We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, right off 401 freeway”
Review of Motel 6 Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingston
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Good location, right off 401 freeway. It was clean, has free wifi and serves coffee, breakfast bars and some fruit in the morning.
It is confusing to find once you get off the freeway. I suggest you get directions before you leave home by call the 800 number for reservations and directions or use google maps.
With AAA discount, 13% tax this hotel cost $93 usd per night.
This hotel is a distance from downtown and Ft Henry but not too far from Denny's for an inexpensive breakfast.

Room Tip: Get directions to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldTravler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2011

Dear WorldTravler1946,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Canada.

Safe travels,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
M6 Kingston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

My kids and I were on a mini road trip and decided to stay In Kingston for the night. I had checked out a few places but finally settled for here and we were not disappointed. The room was 2 queen non-smoking and clean, modern and bright ! The bathroom was clean and good sized with a modern sink. After 3 hotels in 4 days, this one was a "hell ya" recommendation from my teenager.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hothockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Hothockeymom,
I'm glad you and your family chose Motel 6 Kingston for your vacation. We are pleased that you like the new Phoenix design. Thank you for taking the time out of your mini road trip to review our property! We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
M6 Kingston
----------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had chosen to stay one night at this Motel 6 after reading reviews of other accommodations in Kingstons that had (ugh) bedbugs. This Motel 6 was designed with no carpets in guest rooms to minimize the apparently widespread problem in this area.

We were quite pleased with this Motel 6. Our room (a corner room) was spacious and clean and decorated in a minimalist, quirky way: a "modern art" look.

The linens were high quality and the towels soft and fluffy. The room included a sofa, desk, flat screen tv, and reading lights over the bed.

While any Motel 6 is a budget hotel by design, this one was certainly not a typical cramped and dingy budget stop. I recommend this location for travelers in Kingston.

Do note that the motel is not accessible via the highway service road. Follow directions carefully or you will need to go to the next exit and try again!

Room Tip: We were in room 301 - a good choice if you can request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-and-B-Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear B-and-B-Explorers,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the clean modern look of the new M6 Phoenix design.
Thank you for taking time to review M6 Kingston. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
M6 Kingston
lorne@motel6kingston.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here while waiting for our house, the staff were great, the motel is very clean and the rates are great, we would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgbuzzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Igbuzzi1,

Thank you for your kind words. Your family will be missed!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
Motel6 Kingston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This Motel 6 is about 18 months old, still looks fresh and has everything you need for a stay outside a city limit. Roomy, flat screens with hdmi-connectors, rage of vending machines and a in room fridge, all for a low price. Only downside was the noisy airco we had, but the rooms are really quiet. Oh, and they must have the slowest elevator I ever was in. Staff is good and efficient, but it's a new and clean place.

Room Tip: Pick one of the lower floors. The elevator is sloooooooow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Toekook,

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel. I always appreciate hearing guest feedback and their experiences at the hotel.

Pleasant travels,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
Motel 6 Kingston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The water pressure in the sink is too low to conserve their water and takes extra time to wash your hands. Lots of amenities such as shampoo, a dryer, and
Even a tissue box are upon request. Far away from the centre of the city... Had to travel to get food. The price is not shown on the sign outside but you find it at the front desk(over $100) and even worse, they make you pay at check-in. The only extra thing offered was a cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveLoveFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear LoveLoveFruit;


I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us here at Motel 6 Kingston.
It is Motel 6 standard to have amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, facial tissue, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards available for no charge at the front desk. By having all these amenities at the front desk we are able to charge lower rates and save on waste. Our design is made for a clean, comfortable place to stay and be on your way.
The weekend you stayed with us was unfortunately very busy in Kingston and our price was very competitive.
It is Motel 6 policy to also take payment upon check-in so there is no need to check out in the morning, you can just leave at your leisure.

I hope the next time you travel through Kingston you will be able to give us another opportunity to prove you can get a great nights rest at Motel 6 Kingston.

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
Motel 6 Kingston
lorne@motel6kingston.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was the first time we had decided to stop & sleep at a hotel on our way to Mississauga and having stayed at this motel 6 we would definitely do it again!
At first it was a bit tricky to find the motel, I guess since it is still considered "new", it couldn't be located on our Tom Tom GPS but only on the exit sign from HWY401 so watch out for that!
Despite the fact that the hotel is already about 2 years old, it is being well maintained, very clean and still had that "newness" about it.
We stayed in a room up on the 4th floor which was great...less traffic on our floor and a wider view of the surroundings!
Since my boyfriend had suffered an unexpected minor back injury just before leaving for our trip, we especially appreciated the spaciousness of the room and the roll-in shower which were both convenient and helpful for his mobility. We also valued the use of the mini-bar fridge that was in the room to keep the perishable (food) items that we had brought in a cooler for the duration of our trip.
The bed was a bit lumpy but very clean! The room had blackout curtains which helped with being able to sleep. No carpets on the floors was a BIG bonus...no stingy smell!
Within about a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel in an area called Riocan, there are several restaurants and shopping to choose from.
Our only disappointment...we were surprised since the hotel was so recently built that the construction of the walls dividing the rooms were so thin :( We were able to hear just about everything going on in the connecting room(s) and were even awoken by that guest's snoring! The front desk reassured us that they were willing to address the issue with the snoring guest but we said it wasn't the fault of that guest...just the fact the walls are incredibly thin!
Since reconstructing the walls probably isn't an option...perhaps the motel might consider putting up a few paintings/pictures to help with the sound barrier?! and to take into consideration when building any other Motel 6.
Overall though, very clean, friendly, helpful (24 hour too!) service and great value for the money! We would certainly stay at Motel 6 in Kingston again!

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on a higher floor...less traffic on those floors and a wider/better view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdabeatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear rdabeatrix,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for your kind words about the Hotel.
I hope your boyfriend’s back is on the road to recovery and feeling better.
As for the GPS it has been a fight since we opened. The address I give to customers looking for the hotel on GPS is 1586 Centennial Dr. The gas station on the corner seems to have been there long enough to find in most GPS systems.

Thanks again,

Hope to see you soon!

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
Motel 6 Kingston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Super 8 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
219 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
136 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#21 of 37 in Kingston
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingston

Address: 1542 Robinson Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $77 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off Highway 401, the Kingston Motel 6 is the first motel in Canada to be built with the "Modern Rooms" look! This inn features a coin laundry facility and free wireless internet. Micro-fridges are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing