We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our stay here. We had a free night complementary thanks to Best Western promotional "stay 3 nights get a free night" this past winter. So, we expected to get that room which is rented last but to our surprise and delight our room was an upgraded suite. The room was a one bedroom with hot tub and fireplace. It was extremely comfortable, quiet and clean. We had a wonderful sleep which is not always possible staying in a hotel. The hotel is a short drive to all the action downtown or take a taxi for a very reasonable price. The staff was very friendly and helpful - cannot say enough about them. The continential breakfast was great with a good variety of items - something for everyone. The pool area is very peaceful and clean. We did not enjoy the dining room or the pub only because of lack of time. If we are back in the area we will definitely stay here again and extend our stay. We would say while in Kingston, stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1jo471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Fireside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is an older building but it has been upgraded and provides all the modern amenities. Definitely nicer than the normal chain hotel experience. Our bed was a king size 4 poster. The room was much bigger than normal. The bathroom is modern. The buffet breakfast included was the best we've seen.

The dining area looks like you are in a northern lodge with stuffed animal around the log walls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryKinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay in the BW Plus Fireside Inn this past Monday. Online, I reviewed all the rooms and even a regular room showed soooo nice, they all have fireplaces. Do to circumstances, we ended up with one of their Fantasy Suites, the Susie Wong Suite.
One of the BW staff escorted us to our suite. The area of the hotel, where all the Fantasy Suites are, has a separate enterence card lock door. Up a set of stairs, opening the door, we stepped into a most interesting hallway. A tall black stand with painted loctus blooms and leaves are eye catching. There is a sumie (Japanese style painting)picture of cranes and grasses.
A circle frame doorway welcomes you into the main suite.
Oh, my _ _ _. The suite was beautiful. We felt like CathyPacific airlines dropped us in the middle of one of Toyko's fancy hotels...The decorator earned her pay. The only thing missing was light playing Japanese music in the background, and white slippers (since shoes are not worn inside Japanese homes).
The area above the fireplace mantle, looks like the roof of a pagoda, with interesting carved sitting chairs to enjoy the fire. The window covering was enhanced with a beautiful painted screen. The walls are adorned with paintings, and beautiful gold fans. The main television housed in a flowerprint wallpaper, wall unit flanked by two vases. Two comfortable chairs and 3 individual tables face the television. The iron/board and suitcase rack are hidden behind a huge, beautiful painted screen. The mini refrigerator is hidden in a hand painted cabinet and the dresser equally as beautiful are both made of wood. The large 6 person jacuzzi tub is half surrounded with multiple steps, ideal for sitting on while conversing with bathers. The washroom is large and also nicely decorated. The third television hangs over the sink, the phone is within reach while sitting on the 'john'. The shower with its 'rain head', extra large space and glass door is very inviting. The two white bathrobes are a welcome addition for travelers with limited luggage space. Now the bed area. The queen size bed was comfortable, under a Japanese canopy. Above the headboard was another beautiful painted screen of people. The bed was flanked by two night stands. The second television is here. The suite is beyond beautiful.
The reception and housekeeping staff was helpful and friendly. We spent 1/2 hour beside the
secluded pool area, complete with number of comfortable lounges, table under a canopy, and best of all, the restaurant/bar of the hotel, provided excellent caesar drinks.
The following morning, 6:30-10:00a.m. an excellent buffet breakfast was provided. And if hotel guests wanted to invited others to breakfast there was a $12.95 charge. Usually, 'others' - non guests are not allowed to the breakfast area.

The main negative remark: trouble connecting with the BW 'fireside' wifi. One of the local internet provider's signal was very strong and interfered with BW wifi....I was assured that the hotel is working on this problem...

Room Tip: Do your homework, to chose a regular room or pay a little extra for fantasy room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justretiredbogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our 34th wedding anniversary. Stayed in one of the "fantasy suites". It was a fantasy, all right! We were amazed at the detail. All staff were friendly and helpful. Unfoturnately we did not have time to enjoy the pool area, which looked very nice. Overall we loved it. Will be back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and staff in one of the fantasy suites...well worth it
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleSPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We brought a group of 19 motorcycles to the Inn for one night, and had such a great experience that we ended up coming back for a second night at the end of our trip. The customer service was excellent, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast was great, and both the dining room and pub had good food and good service. We had safe parking for our motorcycles, and a really good experience by all riders! Thanks Kingston!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at the Fireside Inn was very short. We were at the hotel for less than 8 hours. Our overall opinion of the hotel was that it was in very good shape. Princess St is very busy. However, the rooms are set well back from the road. We had been upgraded to a whirlpool suite. Arriving just before midnight and leaving early in the morning, I don't think our neighbours would have appreciated us using it. The suite was very large. The bedroom had a comfortable king size bed. The living room had the whirlpool, and a three seat chesterfield which probably made a bed. The was a fireplace. My overall opinion of the room is that it did not quite achieve what it was aiming for. The coziness was tinged, and missed the mark. Our complementary breakfast was excellent. It is one of the few breakfasts where the hot food selections were actually hot. If we return to the Kingston area, and needed a hotel, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

great experience. after a long miserable week in a different city and different hotel the level of quality and service was even more appreciated. i travel a lot and i dont believe i will ever book anything but a best western in the future

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $124 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing