We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome time for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Moonstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time for families!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We planned a family get together with all our cousins and had an awesome time. The kids just loved the pool and waterslides. The price was good, good value for the money. Service was friendly, couldn't have asked for much more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    929
    694
    352
    123
See reviews for
1,443
543
94
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staff are lovely, rooms are lovely and the location is perfect.

I run a business in town and frequently have people come to visit. When they do, I tell them to stay here. Consistently wonderful. We have used them many times and will continue too. I even used it as a night away for my fiance and I. Beautiful spa in the room and great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On business, stayed for two nights, fifth floor suite, room was very nice. Only problem was the new movie system resulted in remotes that were unresponsive. One call to the front desk and a service man was there with universal remote that solved the problem. Food was excellent, as was the staff, in particular the front desk crew. Work desk was large, chair was adjustable and comfortable, not the usual the case in most hotels, and easy access to wireless service which was another plus.

After many years of staying downtown, the free parking, and the proximity to my destinations was a bonus.

Had all the amenities we needed, and then some.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The fifth floor rooms come with fridge included the room rate, but don't stay in the rooms that face the pool. There's no window to the outdoors, and you're a victim to the noise of the pool and any banquets/weddings happening on the concourse below the rooms. And bring a power bar - all the available outlets are already in use with lamps. The furniture and linens were new and nice; the carpet needed a really good vacuuming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were visiting and even though all hotel rooms are always very expensive anytime, we chose the Ambassador this time as our favourite place was booked. We stayed on the 6th floor in a king room that was said to newly updated. Well it did not feel that way. While some of the furnishings were, there was stains on the carpet, dust hanging off the vents and it had a used feel about it. Yes the checkin was friendly and there is lots of parking, but security is not the greatest. You are supposed to swipe your room card to gain entrance to the 6th floor but that aspect did not work in the elevators. In fact one, maid said it seldom works. The entrance doors and there are many to the place, are open to everyone so people off the street can come and go. On saturday morning at 7:30 the fire alarm was set off by a child. The hotel was full of sports teams. So we had to go down 6 flights and that is hard when one has disabilities. Upon inquiring on checkout saturday, what the cause of the alarm was, the person at reception did not even apologise, just laughed it off and said I was I kid hater. Then stated - be glad you know the alarm works. I was not impressed with his arrogant and insulting attitude and will not go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for letting me know that you were not completely delighted during your recent visit to the Ambassador.. Please accept my sincerest apology. I hope that you will contact me at your leisure so that I can make this up to you on your return visit.

Hope you have a fantastic week!

Yours truly;

Venicio Rebelo
General Manager
613 541 4676 Direct Line
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed two and a half nights at the Ambassador last week while attending a College reunion and was very satisfied. After a 12 hour overnight drive we were able to check in at 4 a.m. and were charged a 1/2 day rate. Thanks to the front desk staff who suggested this option when I called after a change in travel plans! Room was small (I believe it was called an "Economy Queen") with 1 Queen bed. All was neat and clean. Attended a banquet in one of the conference rooms and buffet food was very good. Lots of free parking. Impressed to see an electric vehicle recharging station! Didn't use any of the other amenities but the indoor water park seemed to be very popular!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight while in Kingston for hockey. It is an easy trip to the Invista Rink.
Check-in was quick, and we were very happy to find our room was available before the stated check-in time of 4pm.
It's a short drive to downtown, not much in the area right around the hotel. Also there are train tracks that run right by the hotel, but I only heard the whistle once while we were there. I didn't notice it through out the night, and I am usually a light sleeper.
The pool area and waterslide are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gta-hockey-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
280 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing