We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn in Kingston. The hotel was very convenient
to the highway and to the downtown area. Both the restaurant and Toms Place - a smaller lounge area were great.
The complimentary breakfast was also great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
All in all, it was a great place to stay and we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you making us aware of the pleasant stay you recently experienced at our hotel. It is comments like yours that help maintain the excellence that we are always striving to achieve. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    273
    84
    27
    16
See reviews for
218
388
42
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a work trip and I was pleasantly surprised by an offer to upgrade to one of their "theme" rooms. I chose Flights of Fantasy and slept in a hot air balloon. The room also had a large living room area with hot tub and sauna. I was able to get work done comfortably in the room and of course, I can't wait to go back with my spouse. I also learned that they were replacing mattresses in the hotel just before my arrival and the bed turned out to be heavenly! The onsite pub and restaurant are an added bonus! Crystal at the front desk is quite pleasant and remembered us even though we had last stayed a year ago - great service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a thoughtful review. We take pride in providing exceptional service to our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the Flights of Fantasy suite, as the artful inspiration of the Fantasy Suites is what makes Best Western Plus Fireside Inn unique. If you didn't have a chance to check out our other Fantasy Suites, you will have come back and try them! We hope to see you again should your travels bring you to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great location. Pub is nice, charming, comfy. Reg. rooms are 'ok, but way overpriced!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beersz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Customer service, a clean room and a comfortable stay are high priorities for us. We feel that our 2 on-site restaurants, outdoor pool, business & fitness center, and complimentary breakfast buffet add value to our property, and we strive to ensure that we are competatively priced based on our services. We appreciate your input for future guests and understand how important review sites are for the decision making process. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We enjoyed the family feel to this hotel. Staff very good. The rooms were large,comforable & clean. The hotel itself is a bit dated but that added to the charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to have been your choice of residence for your inspiring anniversary and I will forward your kind remarks to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I'm from Kingston and have driven by many times and this was my first stay here and I must say I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a cabin look and feel and translates incredibly well to the room. It's a spacious room with a fireplace, couch, flat screen tv. The decor is more cabin-style but it works well with the fireplace. There's also a mini-fridge, safe and a Food Basics next door. Parking is free as is wifi and buffet breakfast (was good) and there's a nice pool and deck in the back. It,s in a convenient location - not too far from the highway or bus station (although, in Kingston it seems everything is less than 15 mins away). I understand there's some theme rooms too (outer space?) which could be fun too.

Overall, I though the place was great and very good value as well.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. As always, we aim to make sure our guests are as satisfied with their stay as possible. I am always pleased to hear such nice comments such as yours, and I look forward to sharing them with the rest of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, the manager upgraded our hotel room. The breakfast was excellent and the pool was lovely to lounge around and have a drink in the evening. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable, we had a very large jacuzzi in our room but didn't use it as the weather was hot, so we were able to go to the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgserytery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thanks you for leaving your review for other travelers to read. We really appreciate the effort it takes to share information and we are grateful to you. Thank you for your kind words about the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn, We pride ourselves on offering a fantastic product and service at the most competitive price. I'm sorry that you didn't get a chance to use the whirlpool but I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Yes, we were upgraded to the Whirlpool suite, (lovely!) as we are Best Western loyalty card holders - but we have stayed in some mediocre ones! This was not one of them! The "Hunting Lodge" exterior was quaint - but what matters to us is the cleanliness & service of any hotel- and Fireside could not be faulted on either. Even the corridors were clean, the bathroom spotless - & the service, from reception to servers in Tom's Place, efficient & so friendly - & thoughtful! I was on crutches at the time - the server opened the door to the restroom for me - it was heavy - & even waited just inside the restroom, to open it as I came out!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay at the Fireside Inn. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of your Whirlpool Suite. We take pride in the cleanliness and the service provided by our staff. Our team will be very happy to read your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Acres Inn
#6 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Property: Best Western Fireside Inn
Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing