We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay & would return if in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay & would return if in the area”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The location on Princess St is great. Many restaurants & stores for shopping - 5 minutes from Hospital which was great for my visit. My room was very clean with lots of towels & amenities. Staff is very friendly & accomodating. I would definitely stay there again if I come back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monroe104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HS G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you Monroe104 for the review, we are always happy when a guest leaves happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    142
    114
    44
    43
See reviews for
126
138
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed for two nights and had no issues whatsoever and sure can't complain about what we paid. We had a brand new remodelled room which was great ! Nice perk of coffee, juice and yogurt offered in the morning. Had a few conversations with the fellow at the desk & he was great ! Love the location. We'll be staying here again in July ! Pat & Diane (North Bay)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selectivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HS G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thanks Pat and Diane, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Clean, functional, nice staff, breakfast self service varied

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HS G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you BooEurope for the kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

After reading some of the reviews here I was a little wary of what to expect. I was actually pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and newly renovated. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Overnight was very quiet - the rooms are well back from the street, so no traffic noise. There is a free breakfast - coffee, juice, fruit, toast, cereal - not too much, but what do expect for free. I think we paid about $55, so overall very good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faugee, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you DCMontreal for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy when a guest leaves happy. We will be updating the breakfast in the very near future and adding a few new items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

When i pulled up to this hotel all i could think of was that i was gonna be shot. Check in was quick and the front desk guy was cool. Got to my room and was scared cause the door looked like i could push it down. Walked in the room and the room shocked me. It was mostly clean and looked like it had been renovated. Tv not was not working and would only show 1 channel. But for a Hojo motel around 40 dollars it wasent terrible. Only recommended for 1 night stays though. If your in the area for a long time i recommend paying more for better

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinthecheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faugee, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you kevinthecheesehead for your review. The doors and locks and windows were are installed throughout Feb of this year and the exterior surrounding the doors will be getting a redo as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed at the Howard Johnson while I was in Kingston for an interview. I was in one of the newly renovated rooms. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I was impressed with the tile washroom and the comfortable beds. There was free convenient parking right in front of the room I stayed in, which was great as I was there during a snow storm.

The service was excellent. The staff set me up with the free wireless and very politely answered all of my questions. They heated some water for me late in the evening when I wanted to make some tea. I had reserved a room for two nights but decided to leave a day earlier because of a snow storm. The front desk staff and the general manager were kind to refund the payment I had made for the second night.

I was very happy with my stay and would recommend it for both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faugee, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you DeeZam for the kind review. We get quite a few people who are here for interviews that time of year and we understand it can be stressfull. We do our best to accomodate our guest and the snow storm was pretty bad that week if i recall. I am glad you made it out in time and hope the interview went well. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for one night passing through. Very apprehensive given previous reviews. But the following points changed our minds.
Easy to find
Friendly, helpful check in
Large spotless clean room
Modernised bathroom
New beds clean sheets
Microwave.+fridge+tv+internet
Continental breakfast included

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faugee, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Kingston, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for your kind review, the renovations are on going we will have all 68 rooms redone next year. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#24 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
The Queen's Inn
#22 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Kingston

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Kingston
Address: 686 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Rest Hotel Kingston
Rest Motel Kingston
Howard Johnson Inn Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing