We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service is too cheap”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingston
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The service is too cheap”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The water pressure in the sink is too low to conserve their water and takes extra time to wash your hands. Lots of amenities such as shampoo, a dryer, and
Even a tissue box are upon request. Far away from the centre of the city... Had to travel to get food. The price is not shown on the sign outside but you find it at the front desk(over $100) and even worse, they make you pay at check-in. The only extra thing offered was a cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLoveFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear LoveLoveFruit;


I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us here at Motel 6 Kingston.
It is Motel 6 standard to have amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, facial tissue, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards available for no charge at the front desk. By having all these amenities at the front desk we are able to charge lower rates and save on waste. Our design is made for a clean, comfortable place to stay and be on your way.
The weekend you stayed with us was unfortunately very busy in Kingston and our price was very competitive.
It is Motel 6 policy to also take payment upon check-in so there is no need to check out in the morning, you can just leave at your leisure.

I hope the next time you travel through Kingston you will be able to give us another opportunity to prove you can get a great nights rest at Motel 6 Kingston.

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
Motel 6 Kingston
lorne@motel6kingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    165
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
130
104
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was the first time we had decided to stop & sleep at a hotel on our way to Mississauga and having stayed at this motel 6 we would definitely do it again!
At first it was a bit tricky to find the motel, I guess since it is still considered "new", it couldn't be located on our Tom Tom GPS but only on the exit sign from HWY401 so watch out for that!
Despite the fact that the hotel is already about 2 years old, it is being well maintained, very clean and still had that "newness" about it.
We stayed in a room up on the 4th floor which was great...less traffic on our floor and a wider view of the surroundings!
Since my boyfriend had suffered an unexpected minor back injury just before leaving for our trip, we especially appreciated the spaciousness of the room and the roll-in shower which were both convenient and helpful for his mobility. We also valued the use of the mini-bar fridge that was in the room to keep the perishable (food) items that we had brought in a cooler for the duration of our trip.
The bed was a bit lumpy but very clean! The room had blackout curtains which helped with being able to sleep. No carpets on the floors was a BIG bonus...no stingy smell!
Within about a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel in an area called Riocan, there are several restaurants and shopping to choose from.
Our only disappointment...we were surprised since the hotel was so recently built that the construction of the walls dividing the rooms were so thin :( We were able to hear just about everything going on in the connecting room(s) and were even awoken by that guest's snoring! The front desk reassured us that they were willing to address the issue with the snoring guest but we said it wasn't the fault of that guest...just the fact the walls are incredibly thin!
Since reconstructing the walls probably isn't an option...perhaps the motel might consider putting up a few paintings/pictures to help with the sound barrier?! and to take into consideration when building any other Motel 6.
Overall though, very clean, friendly, helpful (24 hour too!) service and great value for the money! We would certainly stay at Motel 6 in Kingston again!

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on a higher floor...less traffic on those floors and a wider/better view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdabeatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear rdabeatrix,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for your kind words about the Hotel.
I hope your boyfriend’s back is on the road to recovery and feeling better.
As for the GPS it has been a fight since we opened. The address I give to customers looking for the hotel on GPS is 1586 Centennial Dr. The gas station on the corner seems to have been there long enough to find in most GPS systems.

Thanks again,

Hope to see you soon!

Lorne Hansen
General Manager
Motel 6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
450 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

New hotel in Kingston that accepts dogs. Of course there is the good and bad with being a hotel that accepts pets. We checked into the hotel with our dog. The front desk made us sign all this paperwork explaining and making us take responsibilities for our dogs behaviour. Knowing that we are not going to be leaving our dog in the room alone we had no issue signing the paperwork. The room is clean and has the basic needs including a small fridge and microwave.
Unfortunately someone else did not care what their pets did as they decided to go out at 11:30 at night and left their dog in the room, whom continued to bark for hours on end. When I complained to the front desk, she explained that there was not much she could do at the time as the guest were out, but that we would be given a reduced rate on our room. (the monies was not that much of a concern to us but it was a nice offer). On return the next morning when we took our dog for a walk, the front desk clerk informed us that due to the other dog barking that our nights stay was going to be complimentary on the hotel.

Did not expect that, but they do have a guarantee that if you are not happy your stay is on them. They do hold their promises.

Room Tip: Check out their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Hello Mindful_Travels,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your kind response.
The pets are not supposed to be left in the room alone. We do try our best to enforce the pet policy but unfortunately some guest does not always follow it fully.

Hope to see you again soon!

Lorne Hansen
Motel 6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Ok this is brand new and is very clean and here is the but....The construction in this Motel is appalling there is no noise suppression at all. Granted the place was full of hockey families and kids were out of control front desk said there was nothing he could do until lights out time....Well that may be mid day for me just drove 3 hours and wanted a nap before heading out for the night. The decor in the rooms is sparse at best two little wooden chairs with a piece of wood attached to wall for a table it was like staying in the hospital. For the price $110 I could of had a lot nicer hotel as I have stayed in Kingston many times but thought I would try Motel 6 because of the location to the function we were attending well never again will I book into a motel 6 unless $60 a night tops

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Let me start by saying that I've been using TripAdvisor for years and I'm only creating a profile now specifically to leave a review about this hotel.

The hotel was super clean which is a huge deal for me. Our room was spotless and I loved the modern decor. It was a very smart move to do the wooden floors instead of having a dingy carpet, this really added to the clean feeling. The location was great for our purpose, nice and close to the highway and not to far from our points of interest.
The staff, especially a young gentleman named Clayton, were very pleasant and helpful. I was skeptical about staying here when I booked online, but my expectations were exceeded upon arrival. We were able to check in early as our room was ready and the transaction was handled professionally and smoothly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugoitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Please, if you have dignity for yourself, pay $20 more and go to a different place. This place was very noisy. Could hear everyone talking in the hallway. Hotels was not full and asked for a good room. The staff next morning advised that the manager gave me the worst room in the hotel. Got the room for free but this does not cover the lost of sleep that night. Can't adjust the volume on TV. Desk is right by the TV (underneath). Mattress is very cheap and so are the bedsheets. Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanuk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Excellent service. Clean room. European flavor, with no carpets in room (good for allergic people).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
96 reviews
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
851 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
176 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingston

Property: Motel 6 Kingston
Address: 1542 Robinson Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off Highway 401, the Kingston Motel 6 is the first motel in Canada to be built with the "Modern Rooms" look! This inn features a coin laundry facility and free wireless internet. Micro-fridges are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Motel-6, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing