We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable hotel for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    958
    713
    360
    130
See reviews for
1,479
554
95
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First time in Kingston and we found this gem. The staff was amazing, any question we asked they were able to help us with. We needed to know what we could do during our visit and when my wife asked at the front desk they told us everything that we needed to know. We asked them why they knew so much and they told us that every member of the staff is sent out to visit the attracations in the aera so when they are aksed about them they wll be able to provide the information required. Talk about above and beyond. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and the food was great. The room was very clean and check in and check out was a breeze. We didn't use the pool area but what a surprise to find a waterslide. We will bring our kids here for sure. If you find yourself needing a place to say in Kingston make sure to stay here. Easy access to downtown Kingston and great shoping close buy as well. We had a perfect weekend retreat and will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dude1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello Dude 1966.. Thank you so much for those wonderful comments. We are all passionate about the great city of Kingston we live in and want everyone that comes to visit to share in our experiences.

We hope to see you back soon with your kids so they can enjoy our indoor waterpark with 100 foot waterslide, pool and splash pad.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great spot for a quiet stay, away from the hubbub. Stayed at the Ambassador during Poker
Run Weekend, which can be lively. Found this hotel to be convenient, safe, clean and with
free parking. Dining was excellent with a great Sunday Brunch. Best part of all, however,
were the friendly and dedicated staff who went above and beyond to provide comfort and
their own personal touch. These folks are young, able to think for themselves and went
a long way toward making our stay as pleasant as it was. Sincerest thanks.

Room Tip: State your preferences as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Tom M.. thank you very much for your comments.. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kingston. We are very proud of our team and encourage them to solve issues as they see them to ensure each of our guests has a wonderful experience.

We hope to see you back soon and often in Kingston.


All the best;

Venicio (Vinnie)Rebelo
General Manager
613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel first week of August this year. Check in was effortless. The room was as expected. AC working overtime, some peeling paint on the ceiling. This was not expected on the top floor-an up grade, and neither were all the carpet stains. Had to listen to an infant whine for hours through the adjoining doors. Soundproofing seemed non existant. Bed was good. Bathroom good -but only two tiny soaps. View was nice if you like swamps. Not convienient to downtown. Restaurant was good. Parking was free as was one breakfast, good-not great. Pool was nice if you like screaming kids and slimy water. Stay here again? Only if it was the only spot with space.
Bru e & Sue



Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BooOttawaONCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello BooOttawaOnCanada..thank you for posting your comments. I am truly sorry that you were not completely delighted with your stay with us. We hope that you will return and give us another chance. Please contact me personally to book your next visit and I will personally inspect your room before you check in to ensure it is perfect for you.

All the best;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Jonathan and the Team at the Ambassador are excellent. The location is convenient, the rooms are clean, the people are friendly and welcoming. Rates are excellent. I stay here regularly and never been disappointed. Lots of amenities if you are travelling with familyThis is my hotel of choice when in Kingston!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
HI Chris D..thank you for your wonderful comments.. We do appreciate your continued patronage and hope to maintain this relationship for a very long time.

Next time you are coming to Kingston send me a note.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We only spent 1 night but have to say it was very nice! Clean, affordable and the beds are very comfortable. Check in was quick and the service excellent. We booked the economy room as we were only there late one night until the next morning - it's quite nice, just small. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Brendy888..thank you very much for posting your comments.. We are delighted you enjoyed your short visit to Kingston. You will need to come back soon and stay for a few days..Kingston has a lot to do and much to explore.

Hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We decided last minute to go somewhere for the night and the Ambassador had been recommended by a friend who lived in Kingston. We are from Toronto and didn't know the area at all. My friend knew we had a 7 month old and didn't hesitate to recommend the Ambassador due to the splash pad and swimming pool and how she had been treated in the past with her family.

The hotel was completely full directly through their site, but through tripadvisor I was able to use bookings.com to get a great rate on a queen room.

We arrived at the hotel and weren't disappointed. It was close to the hwy 401 and gave us easy access to the waterfront in Kingston. Check in was fast and trouble free and the gentleman at the desk was very helpful - can't remember his name! He was able to get us a playpen and fridge for our daughter within minutes of us getting to our room as the housekeeping staff didn't have in the room at the time of check in.

Pool and splashpad were great for our little one. Not too busy. They didn't have towels at first, but they brought some fresh ones in no time.

Room was clean which is all we can ask for. We had the traditional guest room with one queen booked, but were given the 2 bed traditional which I'm glad we got. Front desk guy offered us a second floor room at first, but he recommended the first floor room as it would be easier with the baby. We were glad we took the first floor one. Room was ok and had the basics.

Breakfast buffet was good. Had all the basics that anyone could ask for. Bacon, eggs, sausage, cereal, toast, etc. Servers were great.

All in all we had an excellent time at the hotel and it made our first night away from home with our baby a very easy one. Maybe it helped that our daughter smiles at everyone she sees and everyone was so nice at this hotel, but I'm sure they are always nice!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone with young kids as it has everything you might want. Close to the highway, close to restaurants (Tim Hortons!), close to grocery stores (we needed swimming diapers!) and close to downtown. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Newfee..thank yoiu very much for posting your comments.. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time during your recent visit.

We do hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing