We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay to spend the night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay to spend the night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived mid afternoon and were able to get a room on the first floor so we could drive up to the door. We received a smoking room as it was the last room available. The front desk clerk provided a machine that sucked in the smoking smell and the air wasn't too bad after 30 minutes. The room was a budget room. It contained a mini fridge which was able to keep our drinks cold. The beds were clean and comfortable and the air conditioning (plus for 40 degree weather outside). The bathroom was a good size. The doors to the inner hall and outside had adequate locks on them to make us feel secure. We did not try the breakfast.

We would stay at this hotel again for one night. Clean, safe, and a regular hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will continue to stay at the Comfort Inn Midtown. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    24
    23
    23
See reviews for
50
43
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked this inn because of the rating it had from other guests. When we checked in, the front desk clerk was very nice. We opened the door to our room and almost "tossed our lunch" from the horrid smell. Then, to top it off, the comforter on the bed had a burn mark through it along with many, MANY stains and also some disgusting crumbs all over the bed. We were afraid to even put our luggage down anywhere. We left the room within 2 minutes and the front clerk did not even hesitiate to cancel our reservation with no hassle at all. He even suggested a competitor hotel to stay at - Motel 6, which was AMAZING! While checking in at Motel 6, we met with another couple and another family who had left the Comfort Inn with the SAME complaints. I would NEVER even attempt to go back to that "hole" again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BballMom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

upstate NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Older and dated hotel rooms. Clean, but needs to modernize soon. Breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel on our way up to cottage country with our dog. This was the most reasonably priced hotel in Kingston that accepted pets and we were very pleased with our choice - especially since there was no additional charge for our dog.

The rooms are plain and functional, but we had no issues with smells or lack of cleanliness. We had a queen room with a pull out couch and a nice fridge that was also clean. When I made the reservation the woman who took my call gave us a room on the ground floor with a sliding door that made taking our dog out much easier. The step down to the sidewalk wasn't any higher than stepping off a curb. We did not partake of the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that, but the front desk staff were very pleasant. Since we were there on a Friday, there weren't many contractors/work trucks at the hotel.

All in all, it was a great choice for us and we will definitely stay there again if we travel with our dog.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyrupert, Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Comfort Inn Kingston Midtown. We always appreciate our guests that take the time to leave such nice comments about our hotel. We hope on your next visit to cottage country we will once again have the pleasure of you and your dog staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Never Again...Sorry to say but this is the Worse Hotel of my Life... I'm a Choice Privilege card holder which means a stay in Choice Hotels (Econo Lodge , Confort Inn, Quality Inn ... a lot and this one is the Worse

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetmoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyrupert, Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Thank you for your review on the Comfort Inn Kingston Midtown, for it is through these comments we are able to focus on areas that need special attention. We are sorry that your room was not up to your expectations, and the impression it left on you.
We would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in our product and services. Should you choose to give our hotel another chance, we will do our best to make your next stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed in a smoking room because thats all they had left. Even the hallways stunk like smoke. The girl at the front desk said they would spray the room, so it would smell better. Well that didn't work. i don't think I would even stay in a non-smoking room in this hotel. They try hard, the room was clean and beds comfortable. You just can't get past the smell. The hotel needs a really good cleaning to get rid of the smell.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiGirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I had not planned to stay in Kingston, but our car broke down on the 401 on the way to Stratford. We were impressed by everyone we met and that helped us in Kingston. We ended up at the Comfort Inn at 5:30 pm and were somewhat depressed. Lisa at the desk was cheerful and helpful. She took endless messages for us as worried relatives found out where we were. She looked up many numbers for us and kept us laughing. The room was okay and I have no complaints. It was clean and had the basics, but it really doesn't matter. I would stay there again because the staff made us feel so at home. We were late leaving in the morning as there were no cars(Lisa called every rental in town) and the girls that cleaned the rooms were good natured and patient and we held them up by more than half an hour. What could have been a depressing visit was made cheerful. Thank you Lisa from both of us. If we ever do come to stay in Kingston I would stay at the Comfort Inn just to see you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#18 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown
Address: 1454 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Midtown is conveniently located minutes from Kingston Memorial Centre, Fort Henry, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Boat Tours, Queens University, St. Lawrence College and the Royal Military College.Shopping is available at area malls, including Cataraqui Town Centre and Kingston Shopping Centre. This Comfort Inn hotel is minutes from the beautiful downtown harbour-front area where visitors can enjoy an assortment of restaurants and shopping at unique boutiques. With tastefully decorated accommodations, each guest will feel right at home at this Kingston hotel. All rooms feature flat screen cable television, ironing equipment, coffee makers and hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests are invited to take advantage of the attractive picnic area equipped with a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing