over place for the price. Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are a decent size and clean. Beds are comfortable with lots of soft fluffy pillows. Since I am a smoker but don't like the smell of smoke in my room, the outside access to the room was very convenient. Also made it easy to load and unload the car. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with loads of items to choose from. Breakfast starts at 6:30a.m. so makes it easy to eat and get on your way early. This is a busy hotel so it is advisable to make reservations if you want a ground floor unit. Overall I had a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmaevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401 for your recent trip to Kingston and also for then taking the time to write a review of our property. I was pleased to read that you found our property comfortable, clean and that you enjoyed a good night’s sleep.

We appreciate your comments about our new Hot Continental Breakfast. We are pleased to offer our guests a complimentary hearty continental breakfast. The Comfort Inn is one of the few hotels with a free continental breakfast that offers so much.

Thank you for all of your kind comments and we hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    31
    20
    11
See reviews for
40
50
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is a basic Comfort Inn. However, if you are elite diamond or platinum and are expecting an upgrade (as per the program), forget it. I asked to have a "drive up" room and you'd think...for my loyalty (I am a diamond member), they'd bend over backwards accommodating me. No such luck. I stay in so many hotels per year, hence my diamond status, and its these little things which bring me back. I stayed in the Comfort Inn just down the road and they moved me to a "drive up" room no problem. Wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
First I would like to thank you for using TripAdvisor. It is guest feedback that encourages us to improve in areas that did not meet and exceed expectations.
Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and it is obvious that we did not meet our standards with regards to satisfying you with our standard room. We do our very best to try to accommodate our guests requests, especially Diamond Elite Choice Privilege Members but that is not always possible due to availability. As it clearly states in the rewards section of the membership website, room upgrades are determined by each hotel at check-in, are subject to availability. Upgraded room types may include recently renovated rooms, rooms on a higher/lower floor, or rooms with favored views. Hotels are not required to upgrade members' rooms to specialty rooms or suites.
I welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally and hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves during your next visit to Kingston. Although you have mentioned that you would not return to the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401, I do hope you reconsider and allow us the opportunity to show you our normally high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

since we are smokers and have dogs, it was convenient that this hotel had both requirement for a low price. They give us a room at the end of the hall next to side entry, very convenient for the dogs but if you're dog bark's for nothing, he will keep you up all night because people use the side door allot. For us it was ok since our dogs are well behave. The room was ok, I had to clean the roof of the shower because it was dirty, probably the people at the room cleaning are to small to do it! Anyway lot's of restaurants very close, near downtown and good price, we didn't try the free breakfast because there was 3 buses of young athletes wile we were staying there. Room could need refurbish but is ok when traveling with dogs. In a weekend getaway, we went there not knowing what to expect after diner, wow, not expensive, the host of the show was funny and the comedians where better than some big time comedians that you pay a very expensive ticket to just smile, without laughter. we had a very good time there and will go again next time in Kingston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veteranrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We always enjoy the Comfort Inn. Nothing fancy but generally nice rooms with good beds. Also complimentary breakfast. In this case, we arrived 15 minutes prior to the cut off, so some of the supplies were all gone. We missed the eggs and bacon, so had to be satisfied with toast and cereal. Not sure why the lady did not replenish the hot foods, since there were also others who came around the same time. Hotel was good but breakfast was lacking.

Room Tip: If you're travelling, a great stop over. But a short drive to the downtown activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWVtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Overall this would have been a nice place to stay.. comfy Bed, Cable TV... HOWEVER!! they do not clarify weather or not your room is Smoking or Non Smoking until you arrive..

Nothing spoils a romantic weekend getaway like stale stench of smoke in your room

If you would prefer to stay in a non smoking room then you will need to make sure you ask for it when booking or else they will put you in a vial smoking room... some online booking websites won't give you the option.. so you Must ask for it..

for us it was to late and all non smoking rooms were booked out... $155 wasted in a smelly room, could have spent $70 in another motel down the road and not lived in fear of having an asthma attack all night long

apart from that, rooms were nice and there is many food options nearby

Room Tip: If your a smoker.. live it up!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

For the most part I have no complaints about this hotel. The room was clean and it was quiet when we arrived at 10pm. This was just a stop over on our way elsewhere. That being said I do have a complaint. There was a large bottle of water on the desk - apparently it will set you back 2.99. As I was travelling with 2 children aged 2, and 4 months and it was 10 pm I didnt turn on the lights and I didnt read the paper around the neck of the bottle - which supposedly stated that I would be charged 3.00 - that part is my fault.
However I didnt complain about the fact that in the morning when I turned on the TV it was auto tuned to a porn channel (which ISNT even listed on the channel guide?) Nice cartoon preview for my toddler. We were in a hurry to be on our way so I did leave a note for the cleaning staff notifying them of this issue.
Overall this place did the trick BUT go to the Tim hortons across the road if you are thirsty.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank arbour m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

While my house was being painted and i needed a quiet hotel close to home and this one was a great fit! Clean with friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast in the morning and the price was very reasonable. I would definitly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sking5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingstonSunshine, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Kingston LaSalle Hotel
0.3 mi away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#33 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Property: Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Address: 55 Warne Crescent, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Canada and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing