We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as some people seem to think”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not as bad as some people seem to think”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Granted there were a couple of small stains on the seats of two of the chairs, but everything else was clean if somewhat dated. The room could have used some air freshener, but the bed was comfortable and the included hot breakfast was very good. The bathroom needed a little bit of repair to the caulking around the bathtub. Another problem was a lack of accessible electrical outlets - had to move the coffee maker into the bathroom to make coffee because all the other plugs were inaccessible or being used for lamps and other necessities. Front desk people were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Get away from the street if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    24
    23
    23
See reviews for
51
44
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the worst Comfort Inn we have stayed at in a long time. The place is very dingy and run down. They have started remodeling the first floor so I think you can only get second floor rooms. No elevator either. The lamps in the room all had a good layer of old dust and most things looked fairly worn. There was rust in the sink but the bathroom was otherwise clean and in reasonable condition. Small thing, but the nightlight didn't work. The bed was clean and comfortable but the room smelled musty and I am pretty sure it had been a smoking room even though we requested non-smoking. A sign in the lobby says they are a total non-smoking motel as of May 25 but that doesn't make the smell go away.
The Wi-Fi seemed to work fine.
Noticed after we checked in that it was only 6000 rewards points to stay there. That's about right and means the room rate should be no more than $70 but they still charge $100+.
Breakfast was typical and there was plenty of space to sit and eat.

I see another reviewer says it is newly renovated but they must have been thinking of the similar Comfort Inn in Parry Sound which is pretty much a twin of the Kingston Comfort Inn that has been really nicely remodeled. I hope they can do the same for this place but it will take a lot of $$$ and effort after letting it go so far down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenBColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff make this hotel great, they should be commended! No this is not a super clean place. No, it is not luxurious. Yes, it is under renovation. Yes, it provides a decent bed, free parking, free internet and free hot breakfast for a very good price. They provide all the amenities you need to be comfortable. The shower was excellent! Hot breakfast Sunday morning was cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, eggs, sausages, toast, bagels, english muffins, danishes, muffins, homemade waffles, hot coffee or tea, orange and apple juice. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor and with windows closed and air conditioning on, heard no noise from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panicfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed overnight for business and it was just ok.....Room was okay, but I was on the main floor and called the frond desk because there were 3 pick-up trucks parked in front of my room and the young men kept going in and out of their trucks throughout the night. Apparently, they wanted smoking rooms and there weren't any left so they were constantly chain smoking in thier trucks in the parking lot. I also found a dead bug wrapped in the floor mat for the shower which wasn't super pleasant. Lisa at the front desk was fantastic and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphires78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My father has been very ill and in Kingston General hospital for the past few weeks.

Two of my uncles and aunts travelled from southwestern Ontario this week to visit him. Since the drive is over four hours each way and they wanted to visit more than once, they asked a staff member at the hospital to recommend accomodations.

They were told that the Comfort Inn on Princess St. was offering a special discount to patients` family members during the holidays (Dec. 24th to Jan.2). We have had `compassionate`rates at other hôtels before but usually that meant that you would only pay $105 per night rather than their regular rates.

The Comfort Inn offered them accomodations for FREE. Absolutely no cost during a time of year that most hôtels charge their `high season` rates. But more than a warm, clean bed to sleep in, the staff at the Comfort Inn offered them compassion, a warm cup of coffee when they arrived and kind words.

It is with heartfelt gratitude that I thank them for their kindness and generosity. I know it meant a lot to my Dad to see his brother and sister and their partners. And it meant a lot to all of us that the Comfort Inn made things a little easier this week.

Our sincere thanks to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,644 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 965 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've stayed at literally dozens of Comfort Inn's across North America and this ranked as one of my worst experiences (only the one in Dover, Delaware was worse!). From the smelly man who checked us in (he chain smoked outside the front entrance), to the filthy hallways and oddly odored room the motel just didn't. The motel also seemed to be home to somewhat permanent residents, several of whom were barbecuing outside their rooms.

There is little good to say about this property. You certainly can do better in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a fly drive tour of Eastern Canada. It was located on the outskirts of Kingston. We did not choose this hotel as it was part of the package. The hotel was ok with one night but was not spotless with burns on the duvet cover and smell of cigarettes in the room despite being non-smoking. A basic breakfast was included which was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#18 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#6 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown
Address: 1454 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Midtown is conveniently located minutes from Kingston Memorial Centre, Fort Henry, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Boat Tours, Queens University, St. Lawrence College and the Royal Military College.Shopping is available at area malls, including Cataraqui Town Centre and Kingston Shopping Centre. This Comfort Inn hotel is minutes from the beautiful downtown harbour-front area where visitors can enjoy an assortment of restaurants and shopping at unique boutiques. With tastefully decorated accommodations, each guest will feel right at home at this Kingston hotel. All rooms feature flat screen cable television, ironing equipment, coffee makers and hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests are invited to take advantage of the attractive picnic area equipped with a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing