We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away as fast as you can”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Have stayed here many many times and on each visit notice itdeclines more each time. Pool area is terribly overchlorinated, kids eyes were burning and red each night. Rooms are smalland outdated. Pillows are horrific! I had to go buy one from walmart, I think they get the worn out ones from the four points as it is the same owner. You can see in some of the decor it has
been left over from the 4 points. Restaurant is terrible. We asked
to see the buffet one night and
were told they only start putting
food on it once people
come.....what does that tell you. There are many new hotels opening up in this area and the old run down place needs to keep up. I will say the staff were very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2010

Thank you very much for your comments. The levels of chemicals used in our pools are closely monitored by the local health unit and we are mandated to follow these orders. It is true that the chemical levels effect different people in different ways. Unfortunately there is very little we can do. I do hope you can come back and enjoy our facilities sometime in the future. If you wish to contact me personally I can be reached at 613 541 4676 or by email at
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,642 - 3,648 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

Recently stayed at hotel and although kids love it for playing this is a reminder to parents to keep an eye on their kids at all times. There was a man harassing women and girls in pool area and when asked to call security, the lifeguard advised there was no security on staff. I also noted that doors from external do not require room cards to enter hotel .... Anyone could drive up and enter hotel and pool area. Signed concerned parent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphinfinnigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding security at our hotel. While we do not employ "Security Guards" here we do have closed circuit cameras that monitor the public areas of the hotel and we educate our staff on duty to be ever vigilant. Our hotel as most are open to the general public and do not restrict access to the areas that our customers would like to frequent and gain access such as our front desk , restaurant ,meeting rooms, conference area, and indoor waterpark. Unfortunately we are not able to screen every person that walks in our door or rents a room for the night but will do everything we can to ensure every guest has an enjoyable visit.
If you would like to discuss this further please contact myself personally at 613 541 4676 or by email : venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Thank you for your time

Venicio Rebelo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and I had a wedding to attend at the Ambassador so we booked a room at the hotel. From the time we arrived to the time we checked out we felt welcomed. The check in service we received was great and when we asked about things to do they had many great ideas for us. I asked them how they knew so much and we were told that the hotel will send there people on the sites around town so they will be better prepared for the hotel guests. When we open the door to our room we were greated with a king size bed and a room that was very clean.
The wedding we attened in their Ballroom was amazing. The food was great and so was the service, the room looked beautiful.
We had lunch the next day in their resterant JM's again we received excellent service and food.
If you are planning a trip to Kingston I would make a reservation to stay her.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our stay at the resort was wonderful. Great service with all staff. We really enjoyed the indoor water park , arcade and hot tub. It is great when your travelling with children they could never say they are bored. They also have a lovely restaurant within the complex. So you can sit enjoy and have a couple of drinks.

Thank you

pat and rino from Toronto

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parts_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I had received a gift certificate for Christmas that entitled a free stay Sunday through Friday night and we had not had an opportunity to use it. Those nights were also not the best. We figured on contacting the manager to see about a Saturday stay and would pay extra if needed. Wel we got our Saturday stay with no extra cost to us and were upgraded to a business class room with a King bed as opposed to the standard 2 double beds we were entitled to. The manager was awesome to deal with with very quick email response. The Reservations manager was great to deal with and made everything happen just like that. They truly epitomize what customer service should be all about and it was much needed R&R we were truly greatful for all the help!

Oh and the all you can eat Prime Rib meal at JM's in the hotel was wonderfully delicious and we will check that out again sometime in the future!

Great service, great food, great place!

Thanks again!
Robin B

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boltor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This hotel is easily accessible. The room we had with a view over the conservation area was very pleasant and well equipped. The Indoor water park, although we didn't use it, appeared to be great for kids. The health club which I did use had ample machines. The restaurant provided full service and very good food. The front desk personnel were pleasant and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I recently stayed at the Ambassador hotel in Kingston while visiting from Calgary and I was extremely pleased with the room and the customer service. The representatives in the lobby were polite, friendly and helpful. At a very affordable price per night the room I stayed in was quite large and equally pleasing aesthetically. The presentation of the room and bathroom were done very well. I believe the bed was king size and was extremely comfortable.

The pool was well maintained and properly supervised. For anyone traveling with children the pool and waterslide would make for great fun. Overall it was a wonderful stay and I literally had zero complaints or any negative experiences. I strongly recommend the Ambassador if you need a place to stay in Kingston.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buff_jordan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $90 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre is conveniently located off Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and just minutes away from attractions, and the beautiful downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming vision into reality, The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities, boasting the largest conference space between Toronto and Ottawa. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. If travelling for leisure our amenities will be sure to please. Enjoy our Waterpark with waterslide, pool, hot tub and sauna. JM's Restaurant and Lounge offer onsite dining and relaxation. Welcome to the Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing