We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished BUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Montreal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Refurbished BUT!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

They have done a great job refurbishing this older motel. New bathroom, new beds, new TV, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron & ironing board. Even new windows; however, one of the two windows in the room wouldn't lock. Also the window in the bathroom wouldn't lock. The phone wouldn't work dispite having it fixed twice! It would work briefly, but not two hours later. The water flow in the bath/shower was little more than a trickle; however the water flow in the sink was fine. The outside has not been refurbished; the stairs had rust on them.
For $120/night on the weekend this is overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-Couple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    142
    114
    44
    43
See reviews for
126
138
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We chose this place to stop over on our way to Niagara Falls. Since we were traveling with young children, I did not want to subject them (or my husband and I!) to a six hour straight drive in the car.

This place delivered on the things that matter - the quality of the beds, the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom, and the breakfast (they had make-it-yourself waffles!). The rooms were newly renovated and the bathroom finishings were really nice. The check in guys were all round pleasant people. The new flatscreen television didn't work, but it was late when we arrived and were headed out early the next morning so did not put in the complaint.

One might be a little creeped out by the exterior of the place but that is truly just the facade - the interiors are newly and nicely renovated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le Letteur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had planned to book with Edvantage discount, but when arrived, clerk said deal without discount was better. Appreciated the honesty. Room was ok, small stain on carpet and door jam was a little beat up, but rest of room was fine, full cable package, microwave and fridge, two sinks and coffeemaker for 75 a night. No complaints and will stay again. Has attached bar, seems a bit of a pool hall dive, didn't go in, but there is a Timmies (blegh) and a Subway (yay) across the street if you get hungry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Room was decent. Recent reno job needs finishing touches done Ie: nail base board below door stop, Hide wires all over the wall leading to flat tv. The continental brk.fst. OK if you like cereal and milk, most adults don't, its fine. I quess the croissants are ok for most, but not if you're a Quebecker where croissants rule and come hot. Toast and jam seemed to be my only option. Second morning brought my own peanut butter and whole wheat bread. Toaster works fine. I didn't really find this a problem, especially with fridge and microwave in the room. Still a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TafCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed a couple nights here in April. The location is really central although Kingston's not too big. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. The free breakfast was great, better than most that are free. There was even a waffle maker which you can make your own.
The room we got was renovated so it was really nice, flat screen tv and a iPod dock. Very clean! Unbeatable price compared to anything else we found. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got dealfind voucher, so our review is based upon $35/night ( we stayed for 2 nights ), First impression was not good enough, but the moment we entered the room, we were highly impressed

Positive :
Dawn - the great host, very hard working and cooperative during the morning breakfast
Renovated room with all new vanities and bath tub, and upgraded interiors
Free parking
Wifi speed was very good
Breakfast was superb

Negative:
The noise was too much from AC and washroom fan, seriously high, we were too tired to complain about this, but it was manageable
Outdoor look - is not professional enough, looks like old building and exteriors can be improved
Duvet was dirty , looks like they dont change it frequently

Overall, we had a good stay by paying just 35$/night.

Room Tip: There are two floors, without elevators. choose the room according to the floor preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handsome_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

$89 a night - we got a deal for $35 a night - weekend
it is fair to pay $60-90
great for travelling worker / tradesman, family couple saving money


First I will comment on the good:

Dawn (Like the morning sun) was Amazing as a host - great with our kids at the continental breakfast, a beautiful person, and a professional first class rep for the chain - she handled a problem we had and was extremely accommodating. welcoming etc... what ever they pay her they do not pay her enough.

It is a great budget place to stay, the room we had was impeccably clean ( I compare to the $250 a night room we had in Niagara a few weeks before - yes the niagara room was larger and the extras were extras - but you paid for it and you didnt get a Fridge or Microwave at the niagara place, but you got both at the howard johnston)

The continental breakfast was a choice of 3 cold cereals, white and brown bread, english muffins, make your own waffles, yogurt cups, apples, coffee teas...that is what i remember, not instant oatmeal or eggs though - easy enough to bring for yourself)

wifi was fast enough,
newspapers available

on a sour note:
Dealfind lies:
the deal posted:
$65 for a 2 Night Kingston Getaway for Up to 4 People Including Breakfast at the Howard Johnson Kingston (Up to $270 Value)


I have stayed all over and your ad writers have grossly exaggerated the value....at best , this hotel is an $90 a night stay, not $135 as your ad suggests ($135 x 2 nights = the $270 you claim it was worth)

the hotels own website disagrees with your evaluation (1):

Avg Nightly Rate 84.00 CAD

2 Nights(1 Room) 168.00 CAD
Tax 21.84 CAD
Total Cost* 189.84 CAD

Seems like a slam dunk small claims court case and an easy win for false advertising.

It would be wiser that you post true values in order that the consumer can better manage expectations...

still a good deal, but dealfind lies

Room Tip: we had 136 - on first floor - under stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastdeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HS G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear fastdeals, thank your for taking the time to comment on our property. Dawn is a great asset for us and we are glad she was of assistance to you. As for the dealfind issue, they showed only the summer rates based on four people to make their deal seem like it had a greater saving. We apologize they only showed the high season rates. We hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#24 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
The Queen's Inn
#22 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Kingston

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Address: 686 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Rest Hotel Kingston
Rest Motel Kingston
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing