We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Service and Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel last weekend and I was very impressive. It's not in downtown, it's not on the highway... it's in between very convenient location and not too far form the train station or airport. Rooms are very well appointed, very comfortable beds, individual air/heater helping to control your temperature, Free internet, nice indoor waterpark,... very well maintained, very friendly and efficient staff....There was only one thing not great: Pancakes and Waffles... not the best,.. salty and much flour flavor. After that.. everything was Fantastic. Definitely this will be my hotel on my next visit to Kingston. I'll return there

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hello Mancho.. Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent visit. We are pleased that overall you were delighted with your experience and hope to see you back very soon.

Styx is coming to the KROCK Centre on Nov 14th.. if you are planning on coming to the Concert let me know and I will arrange for a great overnight rate for you..

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,380 - 3,386 of 3,721 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've stayed at the Ambassador Hotel many times but I don't think we've ever done a review, I'm not sure why. I think it might be because we've stayed so many times that we've almost taken this property for granted.

A stay at the Ambassador is like staying with family. From the moment you check-in until the moment you check-out, you feel welcomed.

Our most recent stay came about very unexpectedly. We were making a very unexpected trip to Kingston to visit some family that are having health issues. There is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express that was built close to where our family lives so we thought we would stay there this time just for convenience sake. I'm doing a separate review on what happened with that reservation but needless to say, it didn't work out, so without a reservation, we went to the Ambassador and were welcomed with open arms.

Our room was very comfortable and clean.

We didn't use the pool/sauna/hot tub this time but we have many times in the past and they have always been clean and operational.

We did have breakfast in the restaurant. The food was very good, it was warm and it was plentiful.

The Ambassador is centrally located in Kingston, a short drive to the Cataraqui Town Centre and the Rio Can Shopping Centre and convenient to get to Highway 401.

We will definitely be back to the Ambassador!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hello Chef_EH_and_Jo

Thank you for your kind words describing your recent visit. I am very pleased that our team made you feel right at home.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for our anniversary getaway. We spend one whole day in the hotel. It was at a nice location (5 min drive from center of Kingston) and seemed like good pricing for that area. We asked for a room with a whirlpool, which was not worth it! The jacuzzi was located in the bathroom, we only used it one time, but we really found it stank when we turned it on. For the rest we have no complaints and everything was nice and clean. The hubby and I especially enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel, we picked the buffet style every time and had no complaints about that! The rib buffet that is supposed to be the best in Kingston wasn't that special according to us, but it was still good:) Overall a great stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a whirlpool, not worth it according to us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi "howdumb" Thank you for posting your comments. We are delighted that you selected our hotel to celebrate your anniversary.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ambassador for 3 nights, a gift from our son as part of a golf getaway. Check in was very efficient and the staff could not have been more helpful. Our room was huge with a very comfortable king size bed, and a beautiful bathroom with a walk-in shower and lovely whirlpool bathtub. We used the hotel dining room for both dinner and breakfast and both service and food were very good. We found the lobby to be very well appointed and personally did not feel that it was "dated". We will certainly visit the Ambassador again when we are in Kingston and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello pharri;

Thank for posting your comments regarding your recent visit to Kingston. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and we thank you for sharing your experience with your friends.

We hope to see you back again very soon. One of the featured events happening in Kingston this month is the Fort Fright experience at Fort Henry. Check our website for details and special package offers.

All the best

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and it was clean, decent location and no specific complaints. This hotel is in need of updating as I don't think anything has changed since the last time I stayed there 20 years ago.

Overpriced for what it is, but may have just been a busy weekend in town as most places were booked.

if you aren't looking for anything fancy this place will do..has a pool and waterslide I didn't try unfortunately. .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richy_Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Hello Richy_Bobby;


Thank you for posting your comments. We recently completed a multi million dollar renovation of all our guestrooms, meeting rooms, public spaces , front lobby, restaurant and Indoor Waterpark and are continuously improving areas that need attention. If you have a specific area that you noticed needs our attention please let me know.

We have very competitive prices in Kingston and many times have packages that offer great value. I suggest you check our website or call us directly at 1-800-267-7880 and ask about any special offers

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line : 613 541 4676
Twitter @venicio23

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found the hotel staff exceptional. The cleaning staff was engaged and friendly and did an awesome job at keeping the place spotless. The restaurant staff and food was good. The coordination of the event was fairly seamless. I'd say they get full marks.

Negative: The bar closed too early and refused to serve us just before 10 pm because there were "too few people"? The conference hot lunch buffet food was bland and a bit dried out.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there are any events during your stay! We have been there when they have 13 yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello NWillet ..thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased that overall you were delighted the service, product and facilities we provided during your recent visit.

Please accept my apology that we did not keep the lounge open longer so that you could enjoy another beverage.

We do hope to see you back again in the near future..

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was selected from the website. What a great choice! Lovely facility. room was great; clean,nicely appointed, comfortable! Staff at check in; Ashley and Angelina were extremely helpful, pleasant, personable, naturally friendly. The complimentary apples (macintosh) were a nice touch.
Ashley and Angelina helped my husband and I find a golf course to play at. When we saw the girls they asked how things worked out with golf! Nicely appointed lobby, computer access was easy. However, when we stopped at the desk later in the day, the young men were not too knowledgeable about restaurants. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was very good. The service, Rose, was pleasant and welcoming. If a family is travelling to the area, I would recommend this place, as they have a nice indoor pool geared for children. For couples travelling to the area, look no further, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hello Sharon W.. Wow..what a great review.. We are delighted that you stayed with us and enjoyed our hospitality. We do hope you come back to Kingston and please check our website often for promotions, packages and last minute deals.

Hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Kingston LaSalle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $79 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing