We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good - might be a better than average Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Food quite good. Staff very accommodating. Didn't use the pool or other facilities. Walking distance to many of the downtown attractions. Right at the Wolfe Island ferry.

Mayfly hatch was on so no one wanted to use the balconies but there is nothing the hotel can do about that.

I couldn't figure out the alarm clock but that's probably just me :)

Only down side - the elevators are extremely slow and very tiny for some reason. If you are mobility challenged you might want to choose a ground floor.

Room Tip: Both sides have a lake view. Upper are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear BeachandBeyond,

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is pretty key for any traveler coming to Kingston. It's nice to be located in the heart of this great city literally a hop skip and a jump from the so many restaurants, shopping and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 938 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

In town for a surprise party, we wanted a conveniently located hotel. The rooms were clean, if not fancy. Reasonably priced. Lovely bed covers. A dock for your iPhone, free basic wireless and a plug in for your laptop. Such comfy beds! We sank into the sumptuous pillows and slept like babies. Great location. Had a walk along the waterfront after a lovely breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. Many patrons took advantage of breakfast in the warm morning Sun at the outdoor tables. Lots of patios all around, where we sipped beers and margaritas. The only thing that could have been improved upon was the balcony had not been cleaned yet, after the winter so the chairs were pretty dirty. But who wants to sit out there, overlooking the parking lot, anyway, when there are so many shops to explore and restAurants and patios to visit?

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Maggie K,

Thank you for your comments! We always love to hear when guests enjoy their stay, and it looks like you did just that. We have deployed the balcony cleaning team to eradicate those pesky Mayflies so our wonderful guests can enjoy our balconies. i hope the surprise party was fun and we can't wait to have you back again!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Check-in staff was friendly. She looked up her list of available rooms and gave me a "cat. A" room for my booking class. As a result, I have room with a small balcony and a view of the dock and the lake.

Reasonable price for the room.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank nuboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear nuboy,

Thank you for your comments and patronage, we look forward welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A clean and comfortable hotel convenient for shops and attractions. Slightly worn around the edges so could be due for a guest room refurb soon. Staff helpful and pleasant. Breakfast buffet plentiful if limited - but,unusually for a chain hotel, included in the room rate. A decent place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Feckenhamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Feckenhamsters,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! I did read about your observations with regards to our rooms and as we strive to constantly improve, it is constructive feedback like this that motivates and gives us direction. We are continually upgrading our property and will take your advice into consideration. If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to email me at sfollwell@hikingstonwaterfront.com. . We look forward to your next visit with us, take care!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My son, his wife, my granddaughter and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Kingston, Ontario for 3 nights in May, 2014. The room was very clean, with plenty of fresh pillows and towels. We had a lovely view of the RMC grounds from our balcony, across the St. Lawrence. The location was greatly appreciated, as it took us less than 5 minutes to reach our daily destinations. The dining room was a great place to start the day, with a complete buffet breakfast. And, shopping along Princess St. was very convenient. Altogether, a much appreciated experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Joan M,

Congratulations to the RMC Graduate! Thank you so much for sharing your visit to Kingston. As you mentioned, location is a big factor that we have. Being close to RMC, the Wolfe Island ferry terminal, and our located in the heart of downtown is such a convenience for our guests. So thank you for sharing those notes and taking advantage of all that is around us! I am so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a typical holiday inn property. The thing that stood out for me was the EXCELLENT people they have. We were there for a hockey tournament and the hotel was full, but I noticed that the staff went over and beyond trying to help people find accommodations. Great pool area and once again the staff was great with the kids.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewwyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear dewwyy,

Thank you for appreciating our hotel associates and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our many hotel amenities. We look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is my go to hotel when I am in Kingston. Rooms have all be outfitted with new pillows which are fresh and feel great. I was completely flabbergasted upon check out when the Reservations Manager, Anna Marie was greeting guests a pleasant good bye in the early morning and she happened to notice a small cast on my hand from an injury. She immediately came over and commenced taking control of my luggage cart and without hesitation pushed the cart out to my vehicle and then proceeded to take my belongings and place them in my vehicle. I protested that I was fine but she would have none of it. I felt somewhat sheepish being a man and permitting a woman to do this but she told me that she was there to help. Talk about service. Anna Marie went way over and above what one would expect however all the staff are customer service oriented at this location. I know that they are sincere as just about every review refers to the friendly staff. I cannot say enough about how great the staff are. They are all gems. Thank you Anna Marie for making my life a little easier upon checking out.

Room Tip: Rooms have just been equipped with brand new king sized pillows of a great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegasguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear vegasguys,

Thank you so much for a great review! Anna Marie is certainly great while attending to guests needs. From all of us here, we hope your health improves and wish you a speedy recovery!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $113 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing