We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not sure!”
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Very large, clean rooms but we found them too dark and oppressive. Teenagers did not like the hotel at all. The rooms probably come into their own during the winter months. We also thought it would be within walking distance of Kingston Harbour but it is not. Of all the hotels we stayed in during our 2 week holiday, this is the one we were most disappointed with - we felt it was a bit expensive and the least friendly - perhaps we caught them on an off day.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    282
    87
    27
    17
See reviews for
224
398
42
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton , England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

The reviews describe this hotel accurately. More ornate and lavishly furished than most similar hotels it must be very cosy in the cold weather. We ate dinner in the bar and breakfast in the restaurant and food was good and service quick and attentive. Staff friendly and helpful. Only one minor gripe : the pay as you go internet terminal is a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GarryJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

This was a cute property. The rooms are decorated very nicely. The pool was neat and clean. The front desk staff was polite and courteous. It was conveniently located and easily accessible.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — bed size
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank joyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We had a nice large non-smoking room. Complimentary water was appreciated as it was very warm when we passed through Kingston. Comfortable beds, room safe, and a nice sitting area by the fireplace. This was more than I expected. The one thing the hotel lacked was an elevator to 2nd floor, we had a lot of luggage as we were travelling across Canada.

We ate at Kelsey's next door. Good food! Helpful waitress directed us to a movie theatre.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — The light cover fixture in the bathroom kept falling down
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at Kelsy's.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

Stayed 2 nights on our honeymoon. The room was very nice - big pine canopy bed, country/outdoorsy feel (rich colours, wood decor, quilt, etc.). The gas fireplace was a nice touch. We would stay here again.

We did not eat at the hotel or take advantage of the entertainment, so I cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

10 Good reasons to stay here: 1. big comfy beds.2. gas fireplace with timer in each room 3. frig in room with real cream for the coffee (WOW - no whitener!) 4. Fantastic double-head shower head 5. lots of task lighting (that worked!) 6. Sofa in front of fireplace 7. Black and Decker coffee maker and china cups and real spoons - no plastic or styrofoam! 8. TV speaker in bathroom 9. Lots of shelving and storage - esp. in the bathroom 10. lighted makeup mirror 11. heat lamp 12. cable TV 13. In room safe 14. Lots of fluffy pillows 15. fullsize ironing board and iron 16. curved shower curtain rod that makes for a very spacious shower 17. big room with a large desk for working
Sorry - I couldn't stop. This was just a great place to stop in Kingston and I liked it so much I am planning to go back with the family in the next few months. Yes, it is pine furniture and green walls. But the comfort of the room and the size and the thought that went into the amenities really impressed me. I had driven from a dismal hotel in Hamilton the night prior and this really was a pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank settogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in November as we had stayed previously in 2000 and our experience then was great. This time it was not bad(stayed in worse but definitely much better as well)
We weren't impressed with our desk clerk at check-in. She imformed us we had to give a $500 damage deposit with our Credit Card refundable of course on check-out. We commented this seemed a little high for one night. She answered oh well that's the way it is. We asked about getting a cot for our second son and were informed none were available.
In order to reach our room we had to go around to the side of the building behind a dumpster and up some dingy stairs to our second floor room. Our room was adequate. It had a nice fireplace. The beds were comfortable enough but a little small. The bathroom was fine but quite small with only 2 towels. The decor in the room was made to be rustic looking. It was alright but getting outdated looking. The medium stained pine TV cabinet looked like something you'd have in a basement recroom.
I don't know maybe I'm too fussy, but I just found overall for the price($140) in off season, the hotel was a disappointment. Next time I'm in Kingston I'll definitely try a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Property: Best Western Fireside Inn
Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing