We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE BUDGET MINDED TRAVELLER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE BUDGET MINDED TRAVELLER”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I needed an inexpensive overnight stay in Kingston and made a booking at the Ambassador based on good reviews and also on previous experience when I lived in Kingston over forty years ago.This hotel has always been a locally owned family operation. My room rate was really rock bottom and upon arrival I was upgraded to a modern, spacious room with a king size bed and every amenity. What fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastidiousfredz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    929
    694
    352
    123
See reviews for
1,443
543
94
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The staff were great, the bedding was superb, the bathroom goodies were very attractive, the chrome and red decor was most refreshing, the room was super quiet (as requested), the pool and jacuzzi were great. Remember to ask for real milk for your tea; it will be readily provided. There was even a light above the bath (a first) and the towels were good and thick. Finally, the windows open!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

A very clean and nice hotel. The main lobby, bar & restaurant are all very new and well kept. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, particularly in the restaurant. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The room (in the West Tower) was very clean and very large. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and appeared to have been recently renovated with nice tiles and granite countertop. While we didn't use the pool area, we did take a look and it looked very clean and well kept. It's a fairly large hotel and seemed to have lots of conference facilities too. We really enjoyed our trip to Kingston and plan to return next summer with our kids and we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I have had the good fortune of being a 'frequent guest' at the
Ambassador hotel for the past couple of years now. On a consistent basis I
find your staff to be courteous, professional and very capable. This starts
from the warm greeting I always receive when walking in the door and
continues throughout my stay all the way through to checkout. In fact, this
morning when I checked out Jonathan went to get me coffee for the road!
Simply outstanding service!

Please pass on my sincere congratulations to your team for a job well
done!' I will continue to recommend your hotel to anyone planning a stay in
the Kingston area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmlottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We had gathered to celebrate a family function halfway point from Montreal/Toronto. The hotel was conviently located off the 401 for all of us. A group of 11, our rooms were all located next to eachother. For the kids the pool + slide captivated their energies. For the adults the beds + room funishings were new, refreshing and comfortable. The one bedroom ensuite area with bar , stools and plasma screen tv made our family gathering perfect. While the kids enjoyed the pool some of the adults visited the local farmers market. From the front desk to the restaurant , Ambassador hotel staff professionally and courteously handled our group needs to the point that we have decided to make our get together an anuual event. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed On
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Great staff , awesome water park with a 100ft. slide.
Rooms were large but bathroom could have been cleaner.
Hall ways and elevators were starting to show it's age, but I did notice ongoing painting on another floor.
A ittle pricey considering.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am truly sorry that you were not completely delighted with our product. We are constantly upgrading and improving our facility and have spent millions in renovations over the last several years. Please contact myself personally at 613 541 4676 or by email at venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Venicio Rebelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Have stayed here many many times and on each visit notice itdeclines more each time. Pool area is terribly overchlorinated, kids eyes were burning and red each night. Rooms are smalland outdated. Pillows are horrific! I had to go buy one from walmart, I think they get the worn out ones from the four points as it is the same owner. You can see in some of the decor it has
been left over from the 4 points. Restaurant is terrible. We asked
to see the buffet one night and
were told they only start putting
food on it once people
come.....what does that tell you. There are many new hotels opening up in this area and the old run down place needs to keep up. I will say the staff were very good.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments. The levels of chemicals used in our pools are closely monitored by the local health unit and we are mandated to follow these orders. It is true that the chemical levels effect different people in different ways. Unfortunately there is very little we can do. I do hope you can come back and enjoy our facilities sometime in the future. If you wish to contact me personally I can be reached at 613 541 4676 or by email at
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
280 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing