We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Thought this hotel offered everything I was looking for, great beds, clean rooms, pool was nice as well. The only thing it was not as close to downtown as I would of liked. But cant go wrong with this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeanniechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    283
    87
    27
    17
See reviews for
225
398
42
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for Valentine's Day in the "Flights of Fantasy" suite this past week and we had a wonderful, romantic time. While this may be a Best Western, it is by far nicer than any Best Western I have stayed in, and the room itself..well, it was beyond comparison!

The room was pretty expensive at $330 CDN a night, but the wife had wanted to stay here for a while and it was to be a nice treat...and what a treat it was.

The particular suite we stayed in has an actual hot air balloon for a bed! If you're wondering how this works, you can see in the photos. This is a 2 storey suite with the bathroom and bed on the first floor, a little sitting area and fireplace half way up, and the main living area, whirlpool, kitchen area and sauna (!) on the second floor. There are other similarly appointed suites in the hotel, such as "Tranquility Base" which is a space themed room where you sleep in a lunar lander or the "Lord and Lady" room that is done up in a very regal theme and has a real Rolls Royce for a bed. Quite posh!

Check in went well although no real special treatment was given to us just because we were staying in a +$300/night room from the desk clerk, not that I expected any. The suite package included a "complimentary" welcome basket with snacks and wine as well as free breakfast in the upscale Stephan Bistro in the hotel. The fantasy suites are in a separate wing dedicated to themselves and require a room key to access this corridor. I can only assume that it requires that it will only allow access to guest staying in one of those suites, naturally, which meant lots of privacy. No screaming hockey teams running down the hallway.
Entering into the foyer of the room, a wonderful bathroom is found off to the left. Here you will find an over sized marble shower with double shower heads (use your imagination), heated marble floors, a telephone, bathrobes and a TV!

Moving further inside, we find the magnificant balloon bed. We found the bed very comfortable but were a little surprised that it was only a double. however, when you consider the whole balloon theme, a queen or king bed might look a little too large. Besides, this is supposed to be romantic, so snuggle! Another little surprise can be found by looking up into the balloon from the bed...there was another TV! I don't know how much television you'll be watching while you're in this room, however my wife likes to fall asleep with the TV on, so that was nice for her. There are controls for the lights for the entire suite in a console beside the bed, along with a telephone, so you never have to leave bed if you don't want to! Another nice touch is the very subtle sound of a balloon burner firing every once in a while. It's not very loud and it took us a while to realize what it was. You may never even notice it.

The fireplace was in a bit of an awkward place on a landing on the stairs and we didn't really use it, even though it was quite cold and in the middle of the worst snow storm of the year. Note that EVERY room, even the cheapest ones, have fireplaces in them, hence the name "Fireside Inn".

Upstairs was fantastic. Here, our welcome basket was waiting for us. Up here was also a big screen TV, the whirlpool and the sauna, all of which we took full advantage of and enjoyed very much.

Of course, we ordered room service. It was good, but a little disappointing since the food came from their casual dining side "Tom's place" rather than the much nicer "Stephan Bistro", therefore there was pretty much only fried foods, burgers and sandwiches and rather overpriced I might add. I wouldn't have minded paying $50 for dinner if it was something other than a beef au jus sandwhich and a chicken wrap. Then again, I didn't ask if it was possible to get something sent from the other restaurant. That being said, the food was very good. When room service came, we received a complimentary bottle of champagne, which I thought was nice.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay. I can not emphasise enough that this in a LARGE suite. It is at least as big as our condo we used to have and that was about 750 Sq ft. The only downsides I can think of are the price of the room (with no discounts available at all and is the same price year round, mid week or weekend) and room service. However, if you're coming here to this suite, you probably already know that there is no price too high for an unforgetable evening, and the Best Western Fireside Inn will not disappoint.

  • Liked — Living the suite life, baby!
  • Disliked — Room was expensive (but worth it) and room service was overpriced.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank slc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Fireside hotel on the 2nd August 2006 in a suite. A mid-sized hotel with ample parking. The room was out of this world. Our room was cosy and very spacious, It reminded me of a lodge,rustic reds,burgandy and cream coloured furniture. The Room had a warm feeling to it with tasteful room decoration.Our room had a lounge area,kitchen, jacuzzi and seperate bedroom ! Minutes away from Kingston harbour & Town. We stopped at Kingston en-route to Montreal, This is a truly beautiful town with a really nice harbour ( I wished we stayed longer). This was certainly the best hotel we have stayed at in Ontario,and recommend it to anyone. Ive seen some bad reviews on this hotel and thought "what are they talking about". If you like upmarket hotels - you'll like the Fireside ! The Staff was very friendly & helpful,and I asked why this was not a 5 star hotel, they replied "because we don't do valet parking" !! This is stupid,this hotel was far better than some Toronto & Montreal 5 Star Hotels Ive stayed in.



  • Liked — An amazing Room, Free Parking, helpful staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and stay in the Fantasy Room !
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DSM533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Wow we where there in May for our 7th anniversary, and we got an excelent service, dosn't matter witch room you have, you will be serve well.

We had the Northern Light suites witch is the best room I have even seen. Hugh bath, nice and cozy room. Room service is really good and the food is good as well. Try it its a real treat for your love.

  • Liked — Service, the room they have all kind of speciality room.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank maryse1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Very large, clean rooms but we found them too dark and oppressive. Teenagers did not like the hotel at all. The rooms probably come into their own during the winter months. We also thought it would be within walking distance of Kingston Harbour but it is not. Of all the hotels we stayed in during our 2 week holiday, this is the one we were most disappointed with - we felt it was a bit expensive and the least friendly - perhaps we caught them on an off day.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton , England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

The reviews describe this hotel accurately. More ornate and lavishly furished than most similar hotels it must be very cosy in the cold weather. We ate dinner in the bar and breakfast in the restaurant and food was good and service quick and attentive. Staff friendly and helpful. Only one minor gripe : the pay as you go internet terminal is a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GarryJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

This was a cute property. The rooms are decorated very nicely. The pool was neat and clean. The front desk staff was polite and courteous. It was conveniently located and easily accessible.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — bed size
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank joyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Property: Best Western Fireside Inn
Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing