We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at discounted price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay at discounted price”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked this hotel using the Priceline no Name discount feature. Unfortunately upon arriving there was some malfunction on the gate leading to the parking lot which came crashing down on the front of my rental car slightly denting it. To their credit the Holiday Inn staff immediately took full responsibility apologized and advised they would pay any damages not covered by my rental contract to Avis. I reported the incident to Avis and was never charged anything. The hotel room was well appointed although the bathroom was a bit small but I understand this is an older hotel . Other than that we were very happy with our stay and at my request the parking charge was waived due to the incident. The location is nice. I used the fitness facility which was a bit sub standard but I understand they have or will renovate. All in all a good stay at a discounted price

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odessafile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Odessafile75,

Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront for your Kingston accommodation. I am pleased to announce the completion of all renovations which include our Fitness Centre, Indoor Pool, Hot tub and Sauna.

We do appreciate your comments and patronage; and look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    295
    188
    88
    45
See reviews for
242
291
24
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is good value for the money with great staff. The only problem this time was a party on the sixth floor, which sounded like it was being held in our room on the 3rd floor. When I went to complain the lobby was full of others. This is a logistical problem for the hotel. Why they have party rooms above rooms is beyond me. The party shut down at 1, and then, all was back to the hotel's usual peaceful self. It has a great pool area, and perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear MarafromToronto,

It was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are always striving to improve our hospitality and service and we appreciate your kinds word about our efforts and suggestions for improvement.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel is in a beautiful spot located along the waterfront in Kingston. Check in was easy, room was very clean. Internet was a little slow for doing some evening work. Had a impromptu business meeting in the restaurant and the staff were very accommodating and even brought us coffee. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. Hot and cold buffet breakfast was good. Parking was 14 dollars a day, but cheap compared to Toronto. I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: My room viewed water, but there are rooms that overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firerescue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear firerescue6,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I am pleased to announce we are completing an Internet upgrade to Fibre Optic which will greatly improve our Internet speed.

We look forward to your arrival on your next trip to Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a king room, on the 4th floor. The GSA who checked us in, was very helpful and pleasant. Several pub's and restaurants in the area, Home of the Frontinacs was across the parking lot, a Timmy's and LCBO within seconds. There's tons of things to do & check out in the area. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kingston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Corey S,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many wonderful activities downtown Kingston offers, which are mere steps from our front door.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingston in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Must compliment the property with keeping things as modern and clean as possible. The building itself is a older building and lacks sound proofing on or near the elevators. Suggest designating certain floors as QUIET floors. We have stayed at the hotel before and the room size was fine however this time around the room was small and clearly not suitable for a family of 4. Any rooms with 2 double beds should be sold for 2 people max. The rooms were clean but the bathroom needed TLC, (lighting, plumbing). We would certainly stay again but would stress staying completely away from the elevator area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjvhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear bjvhouston,

Thank you for commenting on your experiences at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I have noted your observations and will include these findings as we continue to upgrade our facility.

We look forward to your return to Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a King room. I thnk it was on the 5th floor. I was quiet and there were no issues with the room except the pillows. There were 4 of them, each about the size of a throw cushion on a couch, mayabe 16" square or so. They are useless for sitting in bed, and annoying flor sleeping. We asked, and they replaced them with conventional pillows, but I feel we should not have to go through that step. Conventional pillows should be located in the room, or else we should be asked at check-in if we want them.

However, we did not experience any of the issues about which other people have sometimes complained here.

There is a charge for parking, which is outdoors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear loo,

Thank you for supplying feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Your comments are extremely important to us and we are in the process of re-evaluating our pillows to ensure guest comfort and enjoyment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
493 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for three days and was served by helpful and cheerful staff. They didn't give me the side-eye when I asked them to not make up my room during my stay.

The buffet breakfast had good variety and you can be in and out very quickly.

The location can't be beat! It's right on the main drag in Kingston; Princess Street.

The room was average, the king size bed was really soft with four pillows. The bathroom is not disgusting. The walls are thin but it was actually quite quiet.

Internet speed isn't fantastic but bearable and there was a fridge in my room as well as an iron and board.

My balcony overlooked the lake - nice and I could actually open the door and go out there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RikThurnheer,

We appreciate your patronage and for taking the time to review our property. To better serve our valued guests, we have embarked on an Internet upgrade plan to install Fibre Optic Service. This should address any instances of slower Internet Speed.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
900 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.1 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#29 of 37 in Kingston
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing