We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Matt at FD, Greg at Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Matt at FD, Greg at Bar”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Just had a great stay at this property. Room was great, good size studio.

Matt at the bar is amazing, one of the most friendly bartenders I have has the pleasure of talking too. Matt at the front desk as well. Great people at this property. Both had great local recommendations for things to do and did not steer me wrong on my one night stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ben a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi there Ben.

Matt and Greg will be absolutely thrilled to receive your positive words! I hope we'll find you back with us again in the future, perhaps for a 1 week stay instead of a 1 night stay! ;)

Kingston is full of summertime activities and we are happy to be right in the heart of it!

Thanks again Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    335
    92
    20
    9
See reviews for
404
305
20
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We love this place! The staff is friendly, rooms are awesome and within walking distance of some neat bars, however there is a small, but great bar right in the lobby...loved the bartender!
Breakfast is super good. Wish I could live there!

Room Tip: Get a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Good afternoon Malice.

Thank you for the lovely review! I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were a fan of the bar and the bar staff. They will be very happy to hear that.

Some of guests virtually do live with us here, and we'll be happy to welcome you back in the future! Thanks again for your great comments and I'm looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Our flights kept getting delayed throughout the day which resulted in a very late check in time. It was absolutely no problem with the hotel staff.

Hotel is clean, staff are very friendly and accommodating and the beds are super comfy.

We were there in May, which is the time of year when the May flies are everywhere, they look like tiny Mosquitos but they don't bite, they are just stuck on windows, doors, cars, walls etc. We love to sleep with the window open but couldn't because of the flies covering the glass....lol. The locals don't seem bothered by them one bit.

We had room 805 which gives a stunning view of the harbour and has opening windows. It has a king bed with a nice sitting area and a full kitchen.

The hotel also has parking underground for a very reasonable (compared to most other hotels) $16.00 per day.

All in all , we had an amazing stay here and this is definitely where I will stay again.

In the past I have always call the Sheraton Four Seasons my home when visiting Kingston, but it will now be replaced by this Marriott!

I can't say enough positive things about this place!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerlilyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hello Tigerlily!

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are certainly proud of our property and the service we offer. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the beds as well. Did you know that you can even purchase Marriott mattresses online?

Much obliged keeping the windows closed in the 'fly' season. They can be innocent little terrors! ;)

I'm looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again for the wonderful words!

-David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
815 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Residence inn Kingston is on the waterfront , You can see 1000 islands and USA. Hotel has beautiful view and is in central location, within walking distance to downtown.They had a lovely evening social hour that included soup, pasta, deli sandwiches, salad, potato salad, and cakes.Breakfast was equally as good.
Note: parking in Ontario has huge taxes. Hotel parking was $16 but with the added taxes it came to an additional $6,50.
Hint: 1 bedroom suite 1003 had a gorgeous wrap around view.

Room Tip: i bedroom suite 1003 had a wrap around waterview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello Sheila!

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Premium Waterview One Bedroom Suites! 1003 is certainly a great room to get a great view! I don't suppose you happened to count the windmills you can see from your room on Wolfe Island? Did you know that it's the largest of the 1000 islands?

Thank you for participating in our social evening. Every Tuesday and Thursday we feature a light dinner buffet at no extra charge between 5:30pm and 7pm open to all our guests. As well as finger foods on every 2nd Wednesday for the Manager's Toast. This is a great opportunity to meet and greet other travelers!

I would like to clarify the parking however. The tax in Ontario is 13% (HST). With our parking charge at $16, it comes to $18.08 after taxes (with in and out privileges).

Sheila, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! If you have any questions or comments, I invite you to contact me directly at gss.marriott2@gmail.com

Hope to see you in the summer!

-David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They responded promptly and efficiently. The pool was a big pleasure and everything was very clean and well maintained.


The area is nice. There was not much to do since the winter was bad and the water was too cold but we had a great time just walking around the hotel.

People in Kingston are soooo friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonesRDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello David,

I concur, we had a long winter this year! Thank you for your great review! I'm glad that you find people in Kingston to be friendly. Kingston is the kind of city that welcomes a conversation with the bus driver or a friendly stranger at a cafe. I've been to New Jersey once, and I honestly have to say the same thing! There was friendliness all around.

If you're here again for another winter, you may want to investigate some of the sledding hot spots. That's always a fun past time.

And please come back in the summer too! There are so many great activities, including boat rental around the corner from the hotel via Ahoy Rentals. We're also just a short walk from the Trolly Tours and the 1000 Island Cruises.

I'm looking forward to your return!

Cheers and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I recently stayed here in a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was well designed and provided us with everything we need. All the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great waterfront location, within walking distance of many downtown attractions. I would certainly return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank beachgoes_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review Beachgoes.

It's wonderful that you were able to stay in one of our two bedroom suites. They certainly are set up nicely for families! The proximity to downtown attractions is certainly an appealing feature for us. I have a feeling (judging by your username) that you are part of a family who enjoys a visit to the beach! I'm hoping you'll come back in the summer, that way, you can hitch a ride on the Wolf Island commuter ferry and pay a visit to Kingston's most popular beach!

Thank you for staying and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I am organizing an event to be held in Kingston in June 2014 and the international guests coming are staying at this hotel. Hotel management have bent over backwards to accommodate our group and meet all our needs as they come up. Excellent communication between myself and the hotel coordinator with immediate return phone calls or e-mails. It has been an absolute pleasure in dealing with the hotel. The facilities are excellent as is the food at the restaurant in the hotel. Staff are very friendly, very helpful and very professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Good afternoon Judy.

Wow! It's a wonderful treat to get a review before you've even arrived! I am very glad to read your message and see that we've been able to meet your group booking needs.

We are always happy to welcome a group.

I'm really looking forward to seeing the gang at our property. If there is anything else you need that we can help with, don't hesitate to continue contact!

Many thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
851 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Property: Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Address: 7 Earl St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing