We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view of the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Newtonville Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent view of the waterfront”
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Waterfront Holiday Inn for two nights last week. We were also there about this time last year. What attracted us to this hotel is the balconies overlooking downtown Kingston and Lake Ontario.The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Kingston and you are able to walk to many restaurants and shops.We had a room overlooking the lake on the 5th floor.The hotel is going through a major renovation right now and the room was great. New, clean, large LCD TV, comfortable king size bed, and a "heated bathroom floor". The staff that we encountered were very friendly and personable, saying good morning and inquiring as to our plans for the day, offering tips and suggestions. We did not eat in the hotel this trip but they have a restaurant on the 6th floor. We had a great lobster supper nearby at the Keg which we walked to. We felt perfectly safe walking around the downtown day and night. In two days and nights I only saw one person which I would describe as " homeless". A far cry from what you see in Toronto or other smaller cities in Southern Ontario. The hotel has a large outdoor pool and I believe indoor as well but we did not use either.The elevators are very small but worked quickly and we never had to wait a long time. This hotel is more expensive than others up by the highway, but you are paying for the location and the view. We stayed mid week and took advantage of their current Shades of Summer promotion. I see below complaints of the "doggie rooms'. We did notice an awful lot of dogs in the hotel area , not sure if they were all staying there. There was no evidence of any problems during our stay. I also read a review last year regarding the bird poop on the balconies. Yes we saw this last summer but last week our balcony was spotless. The outdoor parking costs $12.00 per day and there is a Tims right beside the lot. One disappointment is that their waterside outdoor patio/restaurant is temporarily closed for renovations.

The bottom line is, Yes, we had a great stay and won't hesitate to return.

Newtonville Dan

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewtonvilleDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    306
    192
    92
    46
See reviews for
250
299
24
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn many times in the past and were looking forward to our visit. I had booked a "pet room" as I was travelling with my small Pomeranian. What we did not expect was a a very dirty and smelly room. We did not mind the ground floor, although we could not access our patio - door was sealed closed. The room smelled of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The bathroom was small and filthy.

I was charged almost $250.00 for this room. It was not worth one penny. No breakfast included either.

Too bad as we like Kingston and were looking forward to the stay!

Service was okay, although some of the desk people were better than others and they had not recorded my Priority number even though I had booked on the Holiday Inn website and included the number on my reservation. Desk service very assembly line like.

I would never stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafleurfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston007, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. Our guests opinions and perceptions are vitally important to the success of hospitality promise. As there appears to be concern regarding your experience, I would like to review this with you to ensure these challenges do not reoccur. At your earliest convenience, please contact me directly at (800) 465-4329.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We've stayed at this hotel several times especially for its location. This time, after we had settled in for the evening, we found our TV wasn't working. The on-call night manager tried to fix it, but couldn't. He felt really bad, and gave us **several** incentives to make up for this small inconvenience, one of which was buffet breakfast in their rooftop restaurant. Nice view, restaurant is a little "worn", but rooms and hallways seem to be recently updated. Great bedding and pillows!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

This was my second stay in the hotel. I very much enjoyed my first stay, but after the major renovation that took place it even got better.

My room was really nice. Pretty much brand new throughout. This, combined with the great view I had, makes me want to come back again.

The hotel staff was as friendly as usual.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOften4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

It's not my first time in Kingston and went to this hotel before. Never took the time to write the review. The service is nice and the hotel have everything an average hotel should have; internet (wireless and cable), gym, restaurants, washer/dryer etc. The only thing is that you can notice that it is a bid old and need some updates. Not that is dirty but that some upgrades in the bathrooms for exemple couldbe done. The location is great as you can walk to the nice restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The hotel is overpriced in all ways, the room and the breakfast buffet.

The rooms are old and the carpet in the rooms are stained. The bed sheets are clean (no complaints). The price must be because of location but still I was not impressed.

The breakfast buffet...the fruit was not fresh, the croissant and other cold pastries wer not fresh. The hot food was just ok. The service was downright awful, no on came to offer us coffee when we sat down, and no one came to give us the bill, we had to ask for it when we were almost out the door.

If there is another choice of hotel please go elsewhere not worth the price at all.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the room, the food, and the staff was just OK
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank salvatore70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston007, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, January 26, 2009
Dear Salvatore 70,

Thank you so much for your very honest feedback. We are so excited to announce we have just completed a multi million dollar renovation that includes completely renovated guest rooms, hallways and various other locations around the hotel. Additionaly, we have reviewed your comments about the quality of Food & Beverage you received and have made several changes to ensure our usual high standards are maintained. The food and beverage staff have also been retrained to anticipate our guests needs to ensure complete customer satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback. Should your travel plans bring you back to Kingston, please contact me directly at 613-549-8400 for guest room reservations.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

The location was great, but for 225.00 a nite, this hotel was not worth it. Very run down, we had a dirty towel left out on the balconey,
the fridge was all sticky and crusty, and the brunch in the 6th
floor restaurant was mediocre at best. (30.00/for 2).We will
be coming to Kingston often now that we have a student living here, but will definatel;y stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price, run down hotel, and poor housekeeping.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewbieTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
924 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing