We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“clean but basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“clean but basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Arrived late but still had friendly service although took a lot of persuasion to accept the voucher that we had received in the tourist information centre to give us reduction in the nightly rate.. The room was clean. Breakfast was very basic - the minimum that they could give.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    119
    95
    35
    38
See reviews for
107
108
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel was nice and clean when I stayed there. Although the exterior of the building resembles a motor inn, the interior of the rooms have all been upgraded and have very comfortable beds.
I stayed here in November and found the room to be a bit hot, I mentioned this to reception and they were able to come up with a solution right away. My room was on the first floor and I didn't have any problems with noise at night.
There are restaurants around this hotel, however, I recommend restaurants further down Princess Street - a couple restaurants on the other side of Princess and Division (going towards Kingston Harbour) are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nebula456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

To be fair to this hotel, they had no choice to do renovations. There was a large fire across the street which spread to a few other building. This being one. Part of the hotel is torn down . Not sure what the plans are. NOTE I did not stay at this place, i live in Kingston

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold_Hem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked this hotel with hotels.com 2 weeks in advance. They took a payment from my credit card and sent reservation confirmation over email.
What a surprise to come to a place an see that place is closed/fenced for renovation (going for a few months as of Mar 2nd 2014). Really disappointed as I came with my family late in the evening and had to find another place to stay. If you want to get a room in this hotel please keep checking directly with them as companies like hotels.com are not updated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

When we arrived, we were surprised that this property was more of a motor inn than a hotel. However, once inside the room we found excellent value for what we paid. These rooms have been newly appointed, the large queen beds were very comfortable and an extra comfortable for each bed was easily found. There are two sinks, one inside the bathroom and one outside the bathroom, allowing 2 people to get ready at once. A small fridge and microwave was also in the room, and there were plenty of mirrors, and breakfast was included. Lots of stations on the TV including networks not usually offered. While internet was free, it was awful! And, while there were lots of dressers, there was no table or desk. If they want to keep business travelers coming, these two points need to be addressed. We stayed in room 217 (second floor walk-up) and I must say it was incredibly CLEAN! Now I like my water pressure very powerful, and here it is a big shower head with delivers more of a rain forest drizzle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Nevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Staff was very helpful. Was driving U-Haul and was given help parking (not easy on a cold winter's night!). Room was clean. However, location was not easy to find for me (as I said was driving at night), and other guests made noisy arrivals in the middle of the night.Overall, though, for the money a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Luningning L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#31 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
The Queen's Inn
#20 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#11 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Kingston
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Downtown Kingston
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#32 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Kingston

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Address: 686 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario L7L 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Rest Hotel Kingston
Rest Motel Kingston
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing