We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is situated in a superb location when visiting Kingston, Ontario and participating in various activities, namely the Limestone City Blues Festival or Canada Day. Great access to marvelous restaurants, pubs and shopping. Park your car and leave it there because you really won't need it. Stroll the waterfront, take a boat cruise, take a dinner cruise and on it goes. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Make sure your not located over the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hi GerryH_11,

"....Stroll the waterfront, take a boat cruise, take a dinner cruise and on it goes..." you have captured downtown Kingston in the summer perfectly. Thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 934 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came in this hotel on Saturday 20th July 2013..thus, very busy.
Kingston is a very nice touristic place, the location of the hotel is perfect, mind the parking lot which becomes full very quickly on week-ends !
I would rate this hotel average +, nothing really wrong but nothing execiting except the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear ThorTheHague-Paris ,

Thank you for staying with us in July. Kingston is truly a great town to vacation in and we look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Located downtown on Kingston's waterfront, we could walk to many attractions and restaurants. Gorgeous patio with unique menu options. Impressive service and exceptionally clean rooms. This is our place to go in kingston and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdubgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear vdubgirl14

Thank you for sharing your comments! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Being centrally located, we find that guests are happy not having to travel far to see the sights of Kingston. Hopefully we will see you again for your next Kingston adventure!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right on the lakes edge, hence we gathered the reason it seemed to be a little overpriced.

However, the hotel is very clean throughout, we had a good spacious room overlooking the harbour, with a safe and free Wifi.
The car parking at this hotel was the cheapest we found on our whole trip to Canada.
The breakfast was very good and had the additional benefit of providing a free viewing of the local chipmunks frolicking about outside.

If you get the chance, get out to Lemoine Point conservation area with some monkey nuts and sunflower seeds and you will be able to meet the wildlife up close, chipmunks and black squirrels eating from your hand along with many varieties of bird and if really lucky as we were, the chance to see one of the stags that live there.

Would certainly choose this hotel again if we ever get the chance to return back to Kingston.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Spoons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Spoons123,

This is a great review to read! Glad you were entertained with the surroundings and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Little disappointed, small rooms and over priced. When booking staff really friendly over the phone but on arrival hardly three words, name, credit card and here is your room key. House keeping staff should be told that the private baloney is part of the room......plastic chairs dirty and wet. Spider webs everywhere. Would not stay there again........Best Western much older hotel but less than half the price........wished we had a stuck with the old stand by instead of trying something new.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear rocky5252,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Please accept my sincere apologies for the condition of your balcony. I have reviewed this with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate improvements.

Should your travels lead you back to the Limestone City, please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600 and I will personally arrange your accommodation.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place reminds me of dives I stayed in back in my twenties when I couldn't afford anything but the cheapest possible accommodation.

When I opened the door to my room I couldn't believe what a dump the place was — think carpeting you don't want to put your barefeet on, a dingy nicotice colour scheme, a bathroom the size you would find on an airplane, a shower that doesn't work, and no drapes that close out the light from the adjacent parking lot.

I feel completely underwhelmed and sick to my stomach that I'm going to have to stay here for two days while I help my daughter move into residence at the university. Way back when I booked this dump, it was only after exhaustive research on TripAdvisor. Well TA has done me wrong as I was led to believe that this was supposed to be one of the finer places to stay in Kingston. Unfortunately, everything is going to be booked up over the labour day weekend while parents cram into this town to help their kids move to university so I will be stuck in this hellhole.

I am never going to stay here again. It is simply awful. I can't overstate this point.

What a dump.

Ugh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear axestone,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your expectations with regard to our level of cleanliness and we are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction this has caused you. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Kingston.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked this based on previous feedback and location. On the positive front the staff make you feel very welcome and the welcome drink plus appetisers was an unexpected treat. The restaurant was good and food well presented and very enjoyable.
On the negative side the rooms were small, tired looking and not particularly clean. Beds were good but the bathroom was very small and dingy. Both my wife and I felt that the rooms were in need if major refurbishment.
Parking was $14 a night and we preferred breakfast at Tim Hortons rather than paying a significant sum in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dntetlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Dntetlow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. These reviews are so important to us and help us improve our product and service to ensure that our guests are receiving the best stay possible. I am sorry that you felt your room was not up to par and this will be addressed with our Maintenance and Housekeeping department for future improvements. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $118 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing