We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical Motel 6”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingston
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not your typical Motel 6”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked this based upon the positive reviews from TripAdvisor. Not disappointed. The hotel looks new, but is several years old according to the manager (Aron). Contemporary styling. No carpet, which was unusual but nice. Carpet in a hotel room can be scary, so with the hard surface flooring you knew exactly what you were standing on, which was a nice change. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast area was limited to coffee or tea, however they did have some complimentary granola bars at the front desk which was nice. Upon checkout Aron was very helpful in helping us map out an unplanned trip to Ottawa on our way to Montreal. The price of the room was a bit on the high side considering the very limited breakfast and that is the only reason for this not being an "Excellent" stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenegadeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Renegade Traveler,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our Motel 6 Kingston location. It is always great to hear the staff is going above and beyond to make our guests stay more enjoyable.

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    165
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
130
104
44
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Let's get something straight. This is a Motel 6. The first one at which I've ever stayed. I've gotten tired of the high-priced hotels/motels and the "upgrading" of the Comfort Inns and Days Inns of the country where they're now at least $100/night. Well my wife and I tried this place on a lark and spent two nights here to visit Kingston for a full day on our road trip from Chicago to Quebec City. This is now our "go to" place in Kingston for such future road trips through Canada. No frills. We bring our own coffee maker. We're just looking for a clean and comfortable place (check) with a nice bed (check), a quality shower (check), and air conditioning (check). Save a little money. Spend it at Kingston's awesome restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear JohnLGale,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Motel 6 Kingston location. It is great to hear we are hitting the mark with our guests, and we look forward to your next visit! Thanks again for making Motel 6 your go to hotel in Kingston.

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Very clean motel. The sign in the lobby said an adult can stay for $74 so I'm wondering if the price ever changes. There are no reward programs here. No coffee in the room but they have it down in the lobby. Perfect for a quick visit and a place to sleep. Bedding was a bit thin but the thermostat was easily adjustable to a more comfortable temperature. No carpet in the rooms which make it feel kind of like a dorm but it is what it is! Loved the modern decor and there was no shortage of towels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear MVDK,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel 6 Kingston location. Our rates do fluctuate throughout the year but we are committed to ensuring our guests are offered the best value for their hard earned dollar! Thanks again for making Motel 6 your destination of choice in Kingston.

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed one night here with our toddler and 5 year old. Their deal says that "kids stay free", but be prepared to bring your own travel playpen - they have no crib or playpens to loan out! I've never stayed at a hotel that don't have these, and we had the worst night sleeping with a 16 month old - especially since the beds cannot be moved against the wall. Anyhow, other than that this is a very basic no frills hotel. Looked a bit like a dorm room. I was impressed that the room had a microwave and mini fridge in it - that is handy. It's clean and close to the highway. For us though, a travel playpen or crib is a must, so I won't stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Elena A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. At Motel 6 Kingston we always have a number of extra items available such as play pens, Irons and ironing boards. I’m sorry to hear that we were out when you stayed but rest assured extras have been brought in so this does not happen again. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to see you again when your travel plans permit.

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Travelling from A to B and just needed a place to sleep. Motel 6 was an excellent choice. It's close to the Hwy 401 and Gardiner Exit. Spartan -- Yes. But very clean and affordable. For the same price there are tons of older motels in this area but they have the 20 yr. old shag carpet and dusty rose bed covers. Not Motel 6. It's modern, laminate floors, great beds and bathroom. There are no frills but all I wanted was to shower and sleep. This will be my first choice next time I travel.

Room Tip: My room faced the Hwy 401 but I didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Wally Z,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It is fantastic to hear that Motel 6 Kingston will be your first choice when staying in Kingston and we will strive to ensure we this will always be the case. Thank you again for choosing Motel 6 Kingston!

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice motel with a fresh 'boutique-ish' style. Rooms have fridge & microwave. A practical and well-priced overnight stop on a road trip. Easy jacks access to connect tablet to TV (kids could watch their movies!). Right off highway too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAW_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear LAW_PT,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. For us it is very important to hear how we can make our guests stay a little better! I completely agree with you the easy connect ports are fantastic, and with so many people these days traveling with their own devices they are a definite must have in any hotel. Thank you again for choosing Motel 6 Kingston we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The reason we choose this hotel is because of location. We were on our way to Montreal and this is about the halfway point for us. It's right off the 401, has a gas station close by and is reasonably priced and super clean.
Check in staff was great, we arrived very late Friday night and were in our room in 5 minutes. Room was spotless, recently renovated and had everything we needed. We didn't hear the traffic from the highway.
When we left in the morning there were some granola bars and a selection of coffee and teas, which was nice. One suggestion, English breakfast tea!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear travelbugcheri,

Thank you so much for posting a review of our Motel 6 Kingston. For us it is very important to hear how we can make our guests stay a little better! We look forward to your return when the English Breakfast Tea is on us! Thank you again for choosing Motel 6 Kingston!

Clayton Kemp
General Manager
M6 Kingston
613-507-6666
manager@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingston

Property: Motel 6 Kingston
Address: 1542 Robinson Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off Highway 401, the Kingston Motel 6 is the first motel in Canada to be built with the "Modern Rooms" look! This inn features a coin laundry facility and free wireless internet. Micro-fridges are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Motel-6, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing