We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to K-Rock Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed February 25, 2013

if you are attending an event at the K-Roc Centre, this is your place.
The room, while the bathroom is a bit outdated, was very comfortable. Modern TV. Pool and hot tub.
The buffet breakfast is hot, fullsome and quick. Other meals can be accessed elsewhere in town (as there are wonderful restaurants all around town).

Room Tip: If you are a Holiday Inn Privilege member, check in is a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear SusanMfromOttawa,

Greetings from a warm spring day in Kingston. Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It was great to hear you took advantage of our convenient location and enjoyed an event at the KROCK Centre.

We look forward to hosting your next stay Kingston!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 940 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Typical holiday Inn, clean, but nothing special. I could not recommend this hotel though, because $150.00 per night is on the high end for this place and then they charged me $14.00 for parking.
I have never had to pay to park at a hotel yet and I think this is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear rick h,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I was sorry to read that you were displeased with the cost of parking. Please be assured we remain very competitive with our rates and are currently the least expensive hotel parking lot in downtown Kingston.

Should your future travel plans include Kingston please contact me at 613.549.8400 ext 2600 and I will personally confirm your accommodation.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was stranded after my meeting at CFB Kingston due to the snow storm on the 8th of Feb, so I showed up at the closest hotel, without reservations, and hoped for the best. The Holiday Inn-Waterfront exceeded my expectations. The restaurant is right next to the lobby and served us good food at a good price. The wine list was impressive but I actually just went for the house wine, I think it was Peller estates, Cabernet, and I liked it.

Large rooms, 2 double beds, flat screen TV, mini fridge and full bath. The bathroom was quite small and the hot water was hard to adjust for with both the sink and the tub, but by no means deal breakers. The room had good heating from the air conditioning unit in the wall. The fan was pretty quiet. The three elevators are very fast. I was on the 3rd floor and it was just a second or so to get down to the lobby.

The bar staff and front desk staff were very accommodating and friendly. It cost $14 a day for parking but the government rates (you need to show an ID card) is good, so I didn't feel like I overpaid for what I got, quite the opposite. (I paid $100 / night.) I also got a free breakfast ticket. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Hot eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, french toast, toast, coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice - you name it, it was there...

The view from my room was the marina and once the snow stopped flying, it was lovely. With a small balcony off the room, it would be very nice in the summer. Overall, I recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

Room Tip: I was next to the elevators, but I didn't hear them. So I don't think there are any bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzecue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear suzecue,

Good morning and thank you for your very complimentary review. I was pleased to read to recommend our hotel and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The location of this hotel is terrific if you are looking to stay and play in downtown Kingston. The staff was efficient and took care of our requests promptly. The beds were comfortable and the room was a good size. The washroom was on the small side, but did the trick. The only real con was that sound travlled from the corridor into the room. There was a cheerleading competition in town, so lots of cheerleaders roaming the halls and some other large groups. They were loud when loitering in the hallways, but I did see Security walking the halls in the evening, which I assume was to keep people moving and was much appreciated.
It was obvious that the hotel has been undergoing a facelift and updating, and it's been done tastefully and with quality workmanship. I would definitely stay again (and hopefully get another great rate through priceline!).

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid being on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KryssyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear KryssyT,

Hello and greetings from another snowy day in Kingston. Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed our hotel and its fabulous location.

We look forward welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is one of the better hotels I have stayed at in Ontario. The rooms were clean and tidy. My only complaint was my bathroom need a little minor repairs, loose shower knobs and toilet seat but nothing to be concerned about.

There is a restaurant in the lobby and you can purchase a decent breakfast buffet with a good selection of hot and cold foods.

Best thing about this place is it is walking distance to historic sites, restaurants and night life.

I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jam1king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear jam1king,

Good afternoon and thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I am thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay - please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext.2600 for reservations should your future travel plans include the beautiful city of Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the end of December. The hotel has been updated and our room had a great view of the harbour, was clean, with a king size bed and a small fridge. The hotel is a five minute walk to downtown where you can find a number of really good restaurants and pubs. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Nice hotel to stay in when visiting Kingston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a King Size bed with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealDaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

-Dear TheRealDaver,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Should your future travel plans include Kingston, please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night (Thursday night) on a business trip to Kingston, Ontario. Hotel was ok, nothing fancy (considering the cost was almost the same as a really nice hotel in downtown Montreal) I thought it was really overpriced. The location was convenient for my business needs, so I booked it through our corporate travel agency. Once I arrived, I was checked in, and given the key cards to my room. I went to my room, and tried both of the key cards - none of which actually worked. A trip down to the reception, and I got new cards, which fortunately did work. After a quick dinner in the hotel restaurant, I turned in for the night as I had an early morning, and needed to be up at 6:30am. I called to the front desk and asked for a wake up call. The whole evening, yells and door banging could be heard up and down the corridor. I hoped it would settle down by 11pm, and that the hockey team that was staying at the hotel would stop the noise at a reasonable hour. By midnight, I had fallen asleep despite the loud noise in the corridors and the screaming and running up and down the halls. At about 2:30am, I was woken by the yelling, and was extremely irritated. I called down to the front desk, and asked them to get the hockey team members to stop their noise, and I was asked would I like to change rooms?!?! At 2:30am is not the time I would like to pack up all of my things and relocate because they could not keep these people quiet! The hockey team were not little kids either - they were in their late teens at least, and incredibly loud and inconsiderate. The staff did not seem to care too much, and did not think ahead to not put a business traveler in the midst of a loud group of youths! I will not be staying at this hotel again. My next business trip to Kingston, I will stay at a different hotel. So rude.

Room Tip: Yes, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaJojo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear MamaJojo123,

We are sorry to hear about the disturbances and noise issues you encountered while staying at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Please accept my apologies for inconveniencing you and note I have conducted a review for evicting patrons who do not wish to comply with our noise policies.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $110 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing