We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Last Friday night, on a trip from London, ON to Ottawa, we reserved a room at the Courtyard by Marriott located off the 401 at Division in Kingston. The clerks at check-in we're friendly and the process was quick. Theis is a newer hotel, and although budget was important, the quality of the rooms was amazing. The hotel room had a king size quality bed that was very comfortable, with multiple pillows. Also, the room was larger than expected, and although it was a room built for handicapped access, and we did not require that feature, everything was clean and modern, including a flat screen TV.
Outside the hotel was a Boston Pizza, and adjacent was an Outlet Mall. This hotel is close to other restaurants, both fast food and sit down, and quick acces to the 401.

Room Tip: There is an indoor pool with water slide for the kids and a Bistro in the lobby for breakfast and sn...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 571 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here only one night but in short, this is a great new hotel near the highway and about a $12 cab ride from downtown. We recd a great rate and even factoring in the cab ride, it was still a better deal than staying downtown. It can get noisy downtown during the summer seasons and on weekends so this worked perfectly for us. Relaxed and friendly staff. Hot breakfast in the morning (ours was free but depending upon the package, you may have to pay). However, the line-up was long as we slept in and had to wait 20 minutes. No big deal for us but some people were upset over the wait as they were eager to get on the road. Great shopping just outside the door with a series of outlets.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONYfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great hotel. Very stylish, clean, and the customer service was outstanding. No room service but a small snack bar is located in the lobby. No biggie as there are great family restaurants just out front of the hotel, and there are lots to choose from! Although not located in the downtown city core, there is a very convenient Outlet Mall just a 30 second walk through the parking lot! Great waterslide and pool for the family. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Hotel as a building is worth 5 stars but overall I rank it a 4 star due to the bad breakfast experience; the fact it is 5.5 kilometers away from the Kingston Lakefront, you actually pass the Welcome to Kingston sign on the way in; & the cost was $159 plus tax for a total of $180, high for a highway motel type stop. Hotel is 2 years old, 4 stories, beautifully done & located in a small outlet mall. Rooms are elegant with an expensive wood finish, safe, microwave, iron, blow dryer, flat screen TV. Reception staff caring and polite, large common area, touch screen info TV, free coffee. great pool, clean throughout, free parking. Breakfast had 20 person queue, each person ordering so very slow, impatient unfriendly staff, iced Starbucks coffee was hot coffee poured on ice so luke warm. Listed Canadian bacon (normally peameal) but was told it was actually "Turkey Canadian Bacon"!! Ordered fruit instead of home fries but got home fries. Thought fruit would be mixed fruit on the plate but had to choose either an apple, banana or orange. Shortage of jam, no marmalade and tables not cleared. Eggs, toast, bacon, home fries, coffee:Total cost $15 for one person and a long impersonal wait.

Room Tip: View is not very good but the front viewing rooms are best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a quick stay at the Courtyard in Kingston on a recent drive through Canada. The staff was super friendly and welcoming. This hotel had a sleek décor and the rooms were pleasant, clean and spacious. We did not have time to use the pool or fitness area. We did eat breakfast at the café and were pleased with the quality. The staff at the café was also very pleasant. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigrockelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Greetings from Kingston!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us while passing through. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

Hopefully you'll be able to spend more time in our lovely city on your next trip through the area. I know I can't wait for the next opportunity to visit your hometown of Chicago. Always a great time in your city!

Until the next time,

Safe & Happy Travels.

Matthew Fry, on behalf of The Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good place to stay. Had my 3 year old son with me. he didnt want to play in the pool. but I bigger kids had a good time in the pool.

I liked the gym very much- just enough stuff. not too much.

Located away from the waterfront. However we enjoyed shopping at the mall nearby. As all the eateries are in the vicinity, food was not a problem.

My wife liked the drinks and service at the bar.

All of us slept like babies. I guess this is a common review about this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nair_VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week from 29 June to 6 July as we were waiting to take possession of our new house in town.

ROOMS: The rooms were excellent: spacious, love the microwave and coffee machine. The only negative is the poor quality of the signal on the tv. I don't understand how a brand new building has managed to get his wiring for cable so bad that half the stations are snowy (felt like when I was a kid and had to adjust the rabbit ears)

AMBIENCE: The hotel seems to be a big draw for families involved in sports tournament. I am not sure if the hotel is sponsoring these events but I was not fun to be there on the weekends. The kids were noisy, disruptive on the common areas such as the restaurant and the pool. The hotel staff seemed disengaged and would have appreciate a more involved approach. Don't get my wrong, we had my 5 year old with us and we all know that sometimes kids will be loud however I felt it was too much.

RESTAURANT: Outstanding food and very friendly staff although on the pricey side

POOL: Love the pool during the week, impossible to go on weekends due to teenagers taking over the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DacoTheCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street

Address: 103 Dalton Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $132 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing