We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Enjoyable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stopped for a day/night in Kingston to show my husband the city (had never visited) last August. We found the room to be lovely; impeccably clean, stylish, with great beds. The service was great. Overall I would recommend visitors to stay here. J&J Bird (Gulf Islands, BC)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review for your previous visit to our property. We really appreciate any feedback and use it as guide to consider various opinions in order to continuously improve our services. I would like to personally thank you once again for all your comments and hope to welcome you back once again in the near future to our lovely hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in Kingston for a business trip last month & stayed at the Best Western Fireside Inn.
It was a good decision.
My room had a fireplace & a great four poster bed.
The fireplace was excellent on a cold & snowy January night. The bed provided a night of peaceful sleep. Very comfortable.
The Best Western also provided a free breakfast.
I will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearless57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. We believe it is perks like complimentary breakfast, onsite business and fitness center, and free wifi that truly add value for our business travelers. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

First time at this hotel, the rooms are comfortable, interesting decor, beds are good, washroom was clean, nice shower head, fireplace is a nice touch but it did not give off any heat.Room could use some sound proofing, could hear doors closing and next room using washroom, but I have definitely had worse.
Front counter staff is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price, made to order, was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFireside, Front Office Manager at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We were very disappointed that we failed to offer you the true Fireside Inn experience. Making all our guests feel like they are staying in their "home away from home" is what we are about at the Fireside Inn. Please let me know if you would like to return and I will ensure that your booking is taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our first stay at this hotel was our first time in Kingston, back in 2002 (approx). Since then , we have been back multiple times and have always been pleased. The rooms are clean, cozy, and comfortable. Fireplace adds to the ambiance and the hot tub rooms are a nice option as well. We have never stayed in any of the "Fantasy Suites", so we can't comment on those. There are definitely cheaper places to stay in KIngston, but this is a good choice. The two on-site restaurants have different themes and menus, but both are quite good.
When we visit KIngston in summer, we tend to favor the waterfront area. In other seasons, the Best Western Fireside Inn is where you'll find us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We arrived after being on the road for 8 hours to find that the computers were down. We wanted to redeem our Best Western points and were told we had to book the room over the phone, never had to do that before! I called from the parking lot on my cell phone to find out that it cost 32,000 points I've never had to use more than 24,000. We should have left then but decided to spend the night and leave in the morning. I booked the room using a government discount.

The room was dark, the air conditioner was old and noisy, the bed seemed to be a regular double and not a queen. We were too tired to do more than just crash for the night.

In the morning we were surprised to discover that breakfast was not included because I used my government discount. Looking at the menu ($3.00 for a coffee) it would have been cheaper to pay the full price. I have travelled all over Ontario and the northern US and have never had to pay for breakfast at a Best-western.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyrell5506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The good thing about this place is that it has two restaurants.... a "pub" style venue and a more formal dining room, where they serve breakfast (included in my deal). So, no trogging around the empty wastelands to find somewhere to eat when you check in late!

They've made an effort to be different with the rooms, too, by putting an electric "flame effect" unit in the corner. Flat screen TV, fridge, reasonable bathroom.... clean.

I notice someone commented earlier on the bed.... I have to say, I did not manage to sleep in mine! I have no idea what it was, but I tossed and turned all night and could not drop off. Was it the bed? It felt a bit "hard", but not that bad... but I could just not get comfortable!

The staff were great, really welcoming without being "have a nice day" insincere!

All in all it felt a bit "cottagey", but that is no bad thing.

Just be warned, while the hotel is entirely smoke free (and it can be a long walk to the exit!!) they do allow pets. I have pets myself, and am glad to see hotels accommodate them. However, on this occasion I could have quite happily booted the mutt next door into the street as it would not stop barking, and the sound proofing isn't that good! Maybe that's why I couldn't sleep!

Room Tip: If you smoke, get a room near an exit! If you want to sleep, insist you're not next to a guest w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Rooms were large and clean. Reasonably priced. However, if given the choice, I would stay closer to the tourist areas by the water.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFireside, Director of Sales at Best Western Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Thank you, for taking the time to post to trip advisor, we appreciate your support and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $120 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing