We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
$182
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Motel 6 Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
$78
Motel 6
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Acres Inn(Kingston)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveler rating
251
325
214
104
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
325
214
104
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor pooloverlooking the waterfront desk staffbuffet breakfastkingston waterfrontcity hallbit datedwolfe islandlake viewrestaurants and shopsheart of downtownprincess streetking roomstayed one nightyogurtbalconydox
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 950 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My business travel rules sometimes put me in places I might not have chosen although usually for good rates. This time, I was offered a single choice in Kingston, ON, the Holiday Inn Waterfront. The location is nice - just a bit too far from the western campus of Queen's but not unacceptable - and it's on the water. In fact, if I ignored the back-of-hotel, parking lot, etc., there was a sliver of very nice looking water visible from the room.

However, the hotel has a mouldy, damp smell to it - typical of places near water with less-than-excellent care. The room itself was adequately furnished but it is clear that staff just push the dirt and hair around and they don't seem to care how good the results look. It was basically clean but I wouldn't want to walk barefoot on the carpet and the mildew in the corners in the tub was off-putting.

If you have to stay here, bring flipflops or slippers and you'll be fine but, considering it is among the most expensive properties in the area, I'd give it a pass.

Oh, and breakfast was as pricey as I find in much better hotels in much more expensive locations. Considering how beautiful Kingston is, just go for a walk and find one of many, many better choices for a lot less.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear StephenP ,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are sorry that breakfast and your room were not to your satisfaction, we appreciate your opinion and do take it very seriously. We will use your comments for investigation and future correction.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This Holiday Inn is located right in the heart of Kingston, on the waterfront and next to the main downtown park. If you are staying in Kingston for a downtown event or festival this is a convenient, central location and you'll be within easy walking distance of the main venues. The hotel is a bit older than its nearby neighbors, but, still very nice and a little bit more affordable than those newer neighbors. Parking was easy and we ha no traffic issues getting to the hotel from 401 freeway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davecm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear davecm329,

Thank you for sharing your Kingston experience! Your complimentary feedback is appreciated by the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for the many festivals and events found year-round in downtown Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Down to the special touch (thank you GM Scott Follwell), we had a very enjoyable stay! Check-in was seamless and the staff knowledgeable and friendly. This is a very busy spot due to the perfect location in downtown Kingston. Within walking distance of many attactions and a quick hop to many others. The view of course is awesome. If there was anything negative, it is the parking. During the busy check-in times, it would be helpful to have a staff member do a little traffic direction at the front door. I nearly got run over when a senior didn't feel comfortable maneuvering the tight U-turn, so decided to back up instead!

Room Tip: The pop and ice machines are right at the elevators (mid corridor), so might be best to avoid that area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLStewart154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear SLStewart154992,

It was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are always striving to improve our hospitality and service and we appreciate your kinds word about the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I have reviewed your suggestion with our Guest Services Manager and have decided to implement this parking lot assistance during busy arrival times.

We hope that you will return to explore more of Kingston and once again choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just stayed in Kingston for one night at this hotel. For the price, I expected a little more.
Even with an attempted facelift in recent years, it still feels like a worn out hotel. The bathroom in our room didn't feel 'clean' and needed a makeover.

Some of the positive aspects were the nice view from balcony, comfortable beds, central location and fair breakfast served in the hotel restaurant. All employees were personable and professional!

Overall......alright.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisacanadaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear lisacanadaToronto,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront and for your praise of our associates efforts, wonderful location and delightful beds. We are sorry to hear that our guest room washrooms decor was not to your taste and trust other aspects of your stay were to your liking.

Should your travels leads you to back to Kingston, please contact me at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600 for reservations.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Kingston is an amazing town and the Holiday Inn Waterfront is a wonderful place to stay while enjoying all of the sites. It is located on the water, in front of the Thousand Island Cruise Port. Each room has a balcony and it is a wonderful place to spend time on a summer morning, afternoon or evening. The rooms are nice, indoor and outdoor pool areas and great outdoor restaurant to enjoy a meal while the weather is warm. The staff at the hotel are great, very personable and always a smile and greeting.

Nice breakfast buffet, the servers at breakfast (Mary and Pat) were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed.

Christina Amy, Guest Services Manager is a great asset to the hotel, greeted us upon arrival and shared some great tips to enjoy the sites. We have stayed here before and Christina makes us feel like we are coming home!

This is definitely a great place to stay to enjoy a summer getaway. The only downside - after enjoying the balcony, we preferred to sit there and enjoy the afternoon instead of wandering through town.

Room Tip: Club corner rooms cost more but will give you a great view and the rooms are larger than the rest.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear BlueJai,

Thank you for staying with us for your latest visit to Kingston! We are delighted to let our team know that you found their service to be warm, friendly and very personable. High praise indeed, we appreciate your generous comments.

We look forward to your return, please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600 to confirm your next reservation.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews