We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! You will like.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place! You will like.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Clean. Nicely updated/decor. Great service. Very good hotel. You will not be disappointed. Tons to do within walking distance. One of the better hotels I have been in a while and I am in them pretty regular.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furpie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I ensure that all comments are shared and discussed at our daily associate ``huddles`` and will take great pleasure in reading your comments to my great team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    329
    89
    20
    9
See reviews for
398
300
18
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you are staying in Kingston. We booked one night on 4th September 2012, as a stop over between 2 night stays in Toronto and Montreal. As soon as we arrived the hotel offered us our parking options - hotel or a nearby parking lot. The hotel parking was the most reasonable we had encounted thus far on our East Canada trip at $15 (plus taxes) per night, so we opted to use this facility and left the car in the underground hotel car park.

When we arrived in the hotel we were greated warmly by the receptionist and checked in. When we made our way to our room we were taken aback by how lovely it was. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it had everything we needed and more. The king sized bed was really comfortable. The kitchen had a bigger fridge than we have at home (!), a microwave, oven, cupboards with crockery and a coffee maker. Bizarrely there was no kettle so I had to boil water on the hob for my cup of tea (you can take the british out of britain and all that!).

The service was really outstanding even down to the smallest of gestures. En route the lense out of my glasses had fallen out. This was a real hassle for me as I cannot see well without my glasses. On arrival at the hotel my husband asked the receptionist if they had a small screwdriver we could use to screw the lens back in. 10 minutes later the maintenance man arrived at the room with his tool kit! Despite the fact that it was a tiny screw he managed to fix it for me and was only too pleased to help. We also received a card inviting us to join the manager between 5 and 7pm that evening for a welcome drink. We took the manger up on this offer and we had a lovely time chatting to her, getting her advise about the best local restaurants and enjoying a complimentary drink in the bar.

The following morning we had breakfast in the hotel which was very nice, with a choice of cereals, toast, waffles etc.

We had happened to spend the one night in Kingston that the tail end of hurrican Isaac decided to arrive therefore it was extremely wet and windy that evening. However, even this could not take the shine off our stay. The following day was warm and sunny and the hotel's central location came into its own as we wandered by the harbour and into the town. The nearby White Mountain ice-cream parlour is a must for ice-cream lovers!!

Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Good morning Tracy and Mark.

Thank you so very much for posting this wonderous review, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do have a stock of kettles for use by our guests from across the pond who like a cup of tea, I am only sorry this was not made available. I am from GB also so know the disasters of trying to make a good cuppa without a kettle to boil. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Kingston one day.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

A newer hotel in Kingston. I've stayed here three or four times now and will be back. Great big rooms and giant beds. Nice features with kitchen and appliances if you are staying a while on business. Liked the giant showers. Good bar and restaurant. Tremendous lakeside location. A bit surprised that they take dogs. Had to wait while staff finished petting them.

Room Tip: Don't take 106 - its at the front by the entrance and you can't completely seal out the entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello from Kingston.

Thank you for posting your comments, we all really appreciate this. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott soon and please do request a higher floor. We do try our very best to accommodate all requests.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel was really good in so many respects, but there is one aspect of the rooms that was really disappointing and uncomfortable - the bathrooms. We didn't have any particularly high expectations of a bathroom, but when you go to a hotel you assume you can count on some basics. At this place there were multiple design flaws that were frankly quite irritating. First, bear in mind that the *SINK is outside of the bathroom*, which creates the illusion of a luxury vanity, but actually all it does is deprive you of privacy - if you want to say, floss, or put on make up, etc, you'll be doing that in the common space of the room. On top of this, the sink area has other shortcomings - it has bad lighting, and one of those really short taps at the edge of the sink so that your hands have to be almost pressed up against the basin when you wash them. Then there is the bathroom proper, which is also disappointing. Inexplicably, there is NO FAN in the shower, which means lots of steam building up when you shower (and is of course less than practical when you consider use of the toilet!). The shower itself looks nice and is spacious, but is not woman-friendly. The SHOWER head is abnormally high, I am 5"4 and had to be on my toes to reach it, and even then couldn't adjust it, so was stuck with the low spray setting. So if you have long hair, plan lots of extra time to rinse conditioner out of it.

That said, the room was very clean and the king size bed was comfortable, we liked the sitting area and the kitchenette - no complaints there. The location of the hotel is also fantastic, 5min walk to downtown but on the residential side, so quiet and yet on the waterfront. The internet connection was relatively good for hotel wi-fi. And the breakfast was excellent, very good options of bagels, muffins, toast, and hot serve items like eggs and hash browns.

In short, if it wasn't for the bathroom it would be a full 5-star, but ... not quite with those basic discomforts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThemisBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello and thank you for posting your comments. I am really dissapointed to see that we fell short of your expectations. Our bathroom design seems to delight most people and I am sorry that you found the some aspects of this area did not match with your requirements.

I am thrilled that you found the room nice and clean and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

A great hotel that doesn't feel like a hotel. We had a beautiful junior suite overlooking the water. Complimentary breakfast everyone morning was a great start to our day. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would most definitely stay here again when I return to Kingston. However, next time I will bring my little dog as this is a pet friendly hotel. Great waterfront trail in front of the hotel offers a great place for dog walking. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1961155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We took a king studio room which was big enough for our family of three.

Our son slept on the pull out couch which was not very comfortable (it wasn't comfortable as a couch either), fortunately for him he could sleep sideways. King bed was too soft for our liking and it kind of sagged in the middle.

As we entered the room, my wife had to take a pill and used one of glasses by the sink in the bathroom which she didn't inspect too closely and it had a hair in it. She then tried the other glass and it had a whitish substance at the bottom. She wasn't thrilled with that I can tell you. Just as this was happening the door bell rings and two of the hotel staff ask if everything is ok. We tell them what was going on and she then proceeds to "clean" the glasses at the bathroom sink (just with her hands, no soap). You know its not that she didn't try but we can't decide if it was more ominous that this was common practice for the hotel (there's a dish washer in the room) or that she thought this was an ok solution to the problem...anyway.

Overall the view was nice and the room big enough, but as with the residence inn we just stayed at in London, Ontario (furniture exactly the same), we found the furnishings and quality of decor somewhat lacking especially when you compare it to American Residence Inns that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: I would take the chance and not pay extra for the "view" rooms. Almost all of the rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weirsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia,canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in one bedroom. Kitchen is small but has everything needed..Clean, quiet,and comfortable 15 and 17 year old boys slept on pull out and said it was comfortable.The pool , hot tub and area were clean, we did swim each day.[pool towels not replenished often enough as they did run out]The gym was beside the pool separated by glass ,didn't use it but looked well equipped.. Paid parking was a bit of a pain ,we had two vehicles. so searched each night for street parking.Easy walking distance to many great restaurants and ferry trips.Breakfast was one of the best of the buffets we've enjoyed at hotels, with an outside area if you wish. Once alerted to the need for extra eating space staff opened another room across the hall.Didn't eat at restaurant but had a drink on the patio ,great spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Property: Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Address: 7 Earl St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing