We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Kingston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Kingston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

After first booking online at the EconoLodge just up the road and leaving that disgusting hotel, we weren't sure we would find a place during the hog rally. We were pleasantly surprised that the Ambassador still had rooms available and by the more then reasonable price. The hotel is clean, staff very nice and with the amenities they have appears to be great for families, we did not use the water slides, pool or hot tub so all I can say is that they have them. The lounge and restraunt are also reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are so proud of our excellent facilities and customer service and will be delighted to welcome you back again soon.

Your comments have been shared with the entire Ambassador Team to congratulate them on a job well done.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    908
    681
    342
    121
See reviews for
1,411
538
92
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

we went for an economy room without a view, one queen bed, no frig, blinds not curtains, no couch, one chair, small bathroom that goes for 138 per nite.

Just wasn't worth the 138. We were disappointed and probably will not try to economize in an otherwise good hotel again.

Room Tip: economy class savings not worth the drop in quality, rent a business class room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for commenting on your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are sorry to hear you were not completely delighted with your stay. During your stay, please advise us if your guestroom does not meet your expectations and our guest services team will work with you to provide alternate accommodations depending upon availability. Our goal is to have you leave with pleasant memories and plans to return in the future.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and will consider returning. We would be so happy to have you come back and stay with us.

Please feel free to contact me before you return so that I may personally follow up with you.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stay at this hotel often and appreciate that their rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean with a nice big work area! Great location no matter where you need to go in Kingston and inexpensive as well. Their hospitality is great, Jonathan the front office manager is amazing and so helpful even when I have a last minute request.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller4work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Wow...thank you!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience.

Your comments have been shared with our team to congratulate them on a job well done.

We appreciate your continued business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped here to help break up a long distance drive and were amazed. For a conference centre to have a big water slide, a little slide, and an indoor splash pad (plus 2 hot tubs, a steam room, etc) - what a great place to put some smiles back on their tired faces. The only recommendation I would make is to order a big pizza through room service and not go to the restaurant which is a little expensive.

Room Tip: Our room had low wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMcDonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Your comments have been shared with our entire team to congratulate them.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very spacious rooms, very clean . Bed was extremely comfortable. Near a train station, so noise can sometimes be a factor. Very close to downtown, although must get through construction first. Poll area and water slide seem great. The previous guest hotel rating sheet was still on our desk, so not much attention seems to be given to feedback. The drain in our tub was rusted, and some enamel would occasionally find it's way into the bath. Had to resign in to wifi for every use.

Room Tip: We had room 250, good choice, view of the street and close to elevator, with the option to go out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gra2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. Your feedback is so important to our continued improvement and success. We have shared your comments with the team so that we can assess our performance, techniques and facilities.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms are just overall average. OK beds and bath and nothing more. We had a group of girls for a sports team event and the young girls didn't know any different - they simply enjoyed the water slide in the hotel pool. This was the attraction and they loved it. Had a separate pool and hot tub as well for the kids to play in and was safe with lifegurads on duty at all times. We spread out by getting connecting rooms with another family but was tight otherwise even with the 2 Queen size beds in the room. Thankfully there was a fridge but no rooms available with kitchenettes or anything more when we booked. In need of another make over but might stay there again since it was in a convenient location to our sports event.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you...we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. Your feedback is very important to our continued success and we have shared your comments with the Ambassador Team.

We value your continued business and look forward to hosting you and your team again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very disappointing. We travel often for soccer and hockey tournaments, and this by far was the worst experience. Rooms were average at best. Over-zealous security staff, following our every move, even when we were in our rooms acting accordingly. Unprofessional and un-accommodating, they should not host travelling sports teams if this is the type of service they provide. I would not recommend this hotel for future leisure or work travel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre.

I am sorry to hear you were not completely delighted with your stay. As I am sure you can understand, we have professional security on site to ensure a safe and secure environment for all of our guests while doing our best to maintain an enjoyable atmosphere for everyone staying with us.

Thank you again and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing