We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

No major surprises on either extreme, good or bad. The hotel met expectations and is not far from the highway or any attraction in Kingston. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Kids were not overly impressed with the water park and I would consider it a nice perk but not one to base the selection on. Small water slide and a pool is all the water park is. Breakfast buffet is typical hotel fare and one may consider it overpriced for what you get, after the first day we went elsewhere. In summary, you wont't be overly excited about staying here but maybe more importantly, you will not be disappointed in the service, rooms or the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    960
    713
    361
    132
See reviews for
1,480
555
95
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was so impressed with this hotel when I stayed here last summer that I chose to book it for my return trip to Kingston. Reading the reviews since the previous one I left, it seems guests were not happy with how far the property is from Downtown Kingston. To me, this is not an issue. Kingston has public transit and Taxi's so that's always an option. For those who are in transit along the 401 and need a place to stay overnight, the hotel is close by from the exit.

The reason why I like this hotel is because of the value you get and still have a clean room and comfortable bed to sleep on. The initial room I checked into had a malfunctioning AC unit so I called front desk to have it looked at and few minutes later, maintenance came to inspect it, and reported it to front desk who were great in moving me to a next room without hassle. What could of been a negative was quickly dealt with. (Thank you Kevin!)

Since I'm not fond of having a lot of kids take over the pool area, I like how there's a period for an Adult only swim (10:30-11:00pm) and the duo hot tubs, steam room and dry sauna is great to use following a dip in the pool. I can see why many hockey teams would book this hotel during tournament season. I understand to others, having that many kids stay could effect the quality of their stay which is why I would be weary of booking this hotel during some of the winter weekends. (Ask first if there's hockey tournaments in Kingston that weekend)

The Channel selection on TV is more than adequate (40 channels), and the bathrooms were spotless, functioning and well supplied. While It's a 5-10 minute car ride to downtown Kingston, this hotel still gets full marks for quality & value.

I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanTraveller420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great price, friendly staff, room seemed to have been recently redone. Didn't use the pool but it looked good. Only negative--the two large insects I found on the wall and desk. Not sure what the were, but they left me unnerved.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I tried to book a hotel in Kingston and actually had two hotels booked, one for Friday night, one for Saturday. As I was visiting the city with four grandchildren under 11, the thought of changing hotels was daunting especially after the original 4 hour drive to get here.
The Ambassador happened to have vacancy for the 2nd night so, after cancelling the other hotel, the front desk staff went out of their way to put me into a room that I could stay in for the two days. Apparently soccer tournaments are causing the lack of availability.

The room was extremely clean, well appointed, with lots of pillows on comfortable beds and clean plush bedding.

I would classify this hotel as a mid to higher end in price range, but the quality of the rooms combined with the reception staff and the waterpark (for the grandkids), makes the price well worth it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spectacular but for approximately $10 more, you get a sleep number bed. I chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filickar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a friendly greeting and the room was large and clean. It was a drive to the centre of kingston though-difnitely not walking distance. However we only stayed one night and didn't find it much bother. The dinner at the hotel was average and unless you drive into kingston you don't really have a choice. On the plus side there was a pool and a little games room.For a short stop over it really did serve it's purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
247 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We we're there on our way to Toronto and because we wanted to do the 1000 islands boottrip in Gan. If that is your case, this hotel is perfect.
If you're there because you want to visit Kingston, don't. It is simply too far away.
Staff is very helpfull and the rooms are clean and big enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank VierDeVakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

found that the place was out of the way. long distance to the downtown area. lots of mosquitos in the early evening. Service was great and room was very comfortable. no view of anything. wish there had a been a small fridge in room. would not book again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing