We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a really solid place to stay in Kingston. Free wireless (although $14 / day for parking). It is generally unadorned but good quality, i.e., great beds, pillow choices, spacious room, balconies, fridge in room, coffee maker (marginal coffee), everything you really need. Breakfast was not included but was reasonably priced and good quality. Stayed here twice recently, previously stayed at the 4 Points. Of the two, I really preferred this hotel. Very good staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear SimplyGreen,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. I am glad to hear you have chosen us as your Kingston destination hotel! We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    287
    180
    86
    44
See reviews for
239
285
24
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Hotel has a great location, right on the water. The rooms were average. The hot/cold water in the shower was touchy - I reduced the volume and it went cold. However, the hotel staff was excellent - very friendly, understanding and knowledgeable of the city and its entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Ken B,

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It's always nice to hear compliments on our great staff. While I have not heard personally of the situation you encountered with our hot/cold water, i will investigate further with our Maintenance Department to ensure all is functioning as intended. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manger
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langbank, Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent nigh on a week here in a room overlooking the river. Just yards from the city hop on hop off tour bus and also the cruise river boats, yards away at the next pier. Close to the Wolfe Island ferry (free even for cars) which is worth a visit. Make sure you go to Fort Henry, the Penitentiary Museum and Bellevue House. And join a 1000 Island Cruise but give the lunch on the mid day cruise a miss!

A 'comfortable' hotel with excellent facilities. Restaurant not much to write home about but satisfactory. Breakfasts very good indeed. A very pleasant stay altogether.

Room Tip: River view rooms worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senex-sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear senex-sum,

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems that you experienced Kingston's various attractions. Our guest services team are pretty up to date on the happening spots in Kingston. Thank you for taking time to write such a great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband stayed here for work for 4 weeks and had great service by many staff. One particular staff member named Holly-Marie was very friendly and helpful. Thank you Holly-Marie !! GREAT job ............................ I stayed for two nights as well and highly recommend this hotel. The breakfast buffet was terrific and the waitresses were friendly and the chef too. Thanks for a terrific time ...we will be back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: upgrade to water view to see the boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mythreekiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear mythreekiddies,

Hollie-Marie is definitely a hospitality ambassador!! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am a former Kingston resident and am familiar with this property since my childhood. I return regularly when in town for family and business. It's up to date with full amenities. All staff are always extremely friendly and fully accommodating. Of mention this stay for outstanding service are JD Firth, Rahim Bhimji, Christina, Brandon and Patricia (Pat). The views, location (overlooking Crawford Wharf) and rates make this a first rate property in Kingston. They are kid and pet friendly. The restaurant lead by Chef Jeff is very good and has a wide, varied and delicious menu. Try out the Mushroom Croustade! Room service is available till 11. CAA AAA rate, usually includes complimentary full breakfast buffet until 10:30a.m. each day. This is an excellent property which is run by a keen and thorough management team that instill customer service in their great and enthusiastic staff. I keep coming back. I would never understand any review that would be less than stellar for this property. If you ever need anything extra at this property or something isn't up to par, the staff here will always make it right.

Room Tip: Get a King Waterfront room overlooking Crawford Wharf. Take your bathing suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingstonian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Kingstonian63,

Greetings from a warm and sunny fall morning in Kingston. Thank you for this lovely review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have so many awesome folks that work here; they are so much fun to have on the team, and they love to create memorable guest experiences. We always strive for guests feeling like they made some new friends during their stay with us. Hopefully we see you for your next getaway where we can introduce you to some incredible Kingston spots!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Kingston has a lot to offer and this hotel is prime location. Holly-Marie was very helpful and informative. The rest of the staff was also very accommodating! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vespa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear vespa52,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Hollie Marie is one of our superstars here, and I'm so glad that she was able to make your stay memorable! We look forward to future experiences with you!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manger
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed one night with a King room package deal which included breakfast and parking. This is an older hotel whose hallways are low and in need of some updating, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we really enjoyed sitting out on our balcony overlooking the harbour and the Wolfe Island wind turbine farm. Parking was easy with in and out privileges. Breakfast was good with both hot and cold choices. Our waitress was extremely pleasant and helpful, as were the staff in general. We used the indoor pool and hot tub, which were okay, although they had that 'end of season' feel (one of the jets didn't really work in the hot tub and there was a little bit of grime on the pool wall--not enough to be off-putting.) The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of Kingston's best restaurants and attractions. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155004Nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear 155004Nellie,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review! As much as we love hearing the great comments, its the constructive ones that help us with where we want our hotel standards to be. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility and hope that you try us out again!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Wtaerfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.1 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#29 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Address: 2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing