We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, wonderful staff but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hi, I had a wonderful stay at this location. the staff was wonderful, hotel was very clean and view was amazing. I was upset that the pool was closed down for the whole stay and this was the long weekend. For the price of this hotel, I would have loved to use all the amenities. We did have a good time other them that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETRINA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 29, 2011

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well taken care of by our associates. While our outdoor pool was available, it was unfortunate our indoor pool was closed due to emergency repairs. Our Maintenance department were able to make repairs after your departure, however, we apologize we were unable to complete the necessary adjustments during your stay.

We hope that you will return to explore more of our beautiful city and once again choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I look forward hearing from you and can be reached at 613.549.8400.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 928 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

We got there late, and because of that, the room I was hoping for was at first, not available. But at check-in, the clerk found a wonderful room, moving us from 2nd floor parking lot view to 5th floor harbour view. They helped us find our way back to Morrison's (great diner, great food). There were two "greeter" staff members in the lobby to welcome us. Extra pillows came to our new room without us asking. We were using Kingston as a stop on the way from Toronto to Ottawa, and we always return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 29, 2011

We would like to thank you for leaving such a glowing recommendation of our hotel associates and our property. We are delighted that we were able to ease some of the travel stresses for you. We will look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I just read that someone else complained about the food at this hotel on TA and the manager wrote them back, saying that he would advise the chef (this place has a chef??) of the problem. Well, he clearly didnt talk to the AM chef because the breakfast here was APPALLING in both its cost and its quality (i.e. too much of the former and waaay too little of the latter) Avoid the skimpy, overpriced breakfast buffett at all costs, it is dreadful!
That being said, this hotel is fine for what it is. It is very well situated at the end of the main drag in Kingston, so you can walk just about anywhere to shop, eat (try "Harpers" and/or"Goat"-both excellent restaurants with good prices) etc. The parking costs are unfortunately overpriced (it cost us 14 or 15 bucks a day to be parked outside in a side lot--it added up fast ) The beds were okay (the pillows had a fancy "menu" designation on them of soft, hard etc but i found them all pretty uncomfortable) and good AC (trust me, when it is hot and humid in Kingston-which it was when we arrived-you appreciate the little things) I did find it weird that the workout room is pretty much right next to the pool so you are hit with the heat, chlorine, noise etc of that enviroment--truly unappealing and I stopped going there as it was both hot and unpleasant (especially as there are only fans to keep you cool) Bottom line, this place had some good aspects (i had no problem at all with the front desk crew and in fact found them quite nice considering that the hotel was sold out with what looked like a million Queens U freshman moving into dorms that weekend) but for the price, I would go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5,115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 29, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Breakfast is an area that we have been able to improve upon, please accept my assurances that we have made considerable strides to turn this into a positive dining experience.

We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with our parking fees. As all downtown Kingston hotels charge for parking, we remain very competitive with our pricing.

Thank you again for helping us improve, it was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are always striving to improve our hospitality and service and we appreciate your feedback.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was our shortest stay at a hotel yet - 30 minutes. It would have been shorter but the guy working the front desk was rather, well, useless.

Usually when I read these kinds of reviews, I disregard them as anomalies, or outliers if you will. People with a grudge, affiliations elsewhere or nothing better to do than write false reviews. But this really did happen to us!

We researched prices for several hotels the night before but drove down to Kingston hoping to pick the hotel on the spur of the moment. We picked the Holiday Inn Waterfront for its location and easy access. We asked for the CAA or government rate but at first we were offered $200. We countered that the prices were lower online, which he confirmed and said that online reservations are guaranteed. How much more guarantee do you need if we're standing in your lobby?

He tried to give us a price of $175 (give or take a couple of bucks). He eventually conceded that the CAA rate was $150 (again, give or take a couple of bucks). So after 5 minutes of pointless bartering we agreed.

We asked for a room with a king bed and a sofa bed for our 5 year old. Off we tootled to the room only to find that it had no sofa bad. Back to reception. Complain, explain, apologies, new card, new room. Off we tootle to the new room.

We dropped our bags off in the room and went in search of the pool. We exited the reception down a corridor and stumbled across a sign that said "Pool closed until Sep 3rd". Confused looks all round.

Back to reception. "I didn't know that" he claimed. "I had no idea". But it was closed yesterday and there's a sign right there - how can he not know?? A lady on reception explained the pool was being painted. Great. We announced we were switching hotels. "Is there anything we can do to make you stay?" Nope.

Back to the room to retrieve our bags; key no longer works. Already cancelled. Back to reception, apologies, new key. Back to room, retrieved bags, piled back into the car and ended up at..... The Radisson. See my other review.

In short, do not stay here; I'm sure our experience was not the norm so who knows what experience you'll get.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustATraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 29, 2011

Our Executive Team Leaders were distressed to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such candid feedback. By examining these comments we are able to review our actions, recognize areas in need of improvement and correct immediately. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again in the future.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Well again there had been mixed reviews both here and via friends...
We have many hotels to compare with and I think it is a functional hotel, nothing overly special, so it is not nice to complain over hall rugs or squeakie doors etc....Everything we experienced was good. I would not referr to it as a "dated" hotel, it is just "well used". Its in a perfect location for many many activities, and for tourist new to the city.
Being SO busy it is sure hard to keep a head of updates! I am sure it is just as good as most of the guests homes.
For those reasons tho' I think it is over priced, and thats a shame. If it can afford not to have repeat business I guess the high price for whats offered would not be an issue. I have payed a great deal more at other hotels, but certainly would have had parking included for the price.Not to mention breakfast. Again as I said it is location, and because of that I know we will be back(RMC MOM& DAD!!)

Room Tip: if not booking on line make sure you have the real hotel, not a call centre..they were charging me 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Great locaton, comfy rooms, friendly staff, can't ask for much more. Does what it says on the tin, our second time back and I'd return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 19, 2011

Dear DannyW,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and service - we always strive to ensure we exceed our guests expectations. We look forward welcoming you again to our fine city and hotel!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Had a great time, everything was perfect. Being on the water was incredible. The walkway along the water, parks and shops close by added to the great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 19, 2011

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $117 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing