We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is an excellent 401 hotel. Front desk staff were very helpful. The room was great. Loved the huge walk in shower rather than a shower in the tub. They actually had glass drinking glasses and real coffee mugs rather than cardboard. Very good gym open 24h.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millybess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    197
    39
    6
    7
See reviews for
215
116
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

One of the nicer Courtyards I have stayed but why shouldn't it be for its only four years old. However, the entrance floods each time it rains and if there is more than one car present you may need to wade through to or three inches of water. The check in could have gone better as the welcome staff was aloof and unfriendly and were not hired for their personality. This was reconfirmed when we subsequently ask for tea in the room instead of coffee and were told they did not furnish tea and we should go buy it at the Bistro. Not withstanding their attitude the rooms were well maintained and very nice. This is a good place for a kids for the hotel has a nice pool with water slide (See Photo). A large IMAX theater across the street. The hotel also has city trolley service to the waterfront on Friday - Sunday so you do not need to pay for city parking. A couple restaurants are located nearby and breakfast is served at the Bistro for $10 which is reasonable for Marriott prices. I would stay here again inspire of the surely staff. A small outlet mall is located next door.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
Green Features: Bathroom card explains towel reuse policy which contributes to the environment for less water and energy use
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
532 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

You know what to expect when you come to a courtyard. This place is exactly what you would expect.

Clean room and comfortable bed. except for the old tea bag in the coffee pot.

Located real close to 401 in a outlet mall. It is a few km from downtown.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dan459us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The room could have been cleaner, the pullout couch in my room had popcorn, chips and a marble underneath it, the rug was dingy looking. There was something wrong with the toilet and it didn't always flush. BUT.... There was a copy of the globe and mail outside the room daily. There was a bar fridge and micowave in addition to the standard coffee maker most hotels have. The staff was helpful and vert nice. There is also a great outlet mall just next to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us!

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of your stay.So sorry to hear we needed to improve on our cleanliness and the maintenance matter of the toilet. We certainly do not expect anything less than the best for our guests, and we certainly did not provide that for your stay.

We are happy to hear that overall we are in the positive, though we certainly could have improved on that. Please accept our apologies.

We hope you will revisit us on a future stay in Kingston and give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Yours in hospitality,

The Courtyard Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel, which is in the low-to-middle brackets for cost. Brand-new and sparkling clean. Excellent room design. Good friendly service; various refreshments available. A Starbucks cafe that seems to be open 18 hrs a day and serves a hot breakfast. Complimentary newspaper in the lounges and at the doorsteps of rooms. The water slide wasn't open-- a drawback for families. Two small complaints. First, the clerk frowned when looking up my reservation, perhaps, because I had booked online through an agency. When I was departing, a second clerk requested I call the hotel chain before booking anything through an agency, to "obtain the same price." She then said the hotel could "suggest a range of options," which sounded like the hotel would push for you to upgrade to meet the original room price. This was awkward and strange -- can't remember the last time a hotel groused about a booking at reduced rates. Secondly, the hotel is very hard to spot in the surrounding streets when you exit the highway. It needs either a large, illuminated sign on top, or very visible street signs, right at the exit ramps. Right now, all you see when you come into the actual street is the cheaper and older motel by the restaurant strip -- don't be tempted by that choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 401Cosmo401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a new offering in hotels in Kingston. As such it was clean and fresh and an overall great place to stay. Rooms were spacious. Fun shopping, dining and entertainment within walking distance. And just off the highway for easy traveller access.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jawmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice room, got a reasonable rate. Close to the 401, close to restaurants etc. Unlike most roadside hotels this place had no free breakfast. With cheap choices around we didn't go for the restaurant in the hotel. Overpriced we thought.

Also no bathtub in our room, just a shower. A trend we don't really care for.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Greetings from Kingston!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review here!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback.

We do not provide a complimentary breakfast, as we strive to provide a quality, freshly prepared and served experience with a wide variety of options. We also do have rates with options of included breakfast that are a great deal for parties of two and especially those with children.

Our hotel has a variety of rooms with either a tub or a shower only. That is certainly a question we neglected to pose upon your check-in. Please accept my apologies for that. If making a reservation, please do not hesitate to request a room with a tub. We would be most happy to oblige.

Thank you and have safe and happy travels!

Yours in hospitality,
Matthew Fry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Downtown Kingston
Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Kingston
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street

Property: Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street
Address: 103 Dalton Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard Kingston Highway 401/Division Street Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing