We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Fireside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn on numerous occasions, both for business and leisure. I first at the Fireside Inn several years ago while on a business trip and I was struck by the charm, warmth and comfort of the Canadiana room decor. My wife and I later honeymooned at the Fireside Inn and this year, we returned to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary. The charm, warmth and comfort still remains in the decor. It is complemented by very friendly and helpful staff. The Fireside Inn remains one of our first choices for a romantic getaway location with it's choices of accommodations ranging from fantasy and whirlpool suites although the standard room is equally romantic as all rooms are equipped with comfortable beds, chairs and each has a fireplace.

Room Tip: Hotel is completely smoke-free if that is important. We prefer the west side, second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    237
    76
    26
    16
See reviews for
192
340
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
313 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two different rooms here in the first week of September while dropping off our daughter at Queen's.

The hotel itself is old. Its been maintained but it definitely shows its age. The rooms were clean, the towels were clean, the linens and pillows were good. WiFi was free as was parking.

The staff were very nice and were accommodating when we needed to check out a day early.

The breakfast that was included was better than a lot of the 'included breakfasts' you get at just about every motel these days.

Location wise this is a great place to stay if you want quick (5 minutes or less) access to Queen's.

I might stay here again - I might try somewhere else. It was fine but I think I'd be inclined to try some place a bit newer and fresher.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
246 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is located by Princess Street but way out of town. This would be perhaps its main drawback – you need taxi or car to get to downtown.

The venue is full of character and built as a lodge. The rooms are decorated in old-fashioned style yet this is part of its charm – the place has an intimate and friendly atmosphere. Unlike the soulless chain hotels by the lake.

Breakfast is reasonably varied – have a go at the waffle machine for own-made waffles. Over the two days, however, the menu has not changed so it could get monotonous over longer stays.

There is medium-sized outside pool and few lounges. Access is to the left of the bar.

There is free internet access for the guests.

We had a dinner at the Bistro Stefan at the hotel. The food was tasty and reasonably priced and the jovial atmosphere was greatly enhanced by bubbly Megan.

Try its wood panelled bar for a night cap and a great atmosphere.

If you are a light sleeper avoid odd-numbered rooms starting from 201 to 213 (presumably the same on the lower floor) for the constant hum coming from the engine building on that side of the hotel. In any case rooms on this side are smaller.

Room Tip: Room 200 has a huge king-size bed with a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this hotel, and had a very relaxing and pleasant experience. The front desk attendants were very attentive and helpful. Our room was very clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was okay - would have liked a vanity instead of just a sink - not a lot of room for toiletries. Pool area was quiet, and the waitresses were very attentive for food and drink. The pool was refreshing - not heated. The breakfast was very good - if you are only there for 2 days...after 4 days of the exact same menu, it was very boring. If they could change it every other day, that would have been acceptable. Not a bad stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriel1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in an 'ordinary' room for that hotel for our anniversary, took the romantic getaway package and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and breakfast in bed (the latter was part of our package.) The service was great, they know how to make sure you enjoy your stay. Very much enjoyed the meals and the Friday night oysters. Another couple usually stay there for their anniversaries and they showed us their Tranquility Base room. Wow! We have to do this again! And the hotel is not far from the 401 highway, gas at low prices west along Princess Street (highway 2) and the Via station if you don't wish to drive. Downtown is easy to access along Princess Street but you need a car or taxi. Don't know about transit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good hotel overall. Be careful with the swimming pool if you have children. There is a suction pipe where the children can get hurt if they get close to it. It is on the wall of the swimming pool and it is easy for them to touch it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Csanchez R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only one night, but I wish it could have been longer. The hotel has a fireplace in each room, Fantasy Rooms that have to be seen to believe, a huge bar, outside swimming pool, a Bistro and this all included a free breakfast of hot and cold items. Superb. Our room had a huge King Size bed and very comfortable. And the room was huge. The wonderful decor and ceramics in the room gave it the super finishing touches. We will have to go back again and I would love to choose a Fantasy Room. The hotel is approx in the centre of the City and close to everything, shopping, boat tours through the Thousand Islands and Dinner Cruises as well. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and all in all I would definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for making our short stay there a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had Suite 200 overlooking the pool and you also have the bar access from the pool. Very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedlog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Kingston
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Property: Best Western Fireside Inn
Address: 1217 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing