We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kingston hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Kingston hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Hotels by the waterfront are noisy and overpriced (stayed in one for my wedding night - not worth it), and other west end/uptown hotels are sketchy and ridden with bedbugs, but this one is clean, quiet, and the staff are some of the friendliest. Big thanks to Rob at the front desk for treating two dirty-from-packing, badly dressed and exhausted students like human beings. Now that the outlet mall is in there's a large selection of food and the drive down Division to the hub is easy. If you don't need to be downtown this is it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sr77043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    62
    39
    22
    12
See reviews for
53
58
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I was visiting Kingston for an event and stayed one night at the Comfort Inn. I have stayed at a number of Comfort Inns in the past and this one was typical. The rooms were okay, but nothing out of the ordinarry. Although the hotel is near the 401 there was no traffic noise in my room although my neighbours could be heard. The hotel had a free breakfast, but the room it was in was too small and the selection was below average for hotel free breakfast. There were however plenty of resturants close to the hotel. As the hotel is by the 401 its not near downtown so its not ideal for downtown events.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This Comfort Inn is not close to the downtown area, but it is next to a new, albeit small "outlet" mall, and close to fast food restaurants. For the record, not being in the downtown core can be a good thing. The downtown area can be very noisy with university and college students.

The grounds are spacious and provide a nice place for my dog to stretch his legs.

The rooms are typical Comfort Inn style - gold bedspreads, small, somewhat cramped rooms. The TVs are very old and really need to be replaced. The beds are a bit saggy. I wish all Comfort Inns would ditch their outdated bedspreads and go with bedding that can be washed (white linens/sheets, instead of the spreads/comforters)

Having said that, the staff is very friendly, helpful and nice, including the cleaning staff. The breakfast room is a good size and coffee is usually available most of the time.

This is a great pet friendly propery. Highly recommend for people travelling with their dogs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nogobev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We had a pet-friendly room with a fridge and microwave n the 2nd floor; the ground floor was obviously smoking, or had been, and our bathroom smelt a little of smoke, but not too bad - we're sensitive ot it as we have allergies.

The window opened (or at least a tiny window under the main one did), and there was a coffee-maker in the room.

A little overpriced at Cdn$150 but we booked the same day, so maybe if you book in advance you can get a better rate. Wifi is free. There weren't enough towels in the room when we arrived, but I went down to the lobby and the person behind the desk got more for me.

The hotel is near lots of big-box stores and a mall. Our room seemed very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barefootliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I went for one night (Saturday Aug. 28/10). We were extremely pleased with the front desk service and the room.

I am a smoker and totally expected the floor to be smelly. To the contrary, it was very fresh and sweet smelling. The room was also very fresh smelling. It was also a pleasant surprise to find that the smoking rooms were on the main floor, which also meant our car was parked right in front of our patio door. How convenient :))

We got there at 11:00 AM. Check in time is 1:00 PM. When we got there, our room was ready, and they let us go in it right away. How nice is that after having traveled for 2 hours... relax and enjoy !!!

The room itself was extremely clean and sparkling. The bed was very comfortable, nice crisp white sheets, and nice what seemed to be down pillows. We slept like babies.

We had a small fridge for our (purchased beer), a microwave, and a complimentary coffee kit.

For us, as our first visit to Kingston, it was perfect. We would definitely go again. It's literally off the 401, and 5 minutes from downtown.

Thank you to the Comfort Inn Management and staff, and hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alined57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIKingston2, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
The Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401 is pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My partner and I stayed two nights at this motel, and used it as a base for day trips to Sandbanks Provincial Park and Wolfe Island.

The room, which was on the second floor, was clean and fresh. We used the A/C and though it was relatively loud (as mentioned in an other review), it didn't interfere with our sleep. I'm a relatively light sleeper and the drone helped to lull me to sleep. Breakfast was rather simple: pre-packaged danish, boiled eggs, etc. I found the coffee to be good in comparison to other, similar, motels.

I've stayed at many Comfort Inns over the years and I would rate this particular one as somewhat above the average in terms of its ease of access to Hwy 401. If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay and are satisfied with good-quality, standard amenities (nothing too fancy), then chances are you'll be satisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiamachist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIKingston2, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
We are glad you were able to stay with us on your recent trip to Kingston and surrounding areas and for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. We do hope your enjoyable visit will encourage you to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to beautiful, historic Kingston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We travelled to Kingston for a nearby wedding and we were pleasantly surprised at the Comfort Inn. We were swiftly checked in. The staff at the front desk were very nice and efficient. We were given room 131 on the ground floor. The room looks out to the back of the hotel and is very quiet. The room is standard but we found our room very clean. The room was cleaned daily. Either the bed was very comfortable or we were very tired but we slept soundly. The continental breakfast was good. I loved the cinnamon chip scones. With a little bit of downtime, we even went to the nearby outlet mall for some browsing. The hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 401 so it is very easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DXB_Maple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIKingston2, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comlimentary review of the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401.

We always appreciate hear from our guests, especially those that take the time to leave such nice comments about our hotel, comfortable beds and staff.

We hope on your next trip to Kingston, we will, once again, have the pleasure of having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Property: Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Address: 55 Warne Cres, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing