We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good nights sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingston
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Grosse Pointe, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good nights sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the many new motels the chain has recently built in Canada. Very simple, very modern and very clean. There are few frill, such as seven useless pillows per bed. Bathroom was modern, almost new and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and the service was good. One thing was new in my motel/hotel experience: they are switching to hard floors. It is a good idea because it gets rid of the "old carpet" smell, but may increase the noise level, yet we found the place very quiet. A great value in Canada for about $70 per night for tourists passing through.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PerryMunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PerryMunson,

Thank you for posting your review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the new décor.
Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    164
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
129
103
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first stay in Kingston form the weekend and we booked at the motel 6. As usual, I always do my research on TA and this time was no exception. Having never stayed at the Motel 6, we honestly didn't know what to expect, as we do not usually stay at such a "basic hotel".

We were very pleasently surprised we paid 79.99 per night for a weekend booking...incredible in my opinion. The room was IMMACULATE, and the decor was not the typical "hotel" decor but we loved it!!!! Very modern, no carpet (great idea) and great color schemes, comfy bed also.

Staff was friendly, and the room had a fridge and microwave...what a bonus! We had a flat screen tv, with more channels than i think we've ever gotten in a hotel.

The lobby had a seating area with tables and chairs, vending machines, and free coffee and brand name granola bars for breakfast. Very basic, yes, but great nevertheless. Best hotel coffee I've had.

We were a bit leary of the pets policy.......as we do not have pets, and were a bit worried about the room cleanliness, however we did not see any pets during our stay, nor was there any sign of uncleanliness either. Again, we were impressed! This hotel does accept pets.

One thing that did disappoint us however, was the fact that we ran out of toilet paper at about 2am, and called down to the front desk to ask for another roll. We were told by the front desk staff, that we would have to come down and get it...........We had never heard of having to come down and pick up items ourself, the front desk girl stated she was alone and could not leave the desk? ....really how busy is the front desk at 2am.

We informed her that we had absolutely NO toilet paper, tissue etc, we finally convinced her to deliver it to the room, as the room info stated ..if we do not resolve your issue within 30 min the night is free.

After 20 minutes of waiting we called back down, and the girl informed us that she had delivered it to another room....not quite sure I believe that storey. The next day we called down and spoke to the manager and he informed us that due to the low pricing and no frills type of hotel it is, the rates are cheaper, so the staff do not provide these types of services....we even had to carry our ironing board up to the room upon arrival.

We would suggest that the 30 minute policy be clarified a bit better to provide a better experience from a customer service perspective, however this did not ruin our stay.

In addition, had I been a single traveller | would not feel safe going down the elevator at 2am.

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurants in site. this hotel is in an industrial area, restaurants less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
CanadianGirl30,

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay at M6 Kingston!
I am sorry you were not familiar with M6 standards with regards to ammonites and delivery of those amenities to guest rooms but thank you for your understanding.
Thank you very much for posting your review!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

First off I must say put the full address in sat nav(gps)otherwise you will not end up at hotel with just postcode.For any others from the UK Motel 6 is very much like Premier inn,you get a clean very basic room with no breakfast as such,though we did get offered coffee & tea,and cereal bar.The hotel Its self is about 5 mins drive to a range of food outlets so not a problem,and from these its about 10 mins into the lovely town of Kingston.The room was very clean,i found the bed a little hard(but think its the norm' within Canada).Our room was the 401 side but i didnt find this a problem,the noise wasn't anything loud and unless you live in the countryside im sure we all get a a little noise at home,the windows are glazed enough to block out any high noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfy3msl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear smurfy3msl1,

I am elated to hear you enjoyed your stay at M6 Kingston! Unfortunately the building is still too new for most GPS units. If you ever come back to visit the address to use for GPS is 1586 Centennial Dr., Kingston, Ont. which will get you to the gas station/restaurant right beside us.
Thank you very much for posting your review!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed twice in the past year at Motel 6 in Kingston for one night only. This motel was clean and comfortable although the decor of the rooms is quite sparse. I did appreciate the fact that there was a full size bathtub which allowed me to really relax as well as easy Internet access. I didn't have any safety concerns as the parking lot and the hallways inside the hotel were well lit. The staff were friendly and check in and check out were quick. Also, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Magnolia1385,

Thank you very much for posting your review!
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt safe and comfortable.
We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Kingston.

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights this thanksgiving. An excellent place to stay. There was one problem with the TV that was fixed promptly. This was our fifth or sixth stay at this hotel and we will stay then again.

Room Tip: Stay on the street side, not the 401 side. It's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Jeff M,

It was great to see you again, hope the Turkey tasted great!
Thank you very much for posting your review!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have stayed here twice, and if you just need a cheap place to sleep you can't beat it. There are no bells and whistles, just a clean, safe room.

Staff are great, both times I stayed here were last minute (once in a snowstorm) and they were able to accommodate me no problem, with great rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy_Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Richy_Bobby,

Thank you very much for posting your experience with us on Tripadvisor!
We will be here for you the next time a stay over is needed in Kingston.

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was quite impressed with the renovations done to Motel 6. There was hardwood and with no carpets in our room. This gave the room a very clean feeling to the room. I prefer this type of flooring. Modern styling to the renovations was a welcome relief. Extra lighting in bathroom was a nice touch. Large screen t.v. built into the wall gave the room the feel of openess. I like the idea of being able to open the window in the room. The staff held the door open for us as we were leaving. I will return to this hotel when I travel again.

Room Tip: I would book this hotel again. Great price. The last hotel I stayed at in Kingston, I opened the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Louise G,

I am excited to hear you enjoyed the new M6 Phoenix design!
Thank you very much for posting your experience with us on Tripadvisor!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M^ Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingston

Property: Motel 6 Kingston
Address: 1542 Robinson Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off Highway 401, the Kingston Motel 6 is the first motel in Canada to be built with the "Modern Rooms" look! This inn features a coin laundry facility and free wireless internet. Micro-fridges are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing