We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HS G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. the walkways under the balconies were filthy and unswept so that leaves, dirt and spider webs tracked into the rooms.. The porch outside the office door was propped up by a 4 X 4. The outside walls were generally unkempt and neglected

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HS G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you John H for your review. I am sorry about the webs, leaves and dirt. We do daily cleaning of the outside but there is a period when the leaves do build up overnight due to the property being a courtyard style we seem to get everyones leaves and so on but no excuse for anything outside the rooms and we will keep on top of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed and the HoJo with our two little kids and the staff accommodated by placing us in a room with pull out sofa, since the beds are so high. The only problem was that the room had its windows facing the street (princess st.) and that wasn't much fun as the street is too noisy. Looking back, we probably have been better off with just the two queen beds joined together sleeping all of us in one giant bed. Next time... The staff was definitely as friendly as the other reviews say.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank RONEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location was not in the heart of Kingston, but the price reflected this. We found the service was excellent: the staff were courteous and friendly. Ther rodoms were clean and well equipped. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tina470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great staff, clean rooms, Perfectly located! The bar next door I dont reccommend, dont bother not family, couples or "girls night out" friendly. HoJo should buy it out and put there own bar/resturant there. Rooms were newly renovated and clean! Breakfast was great and VERY CLEAN!! great price too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Squee905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The availability of having a duvet to put on the beds was an added bonus for warmth and comfort. Breakfast was plentlyful and very good quality. Would highly recommend this hotel for all Regatta's next year in Kingston for our sailing team.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank LAURA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay at the Kingston Howard Johnson was very good. Cozy rooms and very comfortable beds. Our only complaint for this trip was that the sheets on the beds in our first room were very obviously not cleaned. We notified the Front Desk immediately; the staff member on duty apologized and immediately found us another room. He even personally verified its state of cleanliness! We were very pleased with this level of service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JAMIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Super 8 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
223 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#23 of 37 in Kingston
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#26 of 37 in Kingston
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Kingston

Address: 686 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Rest Hotel Kingston
Rest Motel Kingston
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing