We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
$137
$124
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$218
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Motel 6 Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Acres Inn(Kingston)
$117
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$139
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
251
328
216
104
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
328
216
104
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor pooloverlooking the waterfront desk staffbuffet breakfastkingston waterfrontcity hallbit datedwolfe islandlake viewrestaurants and shopsheart of downtownprincess streetking roomstayed one nightyogurtbalconydox
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 955 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a little family getaway! We were very impressed with the rooms, cleaned, smelled good, everything worked (lights, tv, etc)! We enjoyed the pool and the staff in the restaurant were great! We had an amazing view from our room! Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel22B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Mel22B,

Thanks so much for your review! We do love what we do here for our guests, so I'm glad that it shows! We hope to have you and your family back again soon for another stay. Take care!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Waterfront in downtown Kingston. The hotel itself, while overpriced, was OK...not great, not bad. However, when I travel, which is fairly often, I rely on the availability of wireless internet services. This hotel advertises free wifi, which is really stretching the definition of both 'free' and 'wifi'. The basic connection was weak, unreliable, and cut in and out every few seconds. Of course, if you wanted to pay for wifi, you perhaps could have purchased a package that would provide more reliable service.
It was virtually useless - which was entirely inconvenient. So - if you are going for business, and are counting on using their internet services, I would look elsewhere. If you are going with your family, and they use the wireless internet at your hotel, I would similarly look elsewhere. If it's not a big deal to either access internet or you don't mind paying for it, then this would be an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_Braithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Jon_Braithwaite,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I will use your comments to assist with our future business planning sessions to improve guest experiences.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

What started out as anticipated as a great stay slowly deteriorated. I first must point out the two great positives of this hotel. Staff are exceptional in customer service and the location is fantastic. Was very impressed with the front desk staff who handle check-in with efficiency yet personalized service. Observed one employee expertly handling an upset customer over the price of the last room and the fact no discount being offered due to the fact many basketball teams in house the next two nights. She even assisted in trying to find alternative accommodation. Cannot beat the location on the edge of the water and accessibility to Princess street and its great bars, shopping and restaurants.
Unfortunately in our case, the rest of the stay does not live up to Holiday Inn standards. Room décor was nice but lots of areas showing age, poor workmanship and wear and tear. Tap in sink of bathroom was constantly running, Found lamp on one side of bed was broken. Called down to front desk was misunderstood as lightbulb being out, someone was at the door within 10 minutes with replacement. When explained switch was broken, a standing lamp was brought in as replacement and the next day a working table lamp was replaced.(impressive recovery). Same night at midnight, heating was not working. Security had to come up and reset, mentioned was second one that evening. Housekeeping did an adequate job though did not bother to make up the sofa bed. Pillows and towels are horrendous and bed was not comfortable for our liking. Friends of ours ate dinner at the restaurant as part of a group. They did not receive first drink until 45 minutes after arrival and entrees did not arrive until 11pm, over two hours after arrival. Compensation was offered by the hotel. The last item that dropped my rating to a 1 was that dreaded marketing fee tacked on to the bill. Though a common practice for a lot of hotels, I am vehemently opposed to this practice and feel there should be no such fee but at a minimum, full disclosure.(my total bill was only $3 higher than estimate provided on internet booking, but it is made to look like a tax when it is clearly a hotel budget item).
Pricing - at high end expect to pay $240 for last minute busy nights, $200 in advance for high occupancy dates and $140-$160 for groups or low occupancy nights.

Room Tip: Higher floor on water side
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear outbax

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but will use your comments for improvement in the areas you mention.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recently wrote a not so favourable review of the Kingston Holiday Inn Waterfront. The staff, location and room view were excellent. However, the high room price versus the quality of the room and the ongoing noise from a hotel full of young hockey players was disappointing. I now realize the high room rate was because the hotel was almost sold out due to the hockey tournament. I should have called the hotel to book instead of using the internet and would have then probably learned about the hockey tournament. Upon reading my review the Manager, Mr. Follwell, personally contacted me to discuss my concerns. The fact that he took the effort to follow up is greatly appreciated. That type of service and concern is rare these days. I have previously had wonderful stays at this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: corner rooms offer a great surround view of the water.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi gary d,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It was a pleasure speaking with you yesterday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Was in Kingston for a hockey tournament recently and this was the hotel the team was given by the organizers. Well located downtown close to restaurants and services. Staff very friendly and polite and go out of their way to be of assistance. Though hotel appears to have undergone some renovations a few features need to be addressed. Our room was adequate for our needs but furniture was a bit tired, scratched, and stained. Lounging chair was worn on the armrest with a piece of hard plastic protruding which caused us to scratch our wrist on a few occasions. Mattress had seen better days. It had two wear patterns and a raised centre. not at all comfortable for a good night sleep. Pillows were small and not consistent with a king size bed. Breakfast buffet was overpriced for what was offered and some items lukewarm. Better option is menu as food comes hot and is less pricey. The hotel has a nice spa area but locating the fitness room in the pool area is crazy. Who would treadmill or do weights with the very high humidity and chemical smell? An issue arose with parents who wanted to checkout on Saturday rather than Sunday. As the tournament was from early Friday morning to Sunday, most parents booked for 3 nights starting Thursday. As the team was not to play on Sunday parents wanted to checkout Saturday thus paying for only 2 nights. The hotel said they could leave on Saturday but would be charged for Saturday night nonetheless as the booking was for 3 nights. No parent was made aware of this policy when booking. Parking was $14.00 a night plus tax. Just cannot understand the logic. When the room charge is in excess of $150.00 a night why charge for parking, just comp it like most other hotels. All in all would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Robert C

Thank you for your feedback on opportunities for improving our guest experience. We apologize for your disappointment with your guestroom and breakfast buffet and assure you that your comments have been shared with our team in order to address items mentioned. I am pleased to note the politeness and friendliness of staff met your satisfaction otherwise.

We do regret that you felt your experience with us did not meet your expectations.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews